We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway before a wedding in Temecula. This is a great property with even better location. All the restaurants, bars, and shopping you could want. Brians 24 is a great spot for breakfast. Bell staff is excellent. I also really enjoyed the workout facility. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
kevin k

I’m glad to know you and your wife enjoyed your weekend getaway! Sounds like you took full advantage of not only our location but the hotel’s amenities too. With guests being able to access our fitness studio 24 hours a day, there’s always time to fit in a workout and it’s nice to know you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    252
    57
    16
    11
See reviews for
123
181
28
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stay at the Westin Gaslamp for a 6 days last week and had an amazing experience. From check-in to check-out, I received nothing but exceptional and welcoming service. The pool was amazing, the rooms we're beyond what I expected and again, the staff was extremely hospitable. Notable mentions to Kevin, the bellhop, and another gentleman bellhop, who's name I forgot who explained his "passion for love"! I opted out of my room service for the majority of the trip to be more "green", however, when I did need my room refreshed, Amelia was very kind and did a superb job. There are plenty of things to do in the area, it's a great location, central to everything. Great restos/bar for night life.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Sakeena N

I couldn’t have said it better myself! We do have a beautiful location and San Diego is definitely a beautiful city. It was wonderful to read that your weeklong stay with us was an amazing experience and the service you received throughout was exceptional – especially from Kevin and the other bellmen.

I want to also thank you for participating in our Make a Green Choice Program. Sustainability is extremely important to us and I will let Amelia know that you appreciated her assistance and the superb job she did.

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter last Thursday night. Checking in and out was seamless. I appreciate the e-receipt, very green. Hats off to Paul, the Bell Person, who gave excellent walking directions around the vicinity and driving directions when we departed. The Westin is ideally located. We walked to Petco Park and enjoyed a great Giants/Padres game. Giants won, yay. The next day we meandered around Sea Port Village, also a comfortable walk from the Westin. There is an abundance of food choices nearby. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Not really a room tip, more of a driving tip. Depending on your GPS device, the Westin is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
ergamergirl

I love the “Gaslamp Gem” description! And I was delighted to read that Paul helped you make the most of your time here. There is definitely an abundance of restaurants nearby and I hope you also had a chance to experience Pinzimini, our Italian inspired restaurant featuring creative Tuscan style entrees that are just delicious!

I was also happy to see that you appreciated receiving an e-receipt. We are very committed to doing more to consume less and have numerous programs and products in place to ensure we do our part to care for the planet.

Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently traveled to San Diego with some girlfriends to attend a San Francisco Giant's game. We stayed at the Westin in the Gaslamp district and had a wonderful time! Everyone was so kind and helpful, especially Paul, the Bellman! It was obvious by his exuberant personality, that he loves his job and working with people. He singlehandedly made our stay 100 percent better! Kudos to you for having someone like that on your staff!

Gail Shem

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Gail S

It sure sounds like you had a terrific time and a lot of fun on your girls getaway! And I was extremely pleased to read how Paul helped make your stay so memorable. Wonderful! He is one of our many superstars and I will be sure to pass along your appreciation.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for choosing Westin. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights recently & had a great experience. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, the shower had a rain head & handheld wand - nice. All the staff were very helpful & when we had a problem with our credit card at check-in, the desk clerk was very helpful. We had a great room looking over the bay. My only complaint would be the lighted mirror in the bathroom which was the only light in the room so it was a bit dark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel between June 27 and July 1st. All of the employees I encountered were very friendly and efficient. The rooms were nice and the pool was amazing although small.
The are a lot of homeless people in the area as you go towards 5th street. This is a very busy area full of nightlife but really a young crowd.
Our rates were conference rates so less expensive than regular rates. We normally stay at the Ritz when we attend conferences so this wasn't that but a nice hotel to stay at and very clean. The food and drinks were expensive but seem so in all cities that we have stayed in. We were able to walk to the waterfront which had a number of restaurants. Nice weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Attended a weekend business meeting. The accommodations were very nice. The room was clean and well equipped. Given the room setup, it was impossible to work at the desk and watch TV. The refrigerator was a very nice feature. A Ralph's grocery store is a block away and it was nice to be able to buy some drinks and snacks and have someplace to keep them.

The plumbing was a little loud and weekend partiers were loud for a while on Saturday evening. They didn't interfere with a good night's sleep on the Heavenly Bed, however.

There were lots of families at the hotel and they all seemed to be having a good time. The location is good for doing things in and around downtown San Diego.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Michael D

Nice to know that you were able to find time to enjoy our beautiful city while you were here for a weekend business meeting. Being situated in the heart of downtown and near everything from the Westfield Horton Plaza Shopping Mall to the historic Gaslamp Quarter to Petco Park where you can catch a Padre game, there is just so much to do! And of course the best part is that everything is within walking distance.

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in San Diego.

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.