We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms could be better maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #54 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms could be better maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We chose this hotel because of our Starwood membership and were expecting at least the smallest upgrade as gold members. None offered. The hotel is in a great gaslamp district location. Rooms could surely use a refurb, especially the bathrooms where our tubspout was 2 inches off the wall. All in all I would return given a good deal on rate.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    356
    88
    26
    13
See reviews for
170
249
35
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but when you receive superior service at a top-flight location, it seems proper. Stayed at the Westin for a conference recently. It is San Diego, and the weather is always amazing, so it's tough to have a miserable time. The service was superior from the Westin staff. In particular, a sweet desk clerk named Marina brightened my day. She greets you with a huge, sparkling smile and she goes above and beyond to help. In additiion, the rooms are incredibly comfortable. The beds are so comfy it's tough to get up in the morning. The shower is so soothing. The hotel is also in a great location. Lots of fun places and restaurants surrounding the property. All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything was very clean. I assume they are environmentally safe.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ted H,

I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your experience with us! And I will be sure Marina knows how much she contributed to your wonderful stay. I hope the next time you are down this way we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent a week at the Westin Gaslamp. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Connected to the Westfield Mall and very close to lots of great restaurants on 4th and 5th street. The Trolley stop is located very close & it is only a 15 minute walk to Seaport Village or the Convention Center. I don't think you can beat this location.

Room Tip: Great Harbor view from the 15th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
1dearolddad,
Yes, we do have great location in the heart of the gaslamp district. In San Diego, it is hard to beat our location as you said. However, location alone will not be enough. I feel we have better service staff in San Diego as well. Best service staff coupled with our location, we will be ready to welcome you back to our hotel when your schedule includes San Diego again.

Sincerely,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Here for a conference at the convention center, this hotel is a bit of a haul, but I appreciated the non-touristy conveniences around it. Shopping center at Horton Plaza has been resurrected and is very nice, food court and CVS right outside your hotel. Also was happy to see my old business trip standbys of Panera Bread on one side and Specialty's on the other. And 24 hour Ralphs across the street. Room was nice, but a little dirty, and I am not one to notice that usually but I found an advil on the floor that wasnt mine and then when I picked it up it clearly had not been properly vacuumed. The pool area was disappointing. But I have been disappointed by most downtown pools so far, don't expect much. Would much rather enjoy the sun over on Coronado or at Mission Bay than downtown SD anyway. All staff was very nice and accommodating. Business center access was very handy, right out in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
EHS_7,
We are ideally located to provide convenience to all of our guests regardless of their purpose of visit. Close to a shopping mall and to the harbor, close to the convention center and to the Gaslamp district. All within walking distance. I would also like to promote our friendly associates who goes out of thier way to ensure the best experience.
Please come visit us again next time and we will make it even better experience for you.

Sincerely,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

........ I say almost because our room was on the fifth floor at the front of the building and the street noise was a bit of a 'pain'.
That said, the room was large, light, nicely furnished with a huge extremely comfortable bed.
The hotel's position is excellent. We were only here for two nights following a two week cruise and wanted to see some of San Diego and from the Gaslamp Quarter we could explore on foot but could go further afield courtesy of a good transport/tram system and taxis.
Although mainly a business hotel we found the staff extremely helpful. A special mention MUST be made for the concierge staff who were extremely helpful. One particular lady organised tickets for the zoo and advised us as to the best way to get to Coronada Island. She was a star. She was extremely complimentary about our group, 43 Brits, having a blast.
The Westin us well worth considering as a base for discovering San Diego.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We loved this hotel. We stayed with our 2 children ages 8 and 11. It was in a great location and the service was top notch.The kids loved the pool and spa. The rooms were so nice and comfortable. The Employees were always friendly, courteous and knowledgable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Westin Gas Lamp Quarter is San Diego's best downtown hotel. Located next to the Horton Plaza, everything that downtown San Diego has to offer is within walking distance. The hotel is a ten minute cab ride from the airport and once there you will never need a car. The rooms are spacious and well kept and the staff is responsive to your every need. The restaurant and the bar area are convenient and reasonably priced. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Room Tip: Choose a bay side room on the upper floors for maximum views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green program is solidly in place. Even the soaps are green and shaped like leaves.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.