We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #174 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

You pretty much get what you pay for. We chose this place beacuse we were going to a show nearby at the house of blues. The location is great its nearby everything. We got there and we realized we had to valet parking, so we did it wasn't a big deal. When we got there we checked in, we were helped by a lady who was very indifferent a bit of an attitude i would say.

When i stay in the hotel usually the case is: the hotel sucks but the service is great or the service sucks and the hotel is great, but unfortuantely this wasn't the case both were bad.

This is a historic hotel so u get an actual key not a card to swipe. I'd have to say the old elevator was pretty cool, although it was a bit creepy but it was different than anything else. We get up to our room, and it was like being in an apartment with 2 rooms being seperated by just a wall. Our view was bad, i felt like we were thrown in a corner of the hotel. The rooms were extremely small the only available space was the little space surrounding the bed, there wasn't too much room to move around. The bathrooms were gross, they were very dirty, i was even scared to take a shower and touch any of the nozzles. The walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything going on in the halls. I wouldn't of given it such a bad rating if the staff was a little friendlier and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    260
    176
    94
    91
See reviews for
88
223
68
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

just completed a week's stay and couldn't have asked for a greater place to be for a leisurely vacation--in the heart of gaslamp district, walking distance to trolleys, buses, petco park, convention center, shopping center, seaport village, city center, great restaurants,(one on premises), streets safe for walking--- great roof-top area to read or sun, quiet rooms, marbled stairway, plush carpeted, chandeliered, friendly service throughout, airport pick-up, morning papers--actually this sounds like an ad--well, it could be--and , oh, yes, the rooms have got to be some of the most reasonable of any of the gaslamp hotels--it will always be my spot in san diego

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest ,thank you for the kind words about our little hotel. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

On evening, I booked a room via the Ramada website for the following night, but when we arrived we were told that our reservation had been made for the previous night and we had been billed as "no-shows." We had had numerous problems with the website and even the clerk at the reception desk admitted that it sounded like a glitch had caused our booking date to revert to the default (i.e. the date I made the booking). Unfortunately he was too honest for his own good, admitting that the hotel had not been booked out the previous night, nor was it booked out upon our arrival, and the rates for both nights were the same. Nonetheless, he needed to ask his supervisor for authorization to check us in that night for no extra charge. The supervisor refused to do this and was extremely impolite and unsympathetic, and despite numerous calls to Ramada we have been unable to secure a refund. They said that we were responsible for ensuring that the date on the confirmation email was correct, even in the event of technical difficulties on their own website. We were down in San Diego for a large gathering of friends and told everyone about our experiences. None of them will be staying at that Ramada or any other Ramada ever again. There was absolutely no reason for them not to put us in a room, considering they had not lost out on any money the night we were "no-shows" (since the hotel was not booked out) and the hotel wasn't full the night we arrived. The only charge we were able to get reversed was $30 on top of our room fee, but they wouldn't tell us what that charge was for, although it wouldn't surprise me if it was a no-show fee. Ramada has a great rate at many locations where I travel and I've had positive experiences before, but given their ineptitude at resolving customer difficulties and owning up to technical problems on their own website, I intend to avoid them permanently.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarksville, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

hotel staff was the most polite and friendly i have ever encountered. they always spoke to me by name and were most helpful whenever i asked for directions.advice on restaurants or places to see. The rooftop lounge area had a spectacular view of san diego. this historic hotel was very authentic, had to get used to the rooms and small showers but it was well worth it. i would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Fantastic Hotel, as long as you know what you are getting into.

I am a single young male, who stayed here for two weeks.

I loved the charm of this very historic place, the rooftop cafe is very cool to look at the city from.

It is not a massive chain hotel where you are just a number, the people who work here are very nice, and very very helpful.

Likely one of the quietest, and most charming hotel in the GASLAMP District.

Due to the awesome & historic, but possibly problematic for some folks, the elevator may get int he way fo the elderly, handicapped, and folks who have to keep track of a couple young kids. The old stlye cage elevators (ONCE the fastest in the world by the way!) have a tendancy to "bite" people who are not paying attention.

Have some patience, slow down, and take in some history, if you have a brief moment to spare.

Within walking distance of everything, both day and night time activities were all done without a car for two weeks. AWESOME !

Yes, I did have a car, but I valeted it when I came home from work, and didn't need it until the next morning!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear guest, Thank you for your honest observations and comments. We do have the best location downtown and we do have the most caring staff. We have one the best restaurants downtown and alas we probably have the oldest elevators downtown. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in San Diego, "America's finest city".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

First glance: What a wonderful old place; great historical details, stunning.
Old style 'cage type' elevators. The doors are heavy and difficult to manage and have to be slammed closed most of the time - even at night.
The room was of adequate size for a couple. Nothing too fancy, just a standard room with the usual amenities.
First night, the shower from the unit above ours leaked into our shower. There was evidence of prior water damage on the access panel in the ceiling. We were already in bed for the night, so chose to report it in the morning. We figured it would stop dripping once the person was done, and it did. Besides, we didn't want work crews in and out all night. When we reported it to the front desk on the way out for breakfast, we were asked if it was ok for someone to go in while we were out. No problem, we planned to be out all day. By that night, it did not appear to have been corrected, nothing was said to us by the front desk, no sign they'd even been there, nothing. After that, the woman at the front desk would see us come into the lobby and would keep her head down as we passed through, to ensure there was no eye contact.
There is LOTS of street noise at night from surrounding clubs and the next room.
Dare I not mention the smog that blows in through the windows which have portable a/c units in them, even in January. We blocked most of it out the second night with a bath towel, closed the lined drapes and moved furniture against them to keep it out as much as possible.
I often save "sample" packages of shampoo, etc I receive to use during travel. I apparently had 'missed' the trash bucket when throwing it away that morning. It was still on the floor, despite the "cleaning" person already "cleaning" the room. Which means, the floor was not even swept. It left me wondering what else wasn't done.
Fearing for our safety from the air quality of the room, we checked out the next day. (we booked for four nights- left after the second.) We figured if we were being ignored by the front desk for reporting the leaking shower, what would they do if we complained about carbon monoxide coming into our room from the streets below. ?? We were on the 8th floor.
Since we'd pre-paid for only the first night, we chose to pay the $50.00 "early out" penalty fee and go elsewhere. Honestly, even if we'd pre-paid the entire balance, we'd have left and attempted to retrieve a refund later.
The hotel sends out email surveys to it's customers. When I wrote these comments in the survey, I was offered a discount for my next stay. Even at a discounted rate, you could not get me to stay there again, sorry to say.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. The staff was extremely nice. I loved the 1913 elevator. It moved a bit slow, but it just added charm to the hotel. The rooms were a bit outdated, but they served its purpose-to sleep and shower. The prices were great. The other hotels in the area (the more newer, modern ones) were really pricey. I booked from priceline and got a great deal. But, even so, going straight to thier website, rooms were reasonable.

I also loved the rooftop. It was only accessible for guests. There were tables and umbrellas. We brought a bottle of wine and just relaxed on the rooftop.

There's a great 24 hour resturant attached to the hotel called Brian's. Great food. The best dirty marini I've ever had was made by Julio!!

The hotel is centrally located to all the great clubs/bars/resturants/shopping in the Gaslamp District. We walked mostly everywhere. Because it is located in the heart of the entertainment district, it was a little noisy in the evening. But, if you just turn on the air conditioning unit, it blocks out the noise.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. I will most likely return to this hotel the next time I'm back in San Diego.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Address: 830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.