We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #99 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Moorpark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel because my daughter's soccer club had a tournament at a park about 15 to 20 minutes away. I will say that the hotel is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. They were able to accommodate an early check-in which was very nice. We stayed in a double room and the Comfort of the beds were okay although I thought the sheets felt a bit rough and the mattress was a little springy. They have a nice bar/café area where a large group can congregate. We ended up ordering off of their dinner menu and the food was decent.The girls enjoyed the heated pool. Our hotel rate included breakfast which we thought was buffet style however when a swarm of parents and players went down to eat when at 7 AM there was quite a line. You have to place your order at the counter and then wait for your food to be brought to you. I was told it would take about 10 minutes for the hot breakfast however it ended up being 25 to 30 minutes. The staff did not seem to know that there was it a number of soccer teams staying at the hotel and we all had to leave by a certain time. They were also shorthanded. Despite this the staff were courteous and apologetic. They tried their best to get the food out as quickly as they could. If we have another tournament in that area I would definitely stay in this hotel again as I thought it was a good value and located in an area with plenty of stores and restaurants nearby. Just be aware that you better get up super early to get your breakfast and give yourself plenty of time if you're traveling with a large group.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
22
12
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean rooms typical of courtyards. Usual layout. Great beds and pillows. Quiet and easy to rest up for carlsbad half marathon. Lobby was a bit torn up. Not sure if they were remodeling or not. Met my needs for quick trip into San Diego for race.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice property. Location is near the interstate but in the back of a business area so it is quiet and does not have lot's of traffic going by giving it a secluded feel, not like you are in the middle of everything, even though you are!
Nice cafe and bar. Bartender was very friendly, letting folks in conversation stay a little past closing.
Room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions of the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo! I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we couldn't have had a better time! Everything about our stay was perfect! We want to give a shout out to Doug at the front desk. He surprised us when we checked in with a bottle of champagne! He also gave some great recommendations for restaurants and stuff to do off of the beaten path. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit the San Diego area!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo to begin your life together! I am happy to see that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your comments with Doug at our Front Desk. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a clean, decent, reasonably priced place to sleep while we visited area attractions during the day AND we didn't want to pay for parking. This Marriott location offered even more than that. Every encounter with its friendly staff was positive. Our room and the dining area overlook a beautifully landscaped, peaceful duck pond, and a shopping center offering many dining options is a short walk away. Although breakfast wasn't included, for our purposes we felt like we received excellent value and would stay there again under similar circumstances in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the duck pond. It's lovely and the alternative is the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're looking for just a room to stay in with some peace and quiet this is a great spot. Located out in the suburbs of San Diego the rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly and most of all the place is quiet. Has a lake in the back of the hotel for some additional ambiance. The rate was very reasonable. There's a little bistro in the main area for you to buy coffee and some light breakfast in the morning. Some computers for you printout boarding passes or printout online tickets. Location is a little further out if you want to go to downtown San Diego, takes about a 30 minute drive to get there.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor or with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very, very reasonable rate -- only because I made it a couple weeks in advance -- for a property that was sold out on a Saturday night with USC and all their goofy red-clad fans in town for the NU Bowl Game. Special thanks to Francesa at the Front Desk for taking such good care of us, a couple of Hilton Honors Diamond members trying out the competition. We liked what we saw!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Address: 11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
Courtyard Rancho Bernardo
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.