We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #93 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is directly across the street from the Convention Center and at the edge of the Gaslamp District so you can't beat the location. The hotel is trying to be a botique and it sort of works. I had a room in "Lofts" section. These rooms are bit nicer than the main hotel and have some privacy.

Overall, this is a very standard Hilton. The breakfast wasn't really that good, but I food both room service and diner to be accecptable. The firepits are a nice touch.

If you have HH status, don't expect the Royal Treatment at this property.

This is a good solid hotel, nothing special, but nothing bad either. If you score a good rate and set your expectations correctly, you will have a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    390
    138
    57
    31
See reviews for
112
265
67
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a smallish Hilton that feels much more like an independent boutique hotel. It is not the usual huge, multi-towered property, which I have to say I typically do not enjoy. The Hilton Gaslamp is the anti-dote to that.

Check in was quick, friendly and painless. The elevator is easy to find and accessible. Bellmen were friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite nice and well maintained, as were the common areas. We got lucky and enjoyed a corner room, which was bright and just perfect. Everything was in good order and we felt right at home in the well sized space.

The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly, but I did overhear them more than a few times apologize to guests for issues they felt were unsatisfactory. One was that there were additional fees for certain things (wifi, the workout room?). I cannot speak to that, as we booked our trip thru a conference related travel agent and not via an internet discount site. "Read the fine print" is the moral of the story, I suspect.

We had breakfast one morning at the Hilton, and due to being in a hurry we chose the buffet. I am never one to complain about prices, but I did feel the rate was excessive for the offerings which were not as extensive as they should have been. Still, my egg white omelette with fresh vegetables was quite good and the fruit very fresh.

The property is well located to the Convention Center, and there are great restaurants within walking distance. PETCO Field is just around the corner, and two movie theaters also fairly close by. There's a World Market if you need some fun, speciality snacks and beverages, as well as a drug store a few blocks away for emergency supplies. And, again, so many restaurants to choose from in The Gaslamp!

We very much enjoyed the location, the room and the easy service. As there are typically few hotel offered airport shuttles in San Diego, you can either take a taxi or public transportation just outside of the airport terminal. It was so easy with just a few blocks to walk to the hotel, we took the bus both to and from the airport. Only those with minimal luggage will probably appreciate the short bus ride, though.

All in all, a very pleasant stay at a very nice smaller big city hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on one of the upper floors. Since I do not live in a large city, it was fun to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was the worst ever Hilton property that I have stayed at in my 12 years of weekly traveling. The breakfast buffet and restaurant service were horrible. It's like the chef doesn't really understand decent, healthy cooking. No newspapers were delivered to the room. We had to call in for free waters every day. And, the worst was, the night screams/singing/howling from young crowds on the street next to our room until 2:00 or 3:00 AM every night of our stay!! We couldn't get any sleep throughout our 3-day stay!

The only saving grace was the Bell Captain, Tom, who provided excellent guidance for our daily tours. Thanks Tom!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods - we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Got a great rate through hotels.com over the Thanksgiving and enjoyed the Gaslamp attractions within walking distance. Service was ok and the rooms very typical Hilton look with limited choice of toiletries though. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. We had a view towards convention center on fifth floor and didn't hear any traffic noise from outside. No minibar but a little coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Attended a conference at the San Diego convention center. The location is superb. The rooms are comfortable and a good value. The front desk and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the convenience of the variety of very good Gaslamp restaurants and shops. Its a safe location for a single traveler. Previously stayed at the Hilton Bayside and Marriott but would definitely chose the Gaslamp for future conferences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as the convention center. We appreciate your comments on our friendly front desk and restaurant staff. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel for access to Convention Center and GasLamp district. I was staying in the Loft rooms which are very spacious and well equipped. Breakfast buffet was great and complimentary for HHonors gold and above, as is water and wifi. One complaint is $40 valet parking!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am happy that you had a great stay at the hotel and enjoyed our Loft room accommodations. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain secure and accessible in our covered parking. That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels. We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience with 24 hour access to your vehicle.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Hotel is well located and I found it very comfortable. There are two minuses that guests should know about. There are no Bar fridges in the rooms. Guests are provided with ear plugs in their rooms as the Hotel is located next to a busy train line and trains do sound their horn during the night. Also trams run alongside the same train line and can be heard. I must say using the ear plugs I had no sleeping worries.
The bar service down stairs in the lobby was excellent and I would recommend this hotel. Plenty of restaurants nearby and lovely gardens outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.