We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in a busy area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #98 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a busy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I like the consistent experiences provided at Marriott Courtyard properties while I'm on business trips. While I typically enjoy the more private nature of the courtyard areas at these chains so I can sit outside and enjoy a drink while working on my laptop, non compare to the beauty of the pond and walking trail directly behind this hotel. While it's not a private are, but is instead shared between the offices/restaurants lining up around it, it's still a pleasant change to the typical courtyard experience.

Staff here are very friendly and helpful at all times, and do a great job of doing so in an organic and genuine way instead of the rote and robotic "welcome" and "have a good day" you get at any hotel.

The only unfortunate factor is the location being right next to the highway, creating a bit of dissonance between the enjoyment of the natural area and the sound of rushing traffic. But it's not like that's a choice on the part of the hotel. Also while it is distracting,

it's important to point out that the highway is quite a bit higher up than the hotel property so it's not as if traffic is zooming around directly next to you, just that some of the sound spills over.

One of my preferred properties in the courtyard brand for certain. and my favorite of any chain in the Rancho Bernardo area.

Room Tip: You'll want to get a room facing the pond, otherwise you're just looking at a parking lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
23
12
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
594 helpful votes 594 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had stayed here for two nights. The hotel is easily accessible from the free way and has a decent neighborhood. There was ample parking space as well. The hotel doesn't have a buffet breakfast however, just down the street you would find a few places for quick bites.

Rooms were clean and tidy. Staffs were courteous. Overall had a good comfortable stay. Won't mind staying there again during my next trip to SD.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this Courtyard before when visiting family nearby. The staff I dealt with at this hotel were very friendly yet professional. They were sold out that weekend with teams of high school students, yet granted my request for a quiet room on a high floor well away from the elevator. The room was very clean, Marriott bedding was wonderful, in spite of it being sold out there was plenty of free parking, and it was a welcome respite from visiting the family.

I have stayed at other Courtyards that include breakfast; this one does not. I did not use a lot of the amenities this trip, but enjoyed my quiet room very much.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Normally myself or my team members don't stay here much. But after several years of being away we now will. The lobby has be redesigned and upgraded. The rooms have updated televisions and have been slightly updated.

Would like to see AirCon upgraded, but they are doing a good job improving this location.

Management sent free drink coupons and a personal card. To take this kind of time shows that they have a management team that understands not only the business but the customers as well.

We will be staying here more often.

Happy Travels,
Exploretraveler.com

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arriving at the Courtyard, I was impressed with the lounge / business center. This was more spacious than most Courtyards or other economy hotels. The pool area, which also included a hot tub, was clean and spacious as well. A nicer pool than I've seen at a Courtyard. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. The guest rooms were also spacious, and have most amenities that you'll need to a short stay. My room included a coffee maker, small fridge, and a microwave. The fan/AC unit was loud, to the point where I couldn't run the AC at night. So the room was comfortable but never really cool. The pillows, although numerous, were also small and not very comfortable. I know that this is personal taste, so I can't count that against the fine folks at Marriott. My room was on the second floor, which I think was directly above the kitchen. At 4am, the room is permeated with the smell of burnt toast. The hotel deli/bar offers a decent selection of wine, beer, and liquor. They have sandwiches and salads that appeared decent, although I didn't partake. In the morning they serve Starbucks coffee and have a small variety of breakfast foods. There is a shopping center approx. a quarter mile from the hotel which is easily walkable. The shopping center has a few trendy restaurants and some fast food chains.
Aside from these few quirks with my room, this Courtyard was more comfortable than most other Courtyards and a good value.

Room Tip: A room on the backside of the hotel will overlook the pool and small park.
See more room tips
Green Features: They didn't seem to have a recycle bin or bag. But they do ask that you re-use towels and linens.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here during a family gathering in the San Diego area. The rooms were nice and the staff was great. the breakfast area was large and could accomodate the family for a morning meal together. We were in room #366 which overlooked a very nice little pond and open grassy area with walking path. there is a grocery store just around the corner and all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo. We are always glad when our guests enjoy their visits with us. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was nice and comfortable stay..room size was good..you also have couple of restaurants around..and specially subway and some bakery stores help for breakfast...But the only thing that my friend lost his i-pad here..he left at computer table near the restaurant and forgot it there..when we came back in the night it was not there...we asked all the staff but no one knew anything about it..so be careful with your belongings..

Room Tip: If you are 2 then go for King Bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Address: 11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
Courtyard Rancho Bernardo
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.