We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Blu

Taverna Blu
12873 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2002
+1 858-509-3950
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #837 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

took a break from shopping and stopped here since it smelled so good. Our waiter Clark was very attentive and right on with his recommendations. We had the chicken sampler platter and some lamb kebabs. Weather was fabulous and we could sit outside. Good food (excellent tsatsiki) combined with some good wine made for a scrumptuous lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Food in a Suburban Shopping Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I were staying in a nearby Del Mar hotel and found this restaurant while walking around in the shopping center. We dined alfresco and were impressed with the quality of ingredients and authenticity of the Greek specialities. I was particularly pleased with the fact that there were many choices among the selections for vegetarians, as well as lamb, chicken and fish. Service was good and the atmosphere was nice. All in all it was a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside for an early lunch and the waiter was great to turn on and off the overhead heater to keep us comfortable. I picked this place because I had a restaurant.com certificate and like Greek food. Everything was delicious (see my photos). Great quality ingredients.They should add plain baklava to their menu. They crumble bits of it over ice cream instead. The spinach triangles were dissapointing but I would still definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A True Taste of Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I arrived in San Diego and were looking for a place to eat, we found Taverna Blu, when I saw Casual Greek Dining...I looked at him and said we have to try it. From the moment we walked in and were seated we were treated great. Greg our waiter was fantastic, as a test I said "Efgarhisto" he replied with "Parakalo" ahhh a true Greek. Having lived n Greece for 5 years it is hard to fin authentic Greek food. We had Retsina (typical Greek wine), only enjoyed with Greek food, calamari, dolmas, the threesome dip...and as a final dish we had the flaming cheese with honey....can you say delicious. If you have been to Greece, lived in Greece then this is a pace to go. Actually excellent food...Thank you Greg for making our visit awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 372 cities Reviews in 372 cities
782 helpful votes 782 helpful votes
“Very good Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a pleasant modern Greek restaurant. Everything we ordered was tasty and well prepared. For value, I'd recommend the combination plates -- we had the "meat" version and it was very diverse and filling. Overall, I didn't find the salmon as tasty as the gyro, lamb or chicken. With a restaurant.com, the value is unbeatable for this fashionable eatery. We had very good service, but we were dining early.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Blu also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.