We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #91 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is close to the cruise piers and the airport. It is clean, well run and friendly. To the down side, they provide earplugs in the room we stayed in because we were on the side where the local trolley runs 24/7. We took the balcony upgrade for $30, what a waste! The balcony is the size of two chairs and overlooks the trolley and the convention center. This is a rip off offered to Hilton Honors members only.

We are beginning to feel that the Hilton hotels are not a good value and are surpassed by their family in the Conrad, Embassy Suites and Hampton Inns groups.

The people in this hotel were really great; the product was not.

Room Tip: Balcony prices are not worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
.Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. Our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district along with several other hotels in the area are adjacent to local transportation hubs and can be quite active. The city of San Diego has approved a "quiet zone" act where safety precautions will be added to track crossings eliminating the need for the trains to sound their horns. This project is ongoing and is scheduled to be completed by the end of November. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    416
    151
    57
    31
See reviews for
119
287
69
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Rey, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Thankfully, I realized that this hotel didn't have the conjoined rooms (with a door between adjacent rooms) just in time to choose this hotel over another. What I didn't realize is that there is only valey parking (about $40/night for overnight guests) so I passed the hotel the first time around thinking there was a garage on the other side. Once we valeted the car and were checked in, everything was smooth sailing from there. The king size bed seemed a bit shorter (length wise) than most beds, but the large widescreen TV and comfy pillows made up for it. The walls are thin and I could hear people at the vending machines up the hall, but at least the hotel provides ear plugs in the room to mitigate the noise. The only annoying thing was that the bathroom door wouldn't stay open without something propping it open. The room was clean, no water pressure/plumbing issues, and I actually considered ordering room service with the decent menu. Our stay was good for one night, which is all we needed.

Room Tip: don't bother with "zip check out"; it didn't work for us, still had to see the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived at 3pm, our room was not ready so they provided us with a $20 voucher to use in the bar...great touch. Room and bed were comfortable, however it was facing the Hard Rock Hotel's outdoor bar, and at 2am the noise became a bit excessive. Breakfast the following morning (included with diamond status) was outstanding, fresh and tasty, service was great. Hotel parking was ridiculously expensive, we found parking one block over for half the price... Bear this is mind, if staying here. All and all a decent Hilton property, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Ok so with 24 hours to experience downtown SD we wanted to stay in the area. We picked the Hilton for its location which was amazing. We booked at short notice securing one of the last remaining rooms (convention in town). Despite the busy hotel we weren't compromised on the quality of our room. Which was a corner room with lots of light. The room was spotlessly clean, tidy and in a great condition generally. With so little time in the city and looking for a great night out we were recommended to speak to the concierge, Mike. HE IS AMAZING and definitely a differentiator in terms of hotel service. I havent met a concierge as well connected ... Ever! We explained what we were looking for for our very short stay. Not only did he ring around and make reservations for us. He ensured we got the best table for dinner and helped us with information on the next two stops on our trip around San Diego and LA. The compliments about service at the Hilton Gaslamp are not solely reserved for Mike (who definitely stands out as an exceptional example of customer service) but the valets, bellboys (who couldn't help us enough when we locked ourselves out of our room!) and the receptionists at check in/check out. In our experience it's often the staff that make a good stay great, but I do think it all came together perfectly at the Hilton Gaslamp. Congratulations. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As other's have stated, the location of this hotel is very good, especially if attending a conference at the convention center or a nearby hotel (as I was). The room was large and clean and overall I was happy with the property.

I imagine this is standard at all Hilton's, but they do charge $12 / day for internet PER DEVICE. My reservation said 'complimentary high speed internet' . After asking about this on my first day I was told this applies only in the lobby but that they had recently changed the policy regarding multiple devices and that I would only be charged once per day. But sure enough was charged for multiple devices and then had to argue with the front desk on check-out. It's unbelievable that they think it's reasonable to charge $24 (or more) / day for moderate speed internet. That's more than $600/month! A small, non refrigerated bottle of water was also $3.50 in the room. Staff at the front desk and concierge were cordial but certainly not welcoming. So a good conference hotel, but there are certainly better options if you're on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whether it's for business or pleasure, this hotel is a very nice place to stay. It's a short walk to the convention center as well as to the restaurants and shops in the Gaslamp Quarter. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the rooms are very nice.They do charge $40 per night for parking which I found to be a bit much. There is a big public parking lot about a block away that is far less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the tracks. The clanging of the trolley cars might be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This property is in an awesome location. Across from the Convention center, walking distance to major shopping and the bay area tourist locations. The gaslamp area is full of great bars many with live music and supurb restaurants. Holloween was really great.
The loft room we stayed in was a corner room at K street and 5th. Remodled, large and clean. The breakfast was comped because we are Diamonds otherwise it is overpriced. Walk up the street and find some nice local dining. The happy hour across the street was long and dirt cheap.
This IS the spot to be in San Diego but it did have issues. The lobby is a bit grubby and needs refurbished. The carpet going up the stairs has dirt ground in it. The furniture is worn and should be cleaned more often. Even the clerks desk chair visible through the office door had the stuffing coming out of it. Every morning the lobby coffee was empty. On check out day a bellman was no where to be found yet there were three, yes three, valet parking guys. Got tired of waiting and took my own luggage down using two different elevators.
STILL, next time I go to San Diego I will stay at this property rather than the huge, shiney Hilton three blocks away.
Absolutely ride the trolley and see the whole city.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooking K street was good. Do not know where the others overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I apologize for the wait time involving our bell service as we try to anticipate heavy check out periods and schedule accordingly. We do have new furniture in place throughout the lobby and restaurant area's and are in the process of upgrading our outdoor furnishings. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;