We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #174 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently came into town for the National Art Education Association Convention. Being unfamiliar with the area, I used TripAdvisor to make my choice of the hotel. (Bringing 6 other colleagues can add some pressure to any selections I make!)
I CANNOT say enough about the staff's professionalism, hospitality, and friendliness! The shuttle service to and from the airport was both handy and enjoyable. Alex, Matt, and Nick(and the shuttle guys) treated us like family! They made the stay that much better.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel itself is a true gem! I would caution that there is some outside noise that we experienced on the weekend stay. You run that risk when you are in an area with late night entertainment. Unless you are an extremely light sleeper, it was minor.
I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. After 6 years of traveling to various conferences, I can say this was the best yet.
And don't miss a stop at their restaurant! Massive portions of yumminess!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Do you have any sisters? Thank you for the kind supportive words . the staff reads every Trip Advisor Review and your's will make their hearts sing. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    260
    176
    94
    91
See reviews for
88
223
68
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here to attend something at another hotel 3 blocks away. Easy walk. This hotel cost less, had excellent rooms, had free airport shuttle, free wifi in your room, lots of shampoo, mouthwash etc. Staff were excellent. A little noisy on Saturday night but not overly so. Walking distance of Convention Center, Harbor ferry etc. Nice desk with good lighting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest, I don't know what PIAAA means but thank you do much for your support and for the good reives . Future guests read reviews to see what they can expect when they arrive . Thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Went to SD for the weekend with my boyfriend and some friends, and stayed here, location is awesome, right in the gas lamp district, near all the bars and really great restaurants, and within walking distance to the uss midway, about 20 min give or take. Rooms were small but we were only in there when it was time to sleep, the staff was so friendly and quick to help us with everything. i would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest, We're glad you enjoyed your stay in downtown San Diego. We do have a great location ,you can walk to all downtown has to offer . Our elevators are old our rooms are small but our heart is big and we strive to make every guest experience a good one. Hope to see you again and thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The manager Dennis was a wonderful assistance. The front desk men all very helpful . I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. Extreamly happy with my stay. The food in the attached resturant is very reasonable and a lot for your money. The history of the building is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for you support and for your kind words . the staff reads every review and tries their hardest to make each stay and enjoyable one . It's nice when you win, not so nice when we don't accomplish our goals Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel was full on our arrival, but we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. That was a very nice perk.

The desk and valet staff were exceptional. Always friendly and willing to answer any questions, and accomodate our needs. Since our stay was for a week, we became quite familiar with several and they all seemed cheerful and helpful every time we interacted with them, or even just passed by the desk or valet stand.

The elevator doors could be upgraded. The elevators have character since they are the original from 1913, but the doors should be updated to make them more easily accessible, especially for those hauling luggage in and out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kinds words, the elevators are here to stay unfortunately. We just "remain calm and carry on " , thank you for support and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Address: 830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.