We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location, rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #52 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great service, location, rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Superb Westin service. Great location right next to Horton Plaza and walking distance to lots of downtown attractions around the Gaslamp District. Great restaurants within a short stone's throw. Rooms are updated, clean and well kept. Short ride from the airport and only a $10-ish Uber ride to Balboa Park area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    355
    87
    26
    13
See reviews for
170
248
35
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Westin Gas Lamp is a very nice hotel with all the amenities. I was at the hotel attending a conference and everything was well run and the food pretty to boot. Nice lobby and bar and an OK, if smallish, exercise room (but it is available 24/7). The rooms were also well appointed (ah but no minibar) and everything worked. Internet charges were not appreciated, though.

Room Tip: Shoot for a higher floor to get better views and limit the noise from the trains.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel had an ecofriendly policy of providing. extra points if you had limited room cleaning.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice, clean room. Comfortable bed. The pool is small but enjoyable.

The valet parking is expensive at $40 per night, but they do a really great job. They are friendly and very quick and efficient. We forgot something in the car twice. The first time, they got what we needed from the car and brought it to our room. The second time, we asked them to bring the car up so we could search the car for it.

Great location. Adjacent to the Horton Plaza. Walking distance to Petco Park. Plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. Also 7-11 and CVS a short walk away, which is nice if you want to stock up on snacks or if you forget something at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

As a long time Platinum SPG member, I stay at lots of Westins and other SPG properties. First time staying at this hotel, and very pleased. I really like the Westin classic renovation that occurred in 2012. Fast and friendly valet, easy check in, welcoming lobby with lots of comfortable seating, bar area, and coffee shop. You are right in the middle of the city. Parking of $40 was high, and disappointed that no upgraded room was available. Nevertheless, room was modern, quiet, all was clean, and I will stay here agin whenever in San Diego.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear PAQ,

So glad you tried us for the first time and were pleased with your stay! As a Platinum SPG member, you’re already well aware of the many benefits the program has to offer and I want to thank you for your long time loyalty to Starwood.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the West Coast. Until then…

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the airport and all the fun things going on in the Gaslamp Quarter. I found it to be very clean and comfortable. The hall way network to find your room is very different, but it is manageable. Just don't forget your way! The room did have a leaking faucet and a clogged sink drain. But it was overall minor. The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the fact that they engaged me while walking to and from our conference room. I did stay here on business and had it been me paying for it I may have shopped around a little. Only because this place isn't cheap, however for the location, it is expected. Overall, I did really enjoy the stay and I think if your in the area, give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear dkbrig,

Being just 3 miles from the airport and right in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, you’re certainly right when you say our location is convenient! We’re also within walking distance of the Convention Center, theaters, shopping, night life… the list goes on and on. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending other do so too.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to San Diego!

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We opted to stay at this property based on what I had read here. We have been SPG Gold members for 6 years & own 2 Starwood vacation villas. This was honestly our worst experience at a Starwood Property. When we checked in, the front desk agent was rude & would only offer us a mid level room upgrade with a view of the roof of Horton Plaza. I spoke to a different agent about a different room but was told there was none better. This was despite the fact that on the hotel website, there was both bay view rooms & suites available to reserve for our dates when I checked that afternoon. The room was small with 2 full size beds, not exactly what I expected from a Westin. On our second day, I called for our car from the valet before going downstairs. Despite this, we still waited almost 15 minutes for our car while others presented their cards to the window & were serviced first. We also did not receive housekeeping services on our second day. We had been at the safari park all day & returned around 6:30pm hoping to take a shower to refresh. When I called about this & voiced my displeasure about the service, I was offered 200 points for all my troubles but asked for a different room instead. I was again refused.
The only bright point of our stay was when Gabriel printed my sea world tickets since the printer in the business center in the lobby was broken while we were there.
On our next trip to San Diego we will definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear neuromri,

First of all, thank you very much for your loyalty to Starwood. As a vacation villa owner and an SPG Gold member, I am sure you are aware that we always try to do our best to provide our guests with the best possible accommodations. We are also dedicated to delivering stellar service, such as what you experienced with Gabe.

The next time your schedule includes a return trip to San Diego, I hope you will consider staying with us again so we may have the opportunity to create a more memorable experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family over the 4th of July weekend.The staff here is wonderful!! Very fun,friendly and accommodating!! The hotel is well located in San Diego, allowing us to walk everywhere we needed to go. Buffet breakfast was delicious! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.