We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Greek restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Blu

Taverna Blu
12873 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2002
+1 858-509-3950
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #777 of 3,981 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 316 cities Reviews in 316 cities
650 helpful votes 650 helpful votes
“Very good Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a pleasant modern Greek restaurant. Everything we ordered was tasty and well prepared. For value, I'd recommend the combination plates -- we had the "meat" version and it was very diverse and filling. Overall, I didn't find the salmon as tasty as the gyro, lamb or chicken. With a restaurant.com, the value is unbeatable for this fashionable eatery. We had very good service, but we were dining early.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    7
    12
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greek Tapas - a great idea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything is fresh at Taverna Blu! The menu contains small plates and great variety of Greek classics. The calamari is delicious - cut thick and not over-cooked. The Greens in Lemon Sauce is simple but you crave them long after. Try the Green Eggs & Gyros: cuts of lamb on toasted bread, topped with a sunnyside egg and a drizzle of pesto. This place is great for a full meal or for sampling snacks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
662 reviews 662 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
1,322 helpful votes 1,322 helpful votes
“Good but not great food... But good service and trendy spot..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came here the other night for dinner with my wife after watching a movie around the corner at that great luxury Cinema they have upstairs. We live not too far away from here so we're always over at this Del Mar Heights shopping area.

We've seen this place packed before. I think it gets a regular crowd that comes here. Our friend/neighbor told us she gets take out food here once in a while.

I thought the food was good. Not great but good and the service was friendly. We ordered some hummus and the pita bread that came with it wasn't warm or fresh but when we asked for some more bread they DID bring out some piping hot fresh delicious bread.

My lamb and beef Gyro sandwich dish was good with the french fries. I'd definitely go back again.

Not the best Greek out there but not the worst either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Greek Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having been to Greece this is a middling try at the food for Del Mar tastes. We enjoyed what we ate, Have been there several times when it opened, but found it a bit pricey for what it was. This is a place to eat, talk loudly to be heard, and fight the parking issues of the shopping center. We have tried to go back but got frustrated trying to find a parking space. We know other places that are outside the CV area that have equal or better food and no parking problem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrific chicken and salmon dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We took our friends here because our first experience at this restaurant was so good--the gyros plate had been delicious. We were delighted this time around as well. Both house-special chicken dishes were excellent and our friend praised the salmon dish he ordered. Another friend enjoyed the vegetarian dish, saying the carrots, squash, and broccolli were cooked just right and had real flavor. All of us were impressed with the lemon rice that came with the meat dishes. The atmosphere is pleasant inside where we ate on our first visit. We ate outside on the glass enclosed patio tonight. The metal chairs outside were a bit cold on this chilly night despite the overhead heaters. Also, the car lights from nearby traffic might be distracting for some. Dine inside if tables are available. The restaurant filled up both times we were there. Next time, we will try the lamb kabob plate that we saw at a nearby table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Blu also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.