We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 2 night stay, disappointed amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #124 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good 2 night stay, disappointed amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall it wasn't too bad except when we asked for two extra blankets we only received one. When the housekeepers came to clean they took all 5 of our towels and only replaced them with three. This was not acceptable due to the fact that we had 3 small children with us. Once settled into our room, we received an upmost unwelcome guest: ANOTHER HOTEL GUEST. This hotel double booked and KEYED our room. My wife was breastfeeding and a stranger walked into our room. This is entirely unacceptable. Hotel management was informed, and an apology was given. In my opinion not enough considering it was a Courtyard by Marriott! It was unfortunate there was no continental breakfast even though this was known before check-in. Bed: Comfortable king size bed. Clean covers, fresh scent, pillows were clean and smelled great. There was pull out single sized pull out bed from the chair. Yes I said chair, NOT couch. There were spare pillows in the closet as extras.
Bathroom: Shower only in this room. We were disappointed because this was not shared with us until we were in the room. There was a single sink. The normal were also there for use like shampoo, conditioner and soap. Hair dryer also as standard. There was also a single serve coffee pot (stainless steel.)
Entertainment: There was a 32" flat screen TV with cable. Wireless internet was free, but very slow. Note: wireless was free for basic surfing. ie: Facebook, google, Myspace, ect. These small, non memory intensive sites are included. HOWEVER, if you wanted video chat, HD Skype, or other business needs, you would need to pay $3.99/stay for this upgraded internet.
Comfort: There was AC in this room to help keep us cool and remove some of the humidity. There was a digital thermostat. Staff must turn off the AC before you arrive, because it was humid and warm when you enter.
Overall: Hotel is worth the price. I suggest requesting a twin Queen room if you are traveling with a family or a couple that doesn't share the same bed. A King sized room with 2 adults and 3 small children didn't suit us. We would stay here again but with a different room choice.

Room Tip: This hotel has free wifi, but only basis, low MB/s service. The higher tiered service is a cost of...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were low flow faucets to help conserve water. As Arizona residents, we understand the conservation methods implemented by California. Hotel did just that. I am sure there were services available for enviro-friendly practices, but they were not readily noticed.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. While I'm glad that you were happy enough to return in the future, I am profoundly sorry for the fact that we checked another guest into your room. This is unacceptable and I am very sorry. Please contact me if you feel there is anything I can do to make it right for you and your family. I'll be sure to share you comments with our staff so we can be sure to continue to improve our service for each future guest!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We live about 2 hours away from this area and decided to stay here so we can get an early start the next day for our visit to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park.

We arrived about 1 1/2 hrs early, prior to the 4pm check in time and had reservations for 3 rooms. They were able to check us in. However, one of the rooms was occupied when we opened the door. It's one of those things you hope doesn't happen to you and only see on TV or in the movies. Luckily, nothing really embarassing happened. Just awkward. Turns out there was something wrong with their computer system. But, it was resolved quickly and they offered us 2 free breakfasts.

This hotel is a bit older and a bit dated. But, rooms were clean, roomy and the air conditioner was quiet. Also included a microwave, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. If your room faces the pool, don't worry, their windows keep out the noise pretty well.

The lounge area is very large with a couple large TV monitors and lots of seating. The pool is great for kids with the shallowest point at 3 feet. There's also a jacuzzi. This property also has very nice grounds with a pond, small bridge, and a lot of ducks walking around.

There's no room service at this hotel. So we had breakfast in the hotel's lounge area. It's set up like a cafe. Order your food, get a table number, and they bring the food to your table. We had a fairly large group of 8 and ordered almost everything on their menu. It was all really good!

This location is only about a 15 minute drive to the San Diego Safari Zoo.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Christine,

I am so sorry for the incident you experienced at check-in. In the future we'll be sure to leave that scene for TV and the movies and not for our guests. I'm happy to read that the rest of your stay with us was pleasant. While our hotel may be a bit "seasoned", we're very proud of the recent renovation of the property and believe our hotel is an excellent example of an older hotel that has found new life within the Courtyard brand.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

So it's a long way to the bay, especially in traffic (30-45 minutes), but worth it. Friendly, helpful staff, Starbucks, free parking, high end civilization here. And like all Marriott's I have stayed at, it is very comfortable. Golf courses nearby, just about anything you want, pool, food, and a well deserved rest. If Frank S. likes it, it's gotta be good. The staff makes this place work for me. Free WiFi

Room Tip: Second floor, actually, any room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Water restrictors, but you wouldn't know it. Low volume toilets. Drought resistant plants
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
I'm so glad to see that "Frank S likes" the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo!. Thank you so much for your remarks regarding your stay with us. We are very happy that our service and product made such a positive impression during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stay over 80 nights a year at Marriott properties. From Fairfield to JW Marriott.

Marriott Courtyard's in general are targeted at the business and up-scale vacation market.
While not a Marriott proper, Courtyards are always a good choice for me for value and location.

But this Courtyard is better. The facility and the surrounding area.

Complete with all the upgrades that all Courtyards have undergone, this hotel seems even more upscale. The rooms especially the suites are superb. The food was great. The pool area is popular so ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel !

Room Tip: The pool is always active in the evening - ask for opposite side away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the high praise regarding our hotel. At the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo we are proud to offer the newest Courtyard amenities throughout our public space and rooms including the new Bistro. At the same time, we take great pride in being unique. We're all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you need a hotel in the area either for business or for a quick stay. The hotel has good size rooms and very clean. Hotel has a pool in the back. It also has a cafe downstairs that serves coffee, deserts, pastries, etc and also serves alcohol drinks. The cafe has good amount of tables and patio outside where you can sit and enjoy the view of the little lake right next to the hotel. They also served free breakfast daily. Free WIFI. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the little lake in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I appreciate you praise for the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo. We are especially proud of our new Bistro and I'm glad to see that our guests are enjoying the selection and comfortable environment that it provides. While I cannot take credit for the lovely Webb Park adjacent to our outdoor patio and pool area, I am happy to know that you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Ok, so I have visited a lot of hotels while traveling for both my daughters different soccer teams. This hotel is definitely not a vacation destination, but it is perfect for anyone who needs to be in that location for any kind of event. The rooms are really nice, the patio is gorgeous, and they let you bring in food from outside and eat it/serve it in the hotel's main hospitality room. However, if you choose to order food there, it's pretty darn good. This is a good place to stay if you're in that area.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We believe that the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo is an excellent value for guests traveling to sports tournaments and we are happy to have the opportunity to host a lot of them. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your team again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in San Diego North area and this ranks as one of the best. Clean, quite well lit rooms. Beautiful surrounding. Nice pool and work out area. Only wish they had breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Pam,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Courtyard by Marriott at Rancho Bernardo! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with other. As an option in the future, we do offer rates that include breakfast on our website or through our reservations lines.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Rancho Bernardo area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Address: 11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#92 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
Courtyard Rancho Bernardo
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.