We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Marriott off the Assembly Line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Del Mar to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Another Marriott off the Assembly Line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Let me start this off with a confession: I don't much care for large hotel chains. I will admit that Marriott properties tend to be clean, well-maintained and comfortable, so I'll give them points in that department. On the other hand, there's a cookie cutter homogeneity to their properties which is a bit like ordering salsa without the chile. Marriott treads the safe path, which often translates into bland.

For folks needing convenient access to UCSD, Del Mar Racetrack, La Jolla and Torrey Pines, the location is dandy. San Diego Zoo's Safari Park is about a half hour to the north, whereas Sea World is about 20 minutes to the South. So, if you don't mind driving a bit and you want to stay out of San Diego proper, this location might be quite convenient for you.

The hotel is well-appointed and comfortable; personnel all extremely pleasant and welcoming. If I had any complaints at all, it would be that the climate system seems a bit wonky. The hallway to our room was so chilly, I half expected to pass a colony of penguins. Public rooms, on the other hand, were completely comfortable. Within our room, we had issues finding a comfortable temperature. Even after phoning the desk for assistance using the thermostat, we found ourselves alternately kicking off then replacing blankets throughout the night, throwing a monkey wrench into what might otherwise have been a very pleasant stay. Beds were cushy and welcoming, however, I really wish that Marriott would opt for king-sized pillows in lieu of the grouping of standard-sized pillows on a king-sized bed. Feeling a bit like Goldilocks, it seemed to me that one pillow was too hard, one too soft, and the other just right, leaving my husband to settle for one of the leftovers. (Nice of him to give me first choice!) Lighting was on the low side, rendering the room not particularly conducive to recreational reading during the evening. At least two of the table lamps contained convenient electrical plugs in their bases, perfect for recharging electronics.

While I'm not in a hurry to return to this Marriott, it's more a matter of personal style than anything else. Keep your eye out for special deals on this property and you may find yourself with four-star digs at a three-star price. And if you like your hot sauce on the mild side, the Marriott Del Mar may be just your thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are always looking for feedback on what we are doing right, and what areas of opportunity might be. I am happy to hear that you found our property clean and comfortable. Since your review our engineering department has addressed the issue that you had in regards to the temperature control in the hallways as well as the rooms. Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to having you visit our hotel again soon!
Thank you so much!
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    127
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
59
63
22
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel and close to the beach and great shopping. Rooms are clean and spacious, beds are comfortable and it was a good value. The restaurant also has great sushi. It's conveniently located near the freeway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard to ensure that every detail is perfect so our guests can enjoy every aspect of our hotel. I am so happy that you were also able to enjoy our delicious sushi at Arrterra restaurant, I also love the sushi that we offer. I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and let others know about our wonderful hotel. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Del Mar for a soccer tournament and had a great stay. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Rooms were well appointed and had good features. Restaurant and bar area were great and bar staff very friendly. Pool was beautiful we lounger sofa/chairs and gas fire walls.
Parking is a bit of a pain as you need to park in the parking garage but once you have your room key there was no charge (at least not for us, it may have been included in the rate).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during the soccer tournament. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We hope to have you and your family stay with us at the San Diego Del Mar Marriott very again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here for work, but it's a slight ride to get to any fun locations. Nothing unbearable though. There's a convenient mall up the street though with the best movie theater ever.

Typical Marriott experience with a very good restaurant. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Arterra restaurant; Chef Jonathan Wills has worked hard to create a beautiful menu that we are all so proud of at the San Diego Del Mar Marriott. We hope that you will stay with us soon, and perhaps will have the opportunity to see more of the wonderful local attractions that Del Mar has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My company needed to arrange a last minute mixer for clients in San Diego, and because I had worked with the hotel previously for a similar event with another organization, I contacted Janessa Peterson and her special events team. In just one day, she was able to help me with menus and picking the perfect location (they have a beautiful outdoor terrace just off Arterra, the main restaraunt) for our event 5 days later. That night, the site, the beverage station and the food were set up perfectly - with tables and firepits - in an intimate corner of the terrace, and our server Danielle was outstanding. Our clients can't stop raving about the food and the feeling they had that we went "over the top" for them. I HIGHLY recommend the Del Mar Marriott and the special events team at Arterra for any corporate or personal events you might need to arrange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
What a wonderful review! I appreciate you for taking the time to write Trip Advisor regarding our event staff. I am very proud of the exceptional staff we have at the San Diego Del Mar Marriott, and am happy to hear that Janessa and Danielle provided you and your clients the experience that you have come to expect while staying at Marriott. We take such pride in the events we host at our property, and Arterra is a perfect place to host any event! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we absolutely look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We hosted a company event at the Marriott's Arterra Outdoor Lounge. Our guests were greeted at Arterra's poolside patio for our evening kick-off event and everyone was so impressed. Arterra is gorgeous and stylish, welcomig and hip. Great restaurant with a cool bar and a great outside space by the pool. We worked with Janessa to set up the details of the event and she made all of our requests a reality, provided great options and made sure everything was perfect. Our servers Ben and Danielle were so kind, prompt and willing to make our event run seamlessly. Food was delicious; we had a carving station, flatbread, sliders and had almost nothing left over at the end. Staff went above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome. Everything down to the beer selection, providing a hard to find brand to a guest looking for a taste of local San Diego craft beer, and bringing out the coffee station just in time as the costal breeze kicked in, thank you for anticipating! Thank you for making our company event a hit, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that your event at Arterra was such a success. Jenessa and her team take such pride in each and every event that they coordinate. I am so pleased to hear that you and your clients enjoyed every aspect of your event. We certainly appreciate your business and hope that you will be staying with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had six rooms-- Everything about this Hotel was Great-- Erin at the Front Desk went out of her way to get us checked in easily-- We were in one of the Cabanas by the Pool which was Great --the Cabana had a TV, couches,tables and there was no extra charge for it-- at nite time they showed a movie by the pool and set up a table with all the supplies to make s'mores over the fire pit, and the nicest guy that worked for Marriott helped us and all the little kids make the s'mores!!The rooms were Great-- we are platinum so we got to enjoy the appetizers on the concierge level and we also enjoyed the Great food at their Restaurant --rooms were so clean and Beautiful--All the Marriott people were So nice-- Del Mar Fairgrounds close by--Great time was had by all!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms we had were Great-- No problems!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHW1, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer! At the San Diego Del Mar Marriott, we truly want our guests to feel as though they are at home, and you were able to experience that with our S’mores and movie night by the pool! I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel is an ideal choice, whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, golf at Torrey Pines and horse racing at the Del Mar Racetrack also excite our guests. The San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides guests with an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.