We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Location and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lobby is beautiful. Loved the bar! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there just when the dining area was closing, but the host took our order and served it at the bar. The panini was absolutely delicious.
We wanted to visit Mission Beach and LaJolla. The concierge suggested taking the bus verses taking a cab. We are so glad we followed her advise. Not only did it save us money, but gave us the opportunity to meet the locals. We met a gentlemen who told us all about LaJolla and made some great recommendations on what to see. Thanks to his recommendation, we had a cocktail on the terrace of the Valencia Hotel. Wonderful view! We would have missed out on a great adventure if it wasn't for the concierge's recommendations. (Wish I remembered her name.)

This was also a good location. Only a couple blocks from the Gas Lamp District. (And close to public transportation.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dottie219

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very happy that you enjoyed yourselves and to know that our staff helped make your experience memorable. Our concierge team is truly outstanding and extremely seasoned when it comes to helping our guests make the most of their time here in San Diego. I was also very pleased to learn that our Pinzimini staff ensured you didn’t go to sleep hungry!

Kind regards
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    317
    69
    22
    13
See reviews for
155
218
35
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel adjoins an outmall mall in the heart of San Diego. The views from the room are fantastic. The staff is helpful and polite. The exercise facilities are adequate. The only downside is you'll get clipped for parking downtown, but expect that in hotels in big cities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
rudyboomer

It’s very nice to know that you enjoyed your room and the fantastic view.

Having the Horton Plaza Mall located just steps from the hotel is not only very convenient for our guests but also a great way to spend an afternoon whether shopping or just strolling the outdoor spaces. And all while enjoying the beautiful San Diego weather!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Centrally located to great restaurants (so many of these), Metro lines, Trolleys, buses...and walking distances to convention center and marina, shops, and parks (small) but close to Balboa Park (a must visit attraction). Great value overall, but the room needs some upgrades (carpets and cabinets and TV/remote). Comfortable bed and clean bathroom and great view (if you have an upgraded room - SPG member). Valet parking can be a bit pricey ($40 per night) but drop off and pick up are swift. Give tips at the end of your staying (as I was told). Recommended restaurants: The Oceanaire Seafood (Oysters and Champagne), Chocolat Cremerie (Crepes), Mint Downtown Thai (great dinner deal)...Happy Travel !!!

Room Tip: SPG member to ask for upgrade...Harbor / coronado bridge view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
iHearTravel74

I am glad to know you found our location to be a great spot! Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) members enjoy a multitude of benefits and it is one of the most innovative loyalty programs in the hospitality industry so I am happy to know you are member. On your next trip I hope you have the opportunity to experience our restaurant, Pinzimini, where you can also earn additional SPG points while enjoying a delicious meal!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego.

Be well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a superb hotel with a fantastic location! Walk out the front door and to the right about 50 yards is the esclator to the mall shops, across the street is Panera and to the left down one long block is a terrific grocery store. If you don't go up the esclator and walk thru the path at the end left or right are a variety of restaurants. We walked a couple blocks to the right to eat at a delicious Indian restaurant. Best location hotel I have ever stayed at with friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Tisner

What a terrific review and portrayal of our location! To be described as a superb hotel and the best location you have ever stayed at with a friendly staff and comfortable rooms is very rewarding. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you've already selected the Gaslamp Quarter as home base for your San Diego trip then you've already made one great decision. The area is chalk full of great restaurants, shopping, the Padres, and the Convention Center. Public transportation is readily available as well.

Within the Gaslamp the Westin is in a prime location. During our stay we didn't utilize our car as single time. Six days, no car. That was quite nice.

The hotel itself clearly underwent a recent renovation to move it into the same realm as the other modern and sleek properties in the area. Overall the feel is nice. The bar area is open late and surprisingly well populated. I ate breakfast at the restaurant twice and the food was fine and the prices reasonable for a hotel.

The rooms are well appointed and pleasant. We stayed in an upgraded room on the 16th floor, which was about 20% larger than our friend's room on the 8th floor. The bed is extraordinarily comfortable. Every room has a small fridge, which is always useful, a decent amount of closet space, and a great bathroom. The shower has a rain showerhead, so even those tall folks will be pleased. We found the towels to be plush.

The hotel had a couple faults. They only give you a single robe. I've always just felt that they should either get rid of the robe completely or shell out and give you two. Not a big deal, but worth noting. Like most Starwood properties the Westin has WiFi internet, but you've got to pay for it. $10 per day. Even in the lobby. I've been to a lot of hotels and even those that charge for inroom internet usually lay off in the lobby. Not here. They'll generously give you 30 minutes free, but again, that's ONLY in the lobby. Weird. They do have a couple of Apple desktops you can use with your room key, but those give you 15 minutes only. All said, it's not a huge deal, but could be better. The parking is expensive at $36/day. There are plenty of parking garages nearby, so I recommend looking around.

The single most bizarre thing about the entire place is that the lobby has a faint sewage smell. It goes away quickly, but still off putting. And I was not the only one who noticed.

In summary, the hotel is nice, the rooms are nice, the staff is nice, the amenities are nice, but they will nitpick your dollars away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the Starwood Preferred Guest Room floors. The rooms are bigger and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Eric T

It is nice to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the many features in your room. Did you know that in addition to delivering a spa-like shower experience, our showerheads help reduce water consumption without sacrificing water flow and are an important component in our commitment to sustainability. And, just like our Heavenly Beds, the showerheads are a guest favorite too!

It was unfortunate to hear about the faint odor you briefly encountered in the lobby. We have looked into this unusual occurrence and I’m happy to say it has been resolved.

Thank you for reviewing The Westin Gaslamp Quarter on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and hope to see you again should you make a return trip to San Diego.

Kind regards
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Westin Gaslamp was refurbished in 2012 and is "like new" in most all regards. And the location is pretty much perfect for the downtown area.

The hotel is a high-rise in the downtown area. Upper floors will have a good view of the city scape or the bay. All of the usual Westin amenities are in effect. Parking is available via valet, and it's not cheap, but the valets are very quick to retrieve cars 24/7. Taxis are also readily available at the door.

You'll find an italian restaurant downstairs along with a good bar, but you're staying in the gaslamp district so you have lots of food and drink options within easy walking distance. For those who do not know San Diego, the Gaslamp district is a historic area that has been converted into an entertainment district. You'll find dozens of bars and restaurants of all types here, it's a great place to bar crawl if that's your thing.

The hotel is also right next door to a large mall, so plenty of shopping next door as well as a large theater if you want to take in a movie.

This hotel is the typical Westin experience, great service, no complaints at all. Only thing that could make it better would be a self park option. But again the valet was quick, just be sure to factor parking into the price of your stay if you have a car.

Room Tip: Starwood preferred floors are near the top, this is where you want to be. Not only will this give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
ThorHiney

It was great to read that The Westin Gaslamp Quarter lived up to your expectations; that you had no complaints and experienced great service from all the staff. I was also glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant, Pinzimini, and the bar. With the many restaurants and nightclubs nearby, it’s always nice to have the option of staying in!

Thank you for taking the time to provide TripAdvisor with your feedback - and for rating the hotel a perfect 5!

Kind regards,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is near the nightlife and the outdoor mall. Rooms where great, staff was friendly and everything was in walking distance. There is a movie theater nearby if it rains the tour bus stops close by if you want to go see Corrando Island. The restaurants in the Gaslamp district are all really good too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
dabbadessa

We do have a great location and I’m so glad you enjoyed staying with us! Coronado Island is just one of the many easily accessible locations. And with our close proximity to the world famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and historical Balboa Park, it’s the perfect destination for family vacations. Not to mention our year round terrific weather! There are so many things to do near and around the hotel that I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back someday soon.

Be well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.