We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott - which overall is a good thing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save from $116
Ranked #42 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott - which overall is a good thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Typical Marriott - nice neighborhood, clean and up to date lobby. Good restaurant & bar on site. Average room, but clean and with all needed amenities. Disappointed that they charged $12.95 per day for internet access - at this point in wireless evolution this is expected and should just be part of the room fee. Workout room was well equipped with treadmills, elipticals, weights.... They offered a Pure Air feature that was a unit in the room that filtered the air and put a scent out - OK but really not needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    106
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
46
54
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

About 3 miles to del mar racetrack and beaches.High rise hotel with concierge floor and outdoor pool. Big lobby and free racetrack past performance forms.Great breakfast room with create your own omelets .Friendly staff that always greeted me by name.Computers in lobby to check e-mails.Nearby del mar mall for shopping and restaurants.1/4 mile off interstate 5 with valet parking.

Room Tip: Examples of helpful room tips "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always enjoy staying that the Marriott at Del Mar. Its close to Sony and HP but keeps you close to the ocean and great restaurants. The hotel staff is nice and the hotel has a great pool and room service. Its easy to access plus you are within close distance of many of the big corporations that are in that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was VERY ACCOMMODATING to all of our requests. My young adult daughter was coming down with a cold and they made a special effort to obtain camomile and mint herbal teas for her to drink for her sore throat.

Every time we made a request from the front desk, they followed up with a phone call to make sure we had received what we had requested.

Our only complaint was that the pillows are small squares and quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Most Marriotts are becoming similiar and lacking individual character. If you like the standard Marriott hotel, this one does a good job of filling the void. Good location in Del Mar, and a decent sushi bar in the hotel.
If I weren't coming for business; I would stay at a downtown property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is quite a long way from downtown San Diego but a great location for exploring southern California. Our room was a little bit tired, but clean with a comfortable bed and very quiet. The staff were all very friendly and everything ran smoothly. We would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Will start by saying I had requested an early check-in 2 months in advance, only to be turned away at 2 pm day of arrival. Of course, they had no record of an early check-in, which was disappointing. There is only garage parking, which is $20 a day, no other option. Stalls are tight, but there are ample spots available. Hotel is clean and most rooms seem to consist of a King bed, lounge chair and ottoman. Was able to get a rollaway bed at no charge. Pool is small, but they do have cabana's and provide towels. The price of beer and mixed drink's is downright ridiculous - if going that route, you would be better served to bring your own. Maid service was good and timely. Found the front desk personnel to be a bit pretentious, but can work around that. Was traveling with my daughter and this hotel is certainly suited toward a business traveler, not for families. Overall, I would say average and probably better options at $200 a night.

Room Tip: Higher floors, facing west for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel
Marriott San Diego
San Diego Marriott
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#99 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel is an ideal choice, whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, golf at Torrey Pines and horse racing at the Del Mar Racetrack also excite our guests. The San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides guests with an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.