We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Choice, a program with promise, but problems with consistency” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Green Choice, a program with promise, but problems with consistency”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have just returned from a 3-night stay at this hotel. There were aspects to admire and several issues that would put a return visit in great doubt. They offer an innovative, and, for me, exciting program called "Green Choice" whereby a guest can decline daily housekeeping. They reward the guest with a $5 food voucher (of course a 75 cent candy bar costs $2) or 500 Starwood points. I would make the choice with no reward, but the reward offer did come from them. I am a tidy and recycling guest in a single room who values privacy and just don't need daily room cleaning. Unfortunately it worked one night and was disregarded the second night despite a phone call to the desk to make sure that Housekeeping got the message. The apology when I called about the problem was just words...not even an offer to give the points.. and no attempt at an explanation. Second....join the 21st century: they charge a daily fee of $10 for WiFi and it's not even free in the lobby. My traveling companion chose not to stay at the Westin because the $36 a day parking fee just seems too high. My one meal was a disappointment. The hollandaise sauce was vinegary, not delicately lemon. However, the rooms are huge and clean and the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on higher floors give you an amazingly artistic view of reflections on the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
lindabyu -

Thank you for taking the time to recognize one of Westin's key "green" initiatives, Make a Green Choice. Whether you participate in the program for one night or more, depending on your length of stay, your support the significant savings to water, electricity, natural gas and chemicals. It is unfortunate the process was not flawless and I have shared your feedback with my team, to assist in the fine tuning of our processes, to ensure we deliver on the experience consistently. Thank you for your support with the program.

We do offer complimentary internet in our lobby for all our registered guests. We also have 2 workstations in the lobby that offer complimentary 15 minute use, along with complimentary boarding pass printouts.

We hope you will give our hotel another try, should your travels bring you to San Diego. We appreciate your business and value your support of our green initiative.

Kind Regards,
Keri Robinson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    220
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
105
164
23
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Disclosure- I am an habitual fan of Westin properties for the most part.

The good- great location, amazing rate- PP $150 per night, great service throughout property, staff very friendly- 5/12 6th wedding anniversary- had to spend it apart, hotel sent wine (comp) and gifts from spouse! Room, clean, new and very comfortable.

The bad- The only thing I can think of is the cost of valet parking at $38 per night- a bit over the top frankly.

In summary- Will def be back, it was a wonderful experience, exec management and entire staff should be complimented on the service and overall experience. Thank you for making a mundane business trip extra ordinary. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Rs91568

Loved hearing that you are a habitual fan of Westin properties! And I was very happy to read that our staff had a hand in the covert operation to surprise you with gifts from your spouse. I’d like to wish you a belated happy anniversary and hopefully on your next anniversary you will both be able to spend it with us!

Kind regards
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, On
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had just moved from the Del Coronado Hotel to spend our last few days in SD in the gas lamp quarter. This was such a great decision.

We loved the area, the hotel itself was really very nice and way more affordable than the Del, great location that was walking distance to more restaurants than I could eat at in two months, and they accommodated our request for an upgrade based on my wife's platinum status as a frequent visitor.

But more than all of that, the staff were friendly, professional, helpful, accommodating, and just good to deal with. Great job everybody, how you deliver makes me want to stay at your hotel the next time I go to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
JimLMarkham_On

I’d have to agree, we do have a great team of people! While our location is definitely ideal, it is very rewarding to read about the impact our team had on your stay and the lasting impression you were left with.

Thank you for the high praise and for providing TripAdvisor with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Gaslamp Quarter, hopefully soon!

Be well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

EVERYTHING about the Westin Gaslamp was perfect. I took my wife to San Diego for her birthday, and the Westin Gaslamp made it a very special ocassion. Without request, they sent strawberries with caramel and chocolate to the room. We were surprised and very appreciative of this kind gesture. The room was nicely furnished and very quiet. We had a nice view of the city from the 12th floor. The location was so convenient to the many Gaslamp restaurants in the area. Unlike other Westins with the dual showerhead, this hotel had a marvelous rain shower with great temperature and pressure. The absolute best part of staying at th Westin Gaslamp was the friendliness of every employee. From the front desk to the concierge to the bell staff, everyone met us with a smile and cheerful greeting. The car valet staff, especially, was very helpful. Our car was brought to the door quickly, and they always asked if we needed directions to where we were going. On top of this, they offered complimentary bottled water whenever we picked up the car. Thanks to the Westin Gaslamp for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
GeorgeW1111

Thank you for the delightful review - and a belated happy birthday to your wife!

It was great to read that we helped make your special celebration getaway a memorable one and we appreciate that you chose to spend it with us. I was also very pleased to know that you consider the hotel exceptional and the staff to be “the absolute best part of staying at the Westin”. Comments such as that just make my day!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Diego.

Be well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The property is recently renovated, beautifully done. Lobby and public spaces are elegant and comfortable. The bar was quiet enough to have a business conversation.

Guest rooms are beautifully done, baths especially. Soft colors and expensive materials produce a lush and restful effect. I had a crushed and stressful trip, and the quietly excellent accommodations went a long way to relieve it.

We had only appetizers at the bar, which were very good. Prices are consistent with a four star property in a major city, including parking.

The whole staff should be especially recognized for top notch service. Everyone I interacted with was genuinely friendly and outgoing, as if they liked their jobs, and by extension, me. Their consistency shows strong leadership in management and excellent training behind the scenes.

Other reviewers note the property's excellent location and amenities. It is convenient for numerous activities, attractions and events. There is a bit of construction going on at Horton Plaza next door, but this is temporary and effects minimal.

I had a very pleasant stay and will return. I am giving five stars since the property and amenities met expectations, but the staff exceeded my expectations thoroughly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Specmonkey

I was delighted to read your description of the hotel as being excellent and our staff “the tops”. A rating of 5 stars all around is certainly very rewarding!

It is also nice to know you enjoyed the beautiful modern design throughout the hotel and found the staff and environment helpful in reducing the stress from your travels.

Thank you for your feedback - and the many accolades! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Diego.

Be well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lobby is beautiful. Loved the bar! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there just when the dining area was closing, but the host took our order and served it at the bar. The panini was absolutely delicious.
We wanted to visit Mission Beach and LaJolla. The concierge suggested taking the bus verses taking a cab. We are so glad we followed her advise. Not only did it save us money, but gave us the opportunity to meet the locals. We met a gentlemen who told us all about LaJolla and made some great recommendations on what to see. Thanks to his recommendation, we had a cocktail on the terrace of the Valencia Hotel. Wonderful view! We would have missed out on a great adventure if it wasn't for the concierge's recommendations. (Wish I remembered her name.)

This was also a good location. Only a couple blocks from the Gas Lamp District. (And close to public transportation.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dottie219

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very happy that you enjoyed yourselves and to know that our staff helped make your experience memorable. Our concierge team is truly outstanding and extremely seasoned when it comes to helping our guests make the most of their time here in San Diego. I was also very pleased to learn that our Pinzimini staff ensured you didn’t go to sleep hungry!

Kind regards
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel adjoins an outmall mall in the heart of San Diego. The views from the room are fantastic. The staff is helpful and polite. The exercise facilities are adequate. The only downside is you'll get clipped for parking downtown, but expect that in hotels in big cities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
rudyboomer

It’s very nice to know that you enjoyed your room and the fantastic view.

Having the Horton Plaza Mall located just steps from the hotel is not only very convenient for our guests but also a great way to spend an afternoon whether shopping or just strolling the outdoor spaces. And all while enjoying the beautiful San Diego weather!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.