We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in a busy part of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in a busy part of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. The welcome from the door staff and the reception was good and the car was valet parked during our stay. The rooms were bright and airy, although they were probably renovated some years ago. Coffee facilities available in the room. 2 large beds easily accommodated a family of 3.
The bar area was pleasant with attentive staff. We did not use the dining facilities. WIFI was not free and was chargeable on a 24 hour basis.
The pool area was small with limited sun beds, but we only used this facility for an hour or so.
Great location for the shopping centre and close to lots of bars and restaurants, although they were quite pricey.
Overall great for a short city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    270
    61
    18
    11
See reviews for
135
190
30
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. The staff is very professional and friendly.

It is located in the gaslamp district, within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Our room was really nice and definitely worth the price. The in room dining menu has some really good items on it.

The concierge is definitely worth taking advantage off, as they will let you know about all the local deals.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I lived in San Diego for years and came back for a 2 day trip with my husband. This hotel is in a great location if you want to stay in the Gaslamp. But - the clientele "hanging around" the hotel is "iffy". The lobby is very busy with lots of folks hanging about. The parking is also a challenge - when asked where to park, the valet simply told us to circle around and look for a garage. It was $20 per night. The service was very good though - very high end and the hotel staff is the best you can get. If you want to stay in Gaslamp, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Brandis K

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are incredibly proud of our attentive team whom as you noted are the best. Being in the heart of downtown San Diego gives us the unique opportunity of being in the center of it all. We look forward to your next 2 day trip so that we may host you again.

Until next time…

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Westin is ideally located within easy walking distance of the mall, restaurants, nightclubs and other attractions in the Gaslamp Quarter. The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin. What you DON'T EXPECT is the outrageous parking fee. I know almost all of the downtown hotels charge parking, but $35 dollars per night is a little steep. Because of this, although the hotel was nice, I will never stay there again. There are other hotels in the area that charge less or stay by the harbor just a mile or so away and jump on the trolley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Joan G

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and the ease of being able to walk to so many different things. The Gaslamp Quarter has over 100 restaurants in addition to numerous shops and nightclubs - so it’s perfect for everyone’s tastes!

We do offer room packages that include complimentary breakfast, parking and more. Our overnight parking fee is competitive with other downtown hotels, and in some cases, lower than similar hotels. Perhaps you might find one of these packages preferable and would consider giving us an opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip. We’d love to see you again!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for a conference in August. Good location next to a mall and you can walk to Gaslamp restaurants, San Diego Convention center (10-15 min). Rooms were very big and clean. Property was well kept. Had a bit of an issue with Check In....really long lines, took forever. Other than that the stay was really pleasant. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear JPBJMB

We do have a great location! And as you mentioned, not only within steps of the Gaslamp Quarter but also just a quick refreshing walk to the Convention Center, and Petco Park too! We think this is the best of both worlds. Whether here on business or pleasure, the ease of access to whatever is on the agenda is undeniable!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Typical Westin experience and comfort...convenient location to walk the Gas Lamp Quarter. The Horton mall is right next door, if that excites you. Our room had an unfortunate view of the office building across the street, but I guess that's city living for you. There must be a fire station nearby, as I heard the EMS sirens all night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayston, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a beautiful, clean hotel with always friendly service from the time you walked in until the time you left. it is attached to the Horton Plaza mall (gave you something to do in the evenings) and a few blocks walk to the convention center. The beds were heavenly, just as they described, and I was lucky to get a room on the top floor with a bay view. The pool was nice, always clean and always a chair available. Sunny pool in the afternoons helped after a long day of conferences. Yes, elevators were sometimes slow but that didn't ruin my stay. There is a Panera right across the courtyard from the hotel and the Gaslamp District was only a few short blocks away. I'd totally stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

Room Tip: Try to book a higher floor bay view room - nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lisa S,

Wonderful to hear how you enjoyed your recent stay with us and took full advantage of all the hotel and our great location have to offer. Being attached to the Westfield Shopping & Entertainment mall is certainly a plus! Along with many specialty stores, the mall is anchored with a Nordstrom and Macy’s – in addition to movie theaters and even day spas! Then again, as you mentioned, it’s always nice to just be able to relax by our pool with a cool drink in hand.

If your travels ever bring you out to San Diego again, we’d love the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.