We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #50 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I eat at the hotel restaurant on a regular basis. We thoroughly enjoy Chef Douglas' food and the fine service we receive from Ruben and Ricardo at Panzimini. This is not a trip. We live in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    377
    93
    26
    15
See reviews for
180
271
37
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The stay at this hotel was great. From the time I made my reservation on the phone when they beat any online price. To the Valet guys who did an amazing job and showed professionalism and respect to me and my family, I wish I could afford to tip them what they deserved. We had always wanted to stay in this hotel since we travel to San Diego 1-2 times a year. Now it will be our go to place.


Only CON is how expensive WiFi is considering the price of the room I think it should be free

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Selected this property for its location and it did not disappoint.... Walking distances to restaurants nightlife, Broadway pier to catch the ferry to Coronado Island, walk to Seaport Village, mall next door for shopping or picking up cheap food in its food court...

We used the concierge service daily and each time was met with helpful and courteous staff... Was even assisted in getting a rental for a day at the cost of $35 which included delivery to hotel and pick up at end of day.... Amazing value considering valet parking is $40/day...

Was very pleased with room, service and location of this property... Would definitely recommend...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay there was wonderful customer service,staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, rooms were nice, comfortable, very clean. The only thing I didn't like wasvthe price of parking in the garage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear dsecrease03,

We definitely have the perfect location and easy access to just about anything from the nighlife you mentioned, to shopping, theaters, dining... the list goes on and on! We hope the next time you are down from Sacramento you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

After having been to the Westin Sydney Harbour I expected more from this one. The hotel is rightly located in downtown San Diego close to everything. However the cleanliness of my room wasn't up to standard and suffering from asthma, I struggle with animal friendly rooms/hotels

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear nlarue,

Thank you for staying with us last May. As you mentioned, we are very conveniently located in the heart of downtown San Diego and close to everything you could want. From shopping to night life to just simply relaxing by the bay – we’ve got it all! While it is true that we are a dog friendly hotel, we also have numerous “pet-free” floors for our guests.

We hope you will consider returning someday so we will have the opportunity to help you recreate a memorable experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

AC machine is very noisy. location is good, shopping, restaurant are very close. 20 minutes walk to the midway museum. Very friendly front desk staff. The swiming pool is not big, but feel good. My daughter enjoy it .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear duncan_jxt

I was very happy to read that your daughter enjoyed our pool! I was also pleased to read that your encounters with our front desk staff were memorable. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back someday.

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Loved the room and location.We are Gold Members so enjoyed the late check out option. The bed were comfortable and bathroom was more than adequate. But $40 a night just to park our car????? Really??? We are already paying a pretty good amount to stay at the hotel and to pile on additional charges because you drove a car is ridiculous. That is the only reason I will not be back and the only reason for the poor rating.

Room Tip: Any rooms are nice. Be sure to call about 5 minutes before leaving room so valet can retrieve your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear David M,

First I'd like to thank you for being a loyal customer and member of the Starwood Preferred Guest program. As a Gold member, I am glad you have taken advantage of the late checkout benefit so that you can enjoy your room and the local attractions a little longer. We are so conveniently located and within walking distance to most attractions that parking is at a premium in downtown San Diego. However, I hope that because of our location, you were able to avoid taxi cab fares or having to pay for parking at additional lots while out and about.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#33 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
W San Diego
W San Diego
#99 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#7 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.