We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value within walking distance to convention center.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“Good value within walking distance to convention center.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Old hotel with small rooms but clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were really great- pleasant and helpful. Hotel is in a busy entertainment area so outside noise can evidently be a problem but I didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest , Thank you for the supportive review . We are friendly well run hotel in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. The neighborhood can be noisy on the weekends,especially if the weather's nice . 3/4 of our rooms are about 25% smaller than your average American hotel room . We do have 5 different room types ,some vary large . If you ever return visit the hotel's website link right here on TripAdvisor .It's there you'll see all the room types not just a select few . You can pick out the one that works for you at the lowest rate to be found anywhere . Thank you again for your support and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    296
    190
    104
    99
See reviews for
101
250
73
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staff was the best staff I have ever encountered. Everyone was so helpful and attentive to our needs. They helped with directions and also eating/drinking suggestions. The one negative people are reviewing is the elevator. What can you expect from a 100 year old building. The sign in the elevator says it all . "In 1913 this was the fastest elevator in the world. It still goes the same speed. The World around it has just sped up"

Room Tip: Not the hotel if you're looking for modern amenities. But if you love historic hotels this plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest , Thank you for the kind words. The hotel does have charm and the hotel staff is caring and attentive The elevators are "cute" for a first date but would you want to marry one? Probably not but they get the job done and have done so for 100 years. To see all the "modern" room types and not just a select few visit the hotel's website link right here on the TripAdvisor listing. You make be surprised at what you find ! Thanks again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Where do I even begin? I’ve stayed in historic hotels before but the room we requested was no where near what we received. We were told we were going to have a mini-fridge in the room but that was not supplied. When we requested it at the front desk, the charge was $10 but it took 1 HOUR to arrive at our room. Shower less than 3 feet wide. The shower was standing room only which is fine for someone that's 5'0 but one of the guests was 6'6. He could not fit into the shower. The elevators are classic and old, only fun the first time. The room had an AC window unit which we didn’t mind. The flat sceen TV was nice but also had to turn up the volume because it was located next to the AC unit. The closet was just a rail hanging next to our “queen” size bed. Also after checking in and returning to the hotel room, the keys did not work. We were so fed up we decided just to upgrade to a suite but none were available and the front desk personnel were very unorganized. It took another hour to pick up the car from valet on Sunday morning because the hotel was understaffed. Overall, the service was terrible, the room was uncomfortable- small and cramped esp for someone thats 6’6”. and this is one PRE-historic hotel I will never recommend or stay at again. (even though the location is great)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorleeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations . No hotel likes unhappy guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center

Address: 830 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Gaslamp/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.