We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, nice relaxing hotel lacking in every department” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Murrieta, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, nice relaxing hotel lacking in every department”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

By far, the best thing about the hotel is that it is in the heart of downtown San Diego on Broadway, next to the Westfield Mall with a ton of shopping. USS Midway, Harbor Cruise, the trolly/Coaster, all within minutes walking distance. Little Italy is about a mile out.

The worst:

1. Valet is $36 (not including tip). If you ever have been to SD then you know parking here is impossible and they can charge you whatever because literally, there is no place to park. And if you do find parking, you will be still paying a hefty fee ($25-40) and far from your destination. There are some spots where parking is $10/$12 or a little more. Not in a good local spot though.

2. If you stay in the "cheaper rooms" you get no breakfast. You stay in a more expensive room, you get breakfast. Hmmm. Sounds like they built the cost of the room in with the breakfast so.....

3. If you stay in the "cheaper rooms" you get BASIC cable. And the cable SUCKS. Channels are fuzzy, not a lot of options at all.

4. If you stay in the (yes you got it) "cheaper rooms" you pay for wi-fi. ?? Who does this anymore??? Everyone, EVERYONE offers wi-fi. Come on Westin, get with it in this dept.

So, I have stayed in some pretty NICE 5 start hotels and paid the same rate as I did here ($175) and got all of the above INCLUDED with my room.

Other than that, the rooms - the beds - very comfortable. We liked the fact we were close to everything.

I'd stay in a Westin again, but not this one for the very reasons above.

Room Tip: I requested a view of Broadway, ended up with a view of the Mall (which is not a bad view)...The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter. We’re glad you enjoyed our ideal downtown location, right in the heart of San Diego’s Gaslamp Quarter and just steps from amazing dining, shopping and entertainment.

We do not provide complimentary wireless internet access or breakfast to those with a higher rate. We do offer packages that include complimentary breakfast, parking and more. Our overnight valet parking price is competitive in the market and on the lower end of similar hotels in the city. We also provide complimentary wireless internet access in our lobby.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will look to Starwood's many brands when traveling in the future.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    252
    57
    16
    11
See reviews for
123
181
28
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Leaves a bad taste when you find out that it costs $36 per day to valet yr vehicle.
No signs posted, so BEWARE!!
You can park on the road or in the garage next door.
The actual stay was pleasant and the staff are friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We do offer packages that include complimentary breakfast, parking and more. Our overnight valet parking price is competitive in the market and on the lower end of similar hotels in the city. Unfortunately, due to our location, we only offer our hotel guests valet parking. Unlike other downtown locations, we do offer in-and-out privileges.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will look to Starwood's many brands when traveling in the future.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend and it was amazing. The room's decor was modern, but inviting. The location of the hotel is super convenient because it is close to everything in downtown SD. The check-in was pretty quick and simple. The valet has excellent service, totally worth the fee. Chris from valet helped me out because I had car issues and he went above and beyond to find me alternate transportation. He even recommended places where I could take it to get fixed. Overall, great experience. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

So pleased with our stay. The remodel is beautiful with plant wall in the lobby and Ingredients Grab & Go snack bar Our room was lovely in beiges and wood with lots of plug-ins for electronics. The bathroom has a very cool backlit mirror and deluxe shower head. I love that the refrigerator is empty! I could pickup supplies from the snack bar downstairs and fill it with items of my own choosing. They have an arrangement with New Balance - for $5 you can borrow exercise shoes and clothing. How great not to have to pack tennis shoes!

Our concierge, Julianne, was very helpful recommending wonderful restaurants and making reservations. The entire staff was helpful and efficient from check-in to housekeeping.

Location great - walk to Gaslamp with so many wonderful restaurants, easy bus ride to Balboa Park. It does help to be Starwood Preferred Guest as we got room upgrade and late checkout. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Westin Gaslamp Quarter experience on TripAdvisor. We're so delighted that you were able to experience our $25 dollar transformation. We've completely updated our lobby, guestrooms and public spaces.

Thanks for your kind words on the great customer service you received from Julianne.

We’re glad you enjoyed our great downtown location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego, and just steps away from amazing shopping, dining and entertainment.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon.


Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights at the end of a cruise to explore a city we had never been to before. This was an excellent location for that. We had planned on an initial tour of the city by The Old Town Trolley and the stop was conveniently right around the corner. For everything else we walked, Gaslamp, Little Italy, Seaport Village and USS Midway. From our arrival to departure the staff was friendly and helpful. Paul brought our bags up to our room while giving us numerous tips and advice on the hotel and San Diego. Tom helped us plan activities for late afternoon and pointed us in the direction of an excellent restaurant in Little Italy. The room was extremely spacious, allowing us a bench for the second piece of luggage, something we have never encountered before without using a desk. Would definitely consider this hotel again if we return to San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Vista, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stay at a fair amount of Westin's and this one lives up to the Westin level of quality. Great location in Gas Lamp so you have easy access to downtown.

This is a note for platinum's, I checked my SPG phone app around 4 hours before check-in and they had upgraded me to a 1 bdroom suite. For some reason, by the time I checked in, it was reverted back to a standard room. I doubt the hotel was that busy on the day I was there but it was a disappointment. Not much I can do but thought you should know. Check in asap if they upgrade you :).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am a very loyal Starwood customer and the Westin Gaslamp certainly did not disappoint. The location is very convenient to the dining, bars and shops of the Gaslamp Quarter as well as the Seaport. I will definitely return on a future visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We're so delighted that you had a great stay with us. Many thanks for your kind remarks. We’re glad you enjoyed our amazing downtown location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego, and just steps away from amazing shopping, dining and entertainment.

Thank you for being a loyal SPG customer.

We hope to welcome you back to The Westin Gaslamp Quarter soon.

Be Well,
Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.