We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Alturas, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family over the 4th of July weekend.The staff here is wonderful!! Very fun,friendly and accommodating!! The hotel is well located in San Diego, allowing us to walk everywhere we needed to go. Buffet breakfast was delicious! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    279
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
198
31
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this property over July 4th weekend. After checking around this was one of the better priced hotels within the area. It was well located in the heart of the Gaslamp sitting next to several restaurants, a mall, and a CVS. It also was close to the I-5 which made it very easy to get around the area when visiting.

We picked the Executive King which was large and had a decent size fridge in the room. It also had a large patio that was one of the largest we have ever had connected to a hotel room. Overall the room was clean. We noticed a small spider on the bed the day of checkout but no other issues during our stay.

The staff was very friendly specially the valet staff which we saw everyday. On some days it seemed to take longer than we expected getting our car but when the staff noticed us waiting they apologized, offered us water, and tried to get our car to us quickly. You can call ahead to the valet desk to have your car ready, but we were not told of this option until halfway through our visit.

Although the staff was great, paying $40 a day for valet was disappointing, and quashed the pretty good(in comparison to that weekend) rate we had. We saw a self parking garage across the street for $20.

Overall, other that the price for parking we enjoyed our stayed and would return on a future trip.

Room Tip: Park at the garage across the street for half the price.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offered an incentive for not having room service daly which I thought was a great idea.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are dated. Small with small beds. There is very little art in the rooms & the only lighting was a single bedside lamp & fluorescent bathroom lighting. Not the usual Westin standard by my experience. We are SPG Gold level but were only given a mid level room with only a view of the roof of Horton Plaza. We wish we could have stayed elsewhere but it's hard to find a room in SD on a moments notice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Neuromri511
I was disappointed to read that you felt our rooms missed the mark. I can assure you that all our beds are standard king or double size and the rooms are actually a bit larger when compared to other downtown hotels in major cities and to other hotels here in San Diego. The lighting options include the bedside lamps you mentioned, in addition to a floor lamp, desk lamp and pinpoint reading lights built right into the headboard for guest convenience.

Throughout the hotel you will find many works of art in addition to the living Vertical Garden located in the lobby where guests are encouraged to relax and recharge.

I hope you will consider a return trip as I feel we have much more to offer than your recent experience.

Be well,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I rarely write reviews but this was such an incredible/unforgettable stay that I simply had to say something. I just came back from a 2.5 weeks vacation so I apologize for the delay! I stayed here for 2 nights June 20-22. Before I had even step foot on properly I received a surprising phone call from (FD) Jeremy. He simply called to ask about specific rooms I wanted for my mini family reunion/ bday trip that to me is unheard of, clearly its a great start. I drove 6hrs from Phoenix to San Diego and when I finally arrived at The Westin my family and I were greeted by the valet and lead to lobby to check in with the kind and gracious Hitomi ( FD Agent). Her welcome into the Hotel made me feel like I was home, she treated my family and me as if we were long time friends. Again the staff was 2 for 2!! Later in the evening I headed down to the restaurant to place a carry out order and the gentleman whom greeted me and my sister was the restaurant supervisor ( I wish I knew his name) he was great and attentive. So thank you Sir for taking great care of us. Again Hitomi and Jeremy without Staff as you, I doubt my stay would have been great and memorable so Thank you!!

Also the make a green choice is a great option, and housekeeping was wonderful about providing us with extra towels and toiletries.

Room Tip: The bay view is not only nice it is also a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: without such personable and friendly staff I doubt this would really impacted my stay. Great job!!!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ambegue,

What an awesome review! I was thrilled to read about your experience and want to thank you for taking the time to post this. For us, creating great memories is what "it's all about" and I can’t wait to share your story with the staff, and particularly with Jeremy and Hitomi.

We’ll be waiting to welcome you back the next time you make the drive over from Phoenix. Until then…

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I recently spent 10 nights at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter ( from June 25 - July 5 ). As a Starwood "Preferred Guest," check in was a breeze, assisted by the gracious and very personable Assistant Front Desk Manager Jeremy. I was quickly taken to a very nicely appointed room on the top ( 16th floor ) floor, with partial views of the Bay and very good amenities, including that unbeatable Westin "Heavenly Bed!" Because the hotel is "pet-friendly," for three nights I shared my room with a 110lb Cane Corso ( Italian Mastiff ) named Lula, who I co-own with a dear local friend. And they even provided a large "Heavenly Dog Bed" for her. I must also commend the Concierge, Marina, for going the distance in every request I made, from making an appointment at the Department of Motor Vehicles to giving me recommendations and "insider" tips of great local restaurants! And the Housekeeping service, as provided by the lovely lady who serviced my room during the majority of my stay--Luisa--was as good as any FIVE STAR LUXURY HOTEL I've stayed in around the globe!! Though the rooms may be in need of some "updating"--particularly the seventies-looking bathrooms, I give this excellent hotel two big THUMBS UP if you're visiting "America's Finest City!"

Room Tip: Become a Starwood "Preferred Guest" and you'll automatically get a room on the top ( 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everyone was so helpful. Rooms were adequate and large. The servers in the breakfast buffet area were wonderful...Concierge was knowledgeable and the front desk check was a breeze. Valet parkers were prompt and friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just one night here on the 4th July at the end of our SouthWest holiday. Great welcome, and a surprise upgrade with a view to the bay (and fireworks!). I had to fly out early the next day but the concierge was a great help with getting a cab. Meanwhile my wife was given a late check-out and loved the pool. Thanks to everyone for giving us a great, if short, stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear roos1ter,

You’re very welcome! Hopefully your next trip will be a little longer and you’ll get the opportunity to experience everything our great location has to offer. Theater, dining, shopping, sightseeing, day-trips to wine country, sporting events, night life… whatever your interests are, there’s something nearby!

We hope to welcome you back someday.

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.