We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of all the action!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel in the heart of all the action!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

After reading through all the reviews on this hotel, I was skeptical. My husband and I spent one night at the Hilton and wished we had stayed more!! The location cannot be beat - right next to all the action of the Gaslamp but far enough away to not be loud. We were there the weekend of the Padres and Chargers playing at home and had no problems with noise. My only slight complaint is that the concierge was less than helpful in finding great places to eat. Fortunately, we are adventurous and just wandered around until we found something - and we had tons of choices!!! I would definitely stay here again in the future!!!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    436
    165
    61
    31
See reviews for
125
298
74
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

My husband and I have traveled to San Diego many, many times and usually stay at the beach. We decided this time we would try something different. We found this hotel on priceline and only paid $100 a night for this hotel. It is tough to argue with the location or decor of this hotel. The area is great, the lobby is modern and elegant and the rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. We had a king room and found it was good sized and the bathroom was large. The only problem was that you could hear everything from the hallway in the room. It was so bad that the second night my husband shoved an extra blanket under the door so that the sound would be muffled a bit.

I was surprised to hear that others did not find the staff to be rude. I stood at the front desk for almost five minutes, alone, waiting to check-in while the staff talked between themselves. We were given a very nice room, and the bar tender was very nice when we went down for a drink in the evening. However, the next morning I went to the front desk looking for a newspaper and the man there told me to go across the street while an entire stack of newspapers sat next to him! I couldn't believe it. The whole feeling of the hotel is very snotty, and although the building is gorgeous, the people and service left a lot to be desired. For the price, given the San Diego market, it still is a good deal, but we did not have a very good feeling the time we were there.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

My wife and I chose the Hilton because of its great downtown location for our recent trip to celebrate our first anniversary. It is close to many restaurants, shops and a short and very convenient drive to the famous San Diego zoo (a must see). The staff were always willing to help us with recommendations to quality dining in the Gaslamp District and always gave us an overview of things to see and do. An excellent choice is Lou and Micky's next door. We at first were reserved in a room in the tower on the executive floor (12th) but found ourselves upgraded to one of the rooms in the four story Enlcave. The rooms were very nicely decorated (ours had a balcony), quiet and you need a key to get into this section. My wife particulary loved the king size bed that was very comfortable and the large oversized bathroom. We would definitely return to the Hilton in Gas Lamp again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

I booked through Priceline; though I was excited when I was that this was the #3 hotel in San Diego, I was worried after I read the reviews from Summer 2005.

Well for $100 per night I figured it couldn't be that bad.... I was wrong, it was great! Every complaint that I read here was COMPLETELY unfounded. Let me go through the stuff and give you my VERY critical opinion.

1. Innovative design and helpful friendly service

2. Front desk was professional and responsive

3. Bar/lounge service was very cool... fireplaces, TV’s and couches... the bartender IS a joke... yes he sucked, the only bad part of the experience.

4. Security was all over, they even made sweeps through the halls

5. The halls are boring... and???

6. Everything in our room was impeccably clean, carpet, bathroom, windows... everything.

7. The bed was hands down, no fooling, the most comfortable I’ve ever had in a hotel room. Down pillow top mattress, down comforter, and 6... yes I said 6 down pillows. I'm telling you I cannot sleep in a cheap uncomfortable bed... this one was heaven. I have the perfect bed at home, I gotta tell you this one was better.

*Room service ends at 11pm... that's true. Good thing there is over 100 HUNDRED restaurants within walking distance.

* Everything was fresh and new... this thing was built in 2001!

* The restaurant was packed. The food is great. I waited 20 minutes from order to food, Saturday, during a convention.

* When I was there the hotel WAS busy... it's across the street from the convention center I'm thinking this hotel is busy all the time.

*Not a resort enviroment, think industrial/urban chic.

*This is NOT, NOT, NOT a kid’s hotel… nothing about the gas lamp district is for kids really… Stay in Mission Bay, somewhere adjacent to Sea World if you want kiddyland… What do clubs, bars and high end restaurants have to do with children anyway?

DOWNTOWN FINANCIAL/CONVENTION DICTRICT = ADULT
----> Please parents, let's keep it that way.

Would I pay $200 - $300 for this room???
Hmmm… now THAT is a good question :>)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

Loved the location of this hotel, steps from the dining and nightlife options of the Gaslamp district. Hotel was on the smaller side (a plus), and had an intimate feel. As others have mentioned, parking fees sting, at $24 a day, plus tips. Bedding was extremely comfortable, but rooms were a little on the small side (we had a queen, not king room). You could hear every breath on the other side of the door to the room, which given the hotel's proximity to bars, meant several middle of the night awakenings by drunk guests.

We stayed at the hotel with our toddler, and though we had called to specifically request a crib, the front desk had no record of our request, and was out of cribs. It took well over an hour for them to track down a crib for us, and in the meantime we had a very crabby baby. We got our reservation for this hotel through Priceline ($102 a night over Labor Day weekend), which was a steal. I would return for the location alone.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

The staff was very friendly!!

They gave us directions to various places and beaches. There are tons of resturants within walking distance.

We didn't get a nice view but the rooms were clean.

There is a overnight parking fee.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

I have stayed in this hotel many times in the past and have followed it on trip advisor because I enjoyed it so much. However, the last few times I felt and saw a notable change. When I asked a staff member, I was told the hotel had been sold in the last year and the new owner had brought in a new management company and the management staff who had driven the quality of the hotel have all left.
What a shame!!. You would think, eventually these hotel companys would understand that the paying public will put in a few extra dollars to keep the amenities up to par, and that the overall profit will come from loyal customers coming back, not having first time guests come and go to never return.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.