We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'est très génial ici.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Revoir Bistro

Au Revoir Bistro
420 Robinson Avenue, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 268-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Revoir Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #335 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“C'est très génial ici.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Smallish, comfortable place for a reasonably priced but very tasty dinner out. The food is quite nice, there's a very decent wine selection and the service is friendly. Host and servers are usually French or French-speaking (though you don't have to be). I love the trout dish but have enjoyed everything I've tried here. An added perk: this isn't one of those restaurants where you'll have difficulty hearing the conversation. Noise level is not at all out of control and that provides an atmosphere that's more relaxed than most places. Probably not the best place to bring children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trying too hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I thought the meal was average, service was fine. Too much going on with the food; too many different flavors.

I took leftovers home and the meal was better the next day! Things calmed down. May be just me and not the chef. It was the pork belly and duck entree. My wife liked the beef bourguignon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Food was delicious and out of the world but had a little bit of wait for service! Waited quite a bit for check. Had to get up and ask the waiter finally.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little place for French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is my favorite place to get French food without breaking the bank... however it will put a small ding in your wallet. While not expensive, it ain't cheap either. However, for what you get, I consider it a good deal for what the food you get. The closest feel to a French Bistro I have found in San Diego.
Note: I do like Bleu Boheme a lot, but this place I find more affordable without sacrificing the quality of the food. Do your self a favor: Try both of them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Cute French bistro. Go hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Away from the tourist traps of downtown, this cute little French bistro in Hillside is charming and filling. The menu has traditional French favorites including mussels, lamb, escargot and rabbit. A fine selection of wine, cute atmosphere and friendly service topped off a pleasant night. The portions are large so be prepared to eat. The escargot is delicious and garlicky. The scallops and salmon had a lot going on but was tasty. We had no room to even consider dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Revoir Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Au Revoir Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Revoir Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.