We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free In-Room WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No Free In-Room WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

It's true: there is no free in room Wi-Fi at the Gaslamp Westin. For that reason I cannot give this hotel a five star rating, which it would otherwise deserve. Free WiFi should be a given at a hotel
like this. The room was spotless; the bathroom elegant and clean; the staff very friendly. And what a deal! We paid $135 a night for our visit; not bad for Labor Day weekend.

We'd stay here again, but let's hope that next time the Wi-Fi is free.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Steven F,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I just wanted to mention that we do offer free wi-fi throughout our lobby area. However, we also have several room packages that do include free wi-fi within your guestroom. Talk about a deal! So next time you're booking a reservation, be sure to ask about these packages. We'd certainly love to welcome you back... and get a five star rating!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were at the Westin Gaslamp for a conference and work shop I attend every year through my employment. Our group hasn't always selected good locations or properties, so each year is a wait and see experience.

Last year we stayed at a Westin in Denver. It was above average, so I was hoping for at least the same this year.

The Westin Gaslamp is well appointed and conveniently located to dining and shopping. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the meeting space more than adequate.

What stood out was the service. Everyone was very attentive and proactive to assist. From the parking valets to the bellmaen to the front desk to the housekeeping staff. I will single out in particular Paul, a bellman, who gave me his card when he brought up our bags and asked us to call on him if we needed any assistance. In fact we did get helpful information from him several times during our stay.

I have noticed in recent years that the larger hotel chains - such as Westin, Hyatt, Klimpton, Omni, and Ritz Carlton - appear to be working hard at customer service. Apparently they realize that a clean and comfortable room is a baseline, a given, for any satisfactory experience, and customer service is what will make the difference between an average and outstanding stay. And, at times, prompt and effective customer service can overcome shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Eagle 1949,

I couldn't agree more! Stellar customer service can make all the difference in the world. So needless to say, I was very happy to read that you found the staff, Paul in particular, to be attentive and proactive throughout your stay. We work very hard to ensure all our guests leave the hotel with a memorable experience - and the desire to return again soon!

Best,


Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Couldn't be better located for the Gaslamp Quarter. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Tom who patiently answered all of my many questions. Spacious rooms with good facilities. Thouroughly recommended. If we ever come back to San Diego again we will definitely stay here. Only minor niggle was the charge for WiFi. 15 minutes free per day then you have to pay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. The welcome from the door staff and the reception was good and the car was valet parked during our stay. The rooms were bright and airy, although they were probably renovated some years ago. Coffee facilities available in the room. 2 large beds easily accommodated a family of 3.
The bar area was pleasant with attentive staff. We did not use the dining facilities. WIFI was not free and was chargeable on a 24 hour basis.
The pool area was small with limited sun beds, but we only used this facility for an hour or so.
Great location for the shopping centre and close to lots of bars and restaurants, although they were quite pricey.
Overall great for a short city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. The staff is very professional and friendly.

It is located in the gaslamp district, within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Our room was really nice and definitely worth the price. The in room dining menu has some really good items on it.

The concierge is definitely worth taking advantage off, as they will let you know about all the local deals.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anshu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I lived in San Diego for years and came back for a 2 day trip with my husband. This hotel is in a great location if you want to stay in the Gaslamp. But - the clientele "hanging around" the hotel is "iffy". The lobby is very busy with lots of folks hanging about. The parking is also a challenge - when asked where to park, the valet simply told us to circle around and look for a garage. It was $20 per night. The service was very good though - very high end and the hotel staff is the best you can get. If you want to stay in Gaslamp, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Brandis K

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are incredibly proud of our attentive team whom as you noted are the best. Being in the heart of downtown San Diego gives us the unique opportunity of being in the center of it all. We look forward to your next 2 day trip so that we may host you again.

Until next time…

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Westin is ideally located within easy walking distance of the mall, restaurants, nightclubs and other attractions in the Gaslamp Quarter. The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin. What you DON'T EXPECT is the outrageous parking fee. I know almost all of the downtown hotels charge parking, but $35 dollars per night is a little steep. Because of this, although the hotel was nice, I will never stay there again. There are other hotels in the area that charge less or stay by the harbor just a mile or so away and jump on the trolley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Joan G

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and the ease of being able to walk to so many different things. The Gaslamp Quarter has over 100 restaurants in addition to numerous shops and nightclubs - so it’s perfect for everyone’s tastes!

We do offer room packages that include complimentary breakfast, parking and more. Our overnight parking fee is competitive with other downtown hotels, and in some cases, lower than similar hotels. Perhaps you might find one of these packages preferable and would consider giving us an opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip. We’d love to see you again!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,259 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing