We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical bar but with a few difference” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tipsy Crow

The Tipsy Crow
770 5th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
(619)338-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #660 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Typical bar but with a few difference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Typical Gaslamp bar which serves drinks, beers, and shots. Difference is that they also run an 'Exchange' which changes prices of drinks in the bar. They can go up or down in price, similar to a stock exchange. A little different, but a cool way to change things up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“No desire to return anytime soon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went to The Tipsy Crow for a drink as a couple. Not really a place I'd visit again. We went in a for a quick drink after a day of sightseeing, very early in the evening. Found the overbearing door men on power trips a bit irritating and my husband was informed under no circumstances was he to go into his rucksack whilst inside the venue. We should really have left at that point as I don't like being made to feel that "I'm lucky to be allowed into the bar" when it was empty.

Probably a cool place to go with friends on a night out and the drinks prices "stock exchange" idea was quirky and fun. Our server was friendly when we made it into the bar and the wine was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cool idea for a bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed the uniqueness of the bar and how prices were determined. They had a lot of fun, old school games. Also, had a friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped by to have an early dinner. They were not too busy, bit it still was early in the evening. The happy hour 1/2 priced sandwiches were delicious. The waitress was energetic and knowledgeable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fancy Dancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sophisticated atmosphere, not loud and noisy. Dance floor downstairs. We hung out on the upper floor and it took about 5 mins of me standing at the bar before I was acknowledged...and they weren't that busy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tipsy Crow also viewed

 

Been to The Tipsy Crow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tipsy Crow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.