We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many negatives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #121 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Too many negatives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel three separate times. Each for approx. 3 days each so I have a good view of the hotel.

Location to my business: excellent
Parking: Too tight - waiting for an accident
Check-in: excellent - very friendly
Hallways - lobby: average
Room: WiFi very slow / Desk setup is average / TV is fair - not enough channels and poor room location

Bed is very uncomfortable with obvious wear spots. (Dips and humps)

Air Conditioner is loud and inconsistent. More than once I have witnessed maintenance hauling broken units off of the elevator.

Bathroom: Water pressure is very good. Shower head is aimed at my chest in every room I have been assign (three different rooms). All tile in tub has surface mold in the grout.

Breakfast: Courtyard has adopted this unorthodox breakfast area where you order and from a counter as in McDonalds and the meal is brought to you I usually sat on a large couch. The meals are VERY GOOD and of pretty good value. Again - very nice people. Every day they are running 10-15 minutes late opening the service.

Came back to my room tonight and the room had not been serviced - no - the do not disturb sign was not on the door.

Unfortunately too many other things wrong with this hotel to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel - this one is nothing to spend money on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYRBGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Harper5633020,

Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review of our property! Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences you have experienced. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I would like to address your concerns.

Relative to the parking lot, we recognize that the lay out was not ideal and we did just have it re-striped in May in order provide for larger spots, and make the traffic flow better. I am hearing from many guests that it was a vast improvement over the previous layout.

Regarding the WiFi, our speed currently exceeds the brand standard, however we recognize that our guests want faster internet. We are in in the process of another upgrade that will hopefully be rolled out in August!

I am sorry that you found mattress to be uncomfortable. I usually hear great things about our beds, and would love to speak with you so I can further research the specific rooms you stayed in. The same thing goes for the bathroom cleanliness issues you mentioned.

I also apologize that our housekeeping department missed the opportunity to service your room during your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team cleans guest rooms between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. During our extremely busy/peak season right now, we are not able to service all guests early in the day, however we are pleased to honor any special requests relative to a specific cleaning time frame. If you came back after 6:00 p.m. and your room still wasn't cleaned, then that was a definite miss on our part and again, I apologize.

Due to the design and original architecture of our building, we do have some challenges with our air conditioning. Our maintenance team though does react immediately to rectify any guest concerns with the a/c and we are usually able to fix any issues quite quickly.

Our shower heads are very low as you mentioned. Unfortunately due to the way the building was built, there is not an easy fix permanent fix for this. We do however offer a shower head extender and can install that quickly to raise the height of the shower head for you.

Hopefully I have been able to address your concerns and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further. Please call me at 858-613-2000 or email kmaola@dimdev.com.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
10
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

PROS: Free wireless connection, clean room, king bed, nice decor (typical of most Marriott designs), pull out couch, flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, and microwave. The pillows were very comfortable! There was also a pond in the back for a nice relaxing stroll. The price ($109 per night) was also very reasonable!

CONS: No towels or shampoo were provided upon arrival, but they were promptly delivered once we made a call to the front desk.

OVERALL: We stayed our first two nights in a Motel 6 to be closer to the beach, so this Marriott room was by far a huge upgrade in terms of luxury, comfort, and style.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYRBGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very glad to hear that you thought our hotel was clean & comfortable and also glad you got an opportunity to check out our beautiful park!

Please accept my apologies for the missing towels and shampoo. I will review this with our housekeeping manager so she is aware of the issue. I am glad we were able to get these items for you quickly once reported to the front desk.

We thank you for choosing Marriott and appreciate your business! Hope to see you again soon the next time travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and they provided free wi-fi and breakfast. the breakfast was better than most places and the rooms are spacious. It is not overwhelming and comparable to most average hotels. It was conveniently close to the office but you have to drive down a small street to get to the hotel. No significant complaints or compliments. Overall it is just an average hotel. Comfortable, clean and affordable.

Room Tip: room closer to elevator or lobby, otherwise it's a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here only one night for a wedding and it was great as the Marriott is supposed to be. I asked for early check in when I booked the room and it was ready earlier than I asked for! The front desk staff is so nice and the facilities alone are super nice. The bed was huge and comfortable, didn't go into the pool but there were many people in it. The room was a great size and check out was quick and easy. There's a Starbucks inside as well for anyone grabbing a quick coffee before they head out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYRBGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Angelica,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize our exceptional customer service! Our associates will be extremely pleased to read your comments. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon the next time travels bring you to Rancho Bernardo.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo

Address: 11611 Bernardo Plaza Court, San Diego, CA 92128
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
Courtyard Rancho Bernardo
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.