We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Del Mar to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #60 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was very accommodating to us by letting us check in early after a very long train ride from New Orleans! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is super friendly! From the front desk to the valet parking and the bell staff! A great experience and we will return here when we are in the area! The room was very large and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable which made for a very restful night. Great location, convenient to freeways.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the elevator and vending machines which made it very quiet. Higher floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Lonerider123

That is a very long train ride from New Orleans. I have traveled by train across the Mid-West and Deep South. (The City of New Orleans from Chicago) Trains are great but they can wear you out. Thanks for staying with us. I read these out loud to the staff and we really appreciate the recognition. We hope you stay with us again on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    126
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
57
62
22
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Everything worked, the staff was friendly and kind—the weather happened to be cold and wet (I swear) so they had a nice outdoor pool nothing inside. The food was outstanding—and a huge bargain. The reason for a 4 not 5: It's in the middle of an industrial Park so nothing much to walk to and you have to drive to the beach, the town, and everything else.

Room Tip: The rooms are large but the view from the 20 something floor wasn't much to look out at.
See more room tips
Green Features: No green rewards as the Starwood Properties do——this was probably about average.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Bonnie,

Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate the feedback. It can be surprising that it can be so nice during the day but it can get a little cold at night here in Southern California. Chef Wills is always happy see comments about his food. Boy, can he cook! Thanks again, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

While the hotel was lovely and appeared well-kept, everything is too expensive. No breakfast is included and the restaurant prices are steep ($12 for a lame bare minimum breakfast). Nothing is included - not internet ($12 a day), not a cup of coffee in the lobby, not a package of oatmeal ($3.50 for an instant package). The room was quiet, the outdoor space was nice in the evening and the staff was very courteous, but that's all I can say in favor of staying there. We'll choose somewhere else next time we go.

Room Tip: Ask for something up higher with a view. Ours faced the building across the small parking lot.
See more room tips
Green Features: The flier in the room said there was a recycling container in the room but there wasn't. We don't mind reusing our towels, but once the maid refolded them, we had no idea whose was whose.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Lisa P.

We take forms of feedback as constructive and useful. We use the voice of our guest to help with the direction we take in offering our services. Thank you for the kind comments about how we keep our hotel. The housekeepers and the engineers take great pride in what they do. We will examine our breakfast offerings and all offerings throughout the hotel. Thank you again for your survey. We hope to see you again soon. Keep an eye out for several of our great weekend packages that bundle everything into your room rate. There are some great deals.

Again, we appreciate your feedback, and we take it to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Enjoyed the restaraunt. Breakfast was great! Room was comfy and internet was a useful amenity. Good little gym and pool. Service was great. The lobby and restaurant furniture was modern and attractive. Wanted some for my home

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location near the beach. Nice hotel with a great patio/bar/pool area. They are doing some upgrades as some areas are a little tired looking but overall it is a great hotel in a great location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rooms were very nice and large. The exercise room had a lot of weight and aerobic machines. It was so nice and clean with cold water provided. Even the service worker at the exercise room passed out bottled water. It had free weights there also. The grounds are beautifully maintained and secluded from the rest of San Diego. The planes from the naval base can be loud when lounging outside. Shops are located on the premises. Beautiful pool areas with comfortable chairs. There is a nice outdoor bar. The food in the restaurant is just ok, expensive for what you get. It is close to the nice areas in town, walking distance. There is an excellent restaurant next door. We will stay here again and any time we come to San Diego.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the water and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My thanks to Jenessa and the event team at the Del Mar Marriott. Our company hosts two events a year and we have been hosting for 7 years. The team does an amazing job! Food, service, delivery and overall hospitality is second to none. We host senior executives from our customer companies at these events so it is very important for things to run smoothly so we can focus on our customers. Jenessa and her team have never let us down. They are just great to work with and make my life so easy with all the planning! We will always host our events with them! Great job guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel is an ideal choice, whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, golf at Torrey Pines and horse racing at the Del Mar Racetrack also excite our guests. The San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides guests with an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.