We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USA Hostels San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added USA Hostels San Diego to your Saves list
USA Hostels San Diego
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   726 5th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommend it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed there for a night. Though, the atmosphere was very convivial and welcoming. You are right in the middle of Gaslamp, which is ideal if wanting to go out without having to pay cab fees.
Another caveat is that it is one remarkable Hostel compare to my past experiences in Europe. My first in the US. The difference is significant and in a very positive way. I hope you will enjoy your time there as much as I did. I certainly is worth your $.
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
4
15
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Besides the small size of the hostel dorms this is a good value, clean and friendly hostel. The free pancake breakfast is well worth getting up for and it's location (in the gaslight quarter) cannot be beat. Would recommend this place to anyone I knew spending a few nights in San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I first stayed here last year, and decided to book another few nights this year. As soon as I walked in I remembered why... This place is so wonderful! Really pretty, very homely yet international. Good beds as well, and you have a lot of privacy thanks to the "wall" with a personal light. They provide free linen and towels if you need one.

The hostel's location was ideal, right in the heart of Gaslamp District and within walking distance from virtually everything. The staff was very helpful too in giving directions or personal recommendations for bars etc. The rooms were decently sized with big lockers and enough space for your bag or suitcase. The privacy pods are amazingly convenient. The free breakfast was great with several kinds of bread and oatmeal and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The USA Hostels chain is the hit ! I stayed here in June 2012 for 2 nights. I stayed in the usa hotels in Hollywood before, which I very much liked, so the decision where to stay was easy. When I arrived to check in, the staff asked me right away if I would come to Tijuana, Mexico with a bunch of people an hour after- I did and can only recommend it. One of the staff members was our tour guide for the mexican city, which is only about 20 minutes from the hostel. The hostel itself is located on an excellent spot in downtown san diego. You have acces to everything important within minutes of walking. Its very clean and theres a great atmosphere. I didnt like the staff too much tho, they were arrogant and more relaxed in terms of: I dont care about you or your problems. But anyhow, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I immediately decided to stay at this hostel as I have stayed in USA Hostel in Hollywood & San Francisco. You get more privacy in bed, personal light and charge stuff while in bed or in locker (just bring a big lock). This hostel had comfy beds and lots of activities going on and they never were canceled. You must do their Tijuana tour! So much fun and many others that happen, how you meet people who are also travelling solo! It's a smaller hostel than San Francisco and Hollywood but the staff are friendly and sociable. I had a lovely greeting as I checked in, spent my birthday at this hostel and it was the best decision I have ever made .I don't think I can keep saying enough how much of a great time I had at their hostel. I was travelling solo so everyone talked to each other in activities. I was sad to be checking out. If I was to say the downside of this place? There wasn't enough bathrooms. Only three showers and toilets per floor and you would easily have more than 30 people on each floor! At least 4 or 5 six share dorms and a few private rooms seen. So it was a battle for a morning shower, people took night ones to avoid waiting forever.
So people do stay at this hostel you will never be alone. It's in a perfect location (downtown- gaslamp quarter lots of bars), lots of activities to do, staff are all welcoming. Also all you can eat breakfast, so much fruit, all you can eat pancakes, Quaker oatmeal breakfast, tea, coffee and orange even toast. You know you can make sandwich from their bread for a midday snack and save lots of money. I have stayed in hostel where breakfast is terrible and your hungry before lunch has come. I miss this place.
Thank you USA Hostels for making San Diego a pleasant stay xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The sleeping facilities are fine, if the beds aren't too small for tall people. This is common in most hostels though.

The toilet facilities are poor - nowhere near enough, especially when at around 11am they close half of them.

The location is ideal to make the most of the nightlife of the Gas Lamp area - which is fantastic. However the amount of rules and regulations make this a place for the over 40s. We have actually played Rule Bingo with the various do's and donts lists around the hostel. The total is over 30 - we debate at 40. It does make the place very stifling.

Room Tip: Choose international hostel near little Italy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first hostel experience and I actually enjoyed it.I was a little nervous but everything turned out perfectly.I participated in the group activities held nightly.The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful.The people (fellow travelers) were beyond wonderful.I made some pretty awesome friends from all over the world.The hostel is located in the Gaslamp quarter where everything happens.I would highly recommend this hostel to solo travelers,students,backpackers or someone just looking for a refreshing travel experience.If I ever go back to SD,I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — USA Hostels San Diego 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Hostels San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.