We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #91 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Location could not have been better and the price was right. Gaslamp district a block away. Mini-mart across the street offers everything from breakfast to liquor and everything in between. World Market is nearby and provided all the wine we could drink. Pool is small, but clean and in full sun during the day to keep the water ideal. Workout facility has new equipment and was never crowded. Rooms are spacious and compfrtable for a family of 3. If in San Diego again, I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    396
    139
    57
    31
See reviews for
113
267
67
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at the Hilton Gaslamp Quarter Loft Towers and i have to say it was an amazing night. Great location close to all the good clubs and bars. Clean rooms and great room service.This is a location we will stay at again some time soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your five star "Incredible" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review and sharing your comments on our new Loft Suites. Thank you also for your kind comments on our clean rooms and great room service food. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel was in walking distance to Padres baseball field. Pretty nice hotel for a 3.5 star. Clean rooms nice bathroom clean, with nice toiletries. Bar, dining area not so good drinks tooooo expensive and bartender no good sorry but yuck on my 30 dollar Bloody Mary's!!!! Gross. And the service in there was horrible. But besides that I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district and several area attractions including Petco Park. We appreciate your comments on our clean rooms. I apologize that you did not enjoy the bar experience. We do offer happy hour pricing and dinner specials throughout the week and look forward to serving you to your complete satisfaction on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I love visiting San Diego. Since we live in snow country, we've regularly taken January trips to SD to celebrate my birthday in much warmer weather. Our of our prior trips have included dinner one night in the Gaslamp Quarter. This was the first time we decided to stay in the downtown area and this Hilton stay was a nice one.

It was very convenient to stay here one night and use the proximity of the hotel to walk a few minutes up to restaurant we had chosen to dine in.

We ended up with a nice rate and a room to match. However, it didn't start out that way. The room originally assigned didn't meet my wife's desire for views. We were assigned an upper floor and our view was of a portion of the rooftop of other parts of the hotel. A visit to the front desk brought a worker up to our level to show us a couple of other room options. The first one met my wife's approval, it was of the downtown area. The room had a wonderfully compfy bed and was quiet. I'm an earlier riser, even on vacations, and my wife likes to sleep in. This room was somewhat of a mini-suite. I made use of the outer area to sit on the sofa, surf the web, and read the paper.

The only downside to this hotel is the exorbitant valet parking costs. I found a parking garage two blocks away and paid $10 to self-park.

I highly recommend at stay here. We will return on future visits.

Room Tip: We prefer the north-facing rooms with views of the city. South-facing higher-floor rooms, those wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Am Hhonors Diamond, frequently in and around SD - decided to stay downtown for once, as room rate was decent and this was nearest my morning meeting.

It's a lovely property, but this review is really intended as a sharp shock to the management. Your employees' attitudes are terrible. The front desk was understaffed at 3:30 p.m. -- a time when your top tier loyalty progam people shouldn't be waiting and waiting. Maryana seemed flustered and put out to leave the back room and check me in - and I got the distinct impression that because I was in a sweater and jeans instead of business attire, I got a second rate level of service and attitude. She also couldn't provide breakfast coupons in a timely manner, and forgot to give me back my credit card. I know it's not her forever job, but the "wish I didn't have to do this" vibe just radiated.

For my entertainment pleasure, your housekeeping staff is currently enjoying themselves yelling in Spanish in the hallway, no doubt about the many empty bottles they're clanking around in the garbage bin.

Those bottles gave me an idea - maybe I'd like a beer! I did notice that you trumpet the (justifiably renowned) local brews in the lobby on several placards - and the in-room dining menu cites Green Flash IPA (great choice). Maybe they'd also have something special on tap? Maybe I'd go down to the bar and order a beer? Or have one sent up?

Or .... who knows, because NO ONE AT YOUR PLACE IS ANSWERING THE PHONE AT FIVE PM. Not when I hit "0;" not when I hit the button for in room dining; not when I try the extension for the bar. NO EXTENSION IS PICKING UP IN THE HOTEL, INCLUDING THE OPERATOR.

You guys are so awesome that you don't even have to answer the phone! Kudos to you for your popularity. However, this is the hospitality industry, not high school, and I wish for more service and fewer reminders that I'm being permitted to bask in the shadow of your greatness.

Sarcasm aside, the attitude with staff (except the valet - who ought to be nice at $40/night parking, shame on you) is terrible.

If you're 55 and bald and wear "slacks," you'll love it. If you're the kind of person who dislikes such establishments, you won't love it. In fact, the regular downtown Hilton and Doubletree are both far superior for you Hhonors folks.

Room Tip: Bring your patience to the front desk - you'll need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I apologize that we were not successful in providing you the high level of service we hope to provide every guest, during your stay. We truly value our Diamond members and strive to meet the needs of each individual. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you are coming to San Diego to attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, this is THE place to stay!!
PROs: It is just across the street from the San Diego Convention Center- you can't get any closer. It's bounded on one side by a small park and on the other sides by the famous Gaslamp quarter, complete with dozens of restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Room service is prompt, housekeeping keeps the rooms immaculate, and any in-room assistance is done well and attended to by friendly individuals. The rooms are comfortable, although the beds gave one other person in my group and me a little trouble (softer than what we like) - but the others in our group were quite pleased and comfortable. There is a good selection of TV channels, the bathroom toiletries are nice, and there is always hot water and good water pressure. Overall, we were very pleased. My travel companions also noted that the fitness center and, especially, the outdoor hot tub were great. On top of that, the front desk folks are helpful - best yet, the bell hops go out of there way to help in any way possible (truly, these fellows are very nice).
CONS: The concierge is not that helpful - everytime we needed a taxi, a private driving service was called (because no taxis were available?.?), costing us 2-3 times more than what it should have for every trip we made. That got annoying - although the driving services were impeccable. The foyer stinks - it is so malodorous (smells like a combo of feces and dead things) that one is quick to leave the sitting area if meeting someone there. No one ever answers the internal Guest services line via the button on one's phone (I let it ring over 40 times on numerous occasions), and it can be equally difficult getting anyone to answer at the front desk. Remedy (learned this after 3 days there): call the hotel's phone number, as if you are an outside caller. Someone, ironically, will answer immediately - then have the charges for local calls taken off your bill at the end (as you cannot be charged for using the local call line when no one answers the internal lines after calling many times and letting it ring dozens of times). Other than that, though, when you do reach someone, they are ALWAYS helpful, and pleasant, and ready to ensure that your stay is good. The food is overpriced, and not the best (adequate would be a good way to describe it - although the steak I ordered one night was good); with the gaslamp quarter there, you would be cheating yourself eating "in" anyway - go out and try the myriad of wonderful eateries just outside the door of the hotel.
CONCLUSION: I would highly recommend this hotel if coming for a convention - they are perfectly located, and are very reasonably priced - and will ensure that your stay is good, comfortable, and pleasurable.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the gaslamp district, and not the convention center...just makes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel really is the "perfect" location for convenience to the Convention Center as well as the dynamic Gaslamp district and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff, prompt room service and immaculate housekeeping. I apologize for any challenges with getting through to our operator on the phones, we will check to make sure everything is working properly and we will review this with our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Nothing to complain about here. The location itself is perfect! It is right at the edge of the Gaslamp district within walking distance to tons of great restaurants and shopping. Right across from the Convention Center and within walking distance to the boardwalk where you can watch street magicians, a guy with birds, this guy who stacks rocks (I know it sounds strange but its actually really neat. He precariously balances rocks of varying shapes and sizes into 6 foot tall towers). The boardwalk is also a great place to watch the sunset. The pool is relatively small and so is the hot tub but it worked for us. The hotel is right next to the train tracks and they provide you with ear plugs and I was nervous when I first saw them because I am a light sleeper... But my boyfriend and I never used them and never heard the trains and we had a room pretty close to the tracks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your five star "Awesome" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments concerning our perfect location. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.