We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #123 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Property but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Many of the other reviews mention that this is a property with a strange, cut up layout. This is certainly true if you are not in the newer main tower above the lobby.
The property has several buildings including a seperate pool and dining wing.
I was in the main tower and enjoyed a beautiful new room with a nice view of the harbor.
The property is within easy walking distance of multiple dining options and also offers a 24 hour shuttle to the aiport.
I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Wildcat1897: Thank you so much for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer and also the wide array of things to do and restaurants to go to within walking distance. We thank you for your business and looking forward in serving you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    166
    87
    34
    23
See reviews for
140
79
22
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Not for business travelers. Several challenges. Distance to rooms ~ 1/2 block from lobby to room. Older hotel from what appears to be renovated apartment bldg. no interest or engagement from staff. Limited Resturant offering. Recommend other location well before this property. Not worth the $145 I paid. ............"..."....",,,.......bldg. no interest or engagement from staff. Limited Resturant offering. Recommend other location well before this property. Not worth the $145 I paid.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Seasoned2014:
Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your experience during your stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I sincerely apologized for any inconveniences you might have experienced during your stay. We are currently undergoing renovation and we expect completion by this Spring. And maybe next time you can try and reserve the rooms in the Bayside Building. I am quite concern as well that you perceived our staff to be uninterested and unengaged. Unhelpful staff is unacceptable at any time. I discussed your comments with our Front Office Manager and will be a topic on their next staff meeting. We do have a restaurant on property that boasts a wide array of menus as well as restaurants within walking distance like the Liberty Station which is a home to 2 Breweries and about 20 plus restaurants. We look forward to serving you again during a future visit to San Diego and enjoy the wide array of things the area has to offer and provide you with the quality of service I wish you have received in the first place. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited San Diego over valentine's day weekend and stayed here in the new building at the hotel. Rooms were very clean, bright and new. We had pretty views of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom really nice. Only complaints had to do with sound. The windows don't keep out the sounds of traffic and you can hear neighbors on both sides and above you. Staff was very helpful and gave great tips for exploring the local area on foot and recommendations for restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. Keep up the great work.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just stayed here the last night of a trip, since it was close to the airport. My room was very nice - spacious and well-furnished. I was put off by the multiple buildings, since the front desk was in a different building, as was the restaurant. My early departure meant I could not take advantage of the breakfast. I did run into the lobby for a newspaper - again the separate building was an irritant. My short internet use worked well, as did the large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear AndyZ18: Thank you so much for posting your comment regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the unique layout of the hotel. I know that many people are surprised to find that property is not your typical Holiday Inn as our 291 rooms are spread out all throughout. Maybe duirng a future visit to San Diego, you can reserve a room in our Bayside Building where the lobby is located. We would sincerely like another opportunity to win back your good faith to the hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you so much! Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just arrived home from staying here the last 3 nights. I stayed here for a work trip because all of the closer hotels to the Convention Center were full or a lot more expensive. When I first arrived and checked in I gave my rewards number and received no "extra perks". Almost ALL of the other Holiday Inns I've stayed at have either given a "goody" bag or coupons for being a rewards member. I was a little disappointed to receive nothing for a hotel in such a hot touristy spot. My room was nice if you looked out the back patio which was on the first floor by the putting green. It wasn't a bad room except that the noise from the street (which was about 10 yards away) was pretty loud at night. I had to leave the TV on so it didn't bother me. Another thing I found weird was that my room didn't get attended to the first night. It wasn't a big deal because I didn't "need" it to be but I've never had that happen. It was a decent sized room with everything you needed so it did the job. We used the spa our last night and ate at the Cafe there every night. The food was expensive for what you got but there wasn't many options around so that also did the job. It's about 4 miles from the convention center and airport. Is the location great? Not particularly. If you want to be downtown or in a specific area without having to drive, pay the difference to stay there. There's really not a whole lot around the hotel to eat or walk to but it wasn't terrible. The pool is nice but small and there are some outdoor activities which were nice. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you plan on using it as a resort obviously. It's a typical hotel with basic stuff that does the job.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear amanda42: Thank you so much for writing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature. First and foremost please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Clearly it is not unreasonable to expect a rooom accomodation to have been inspected by the housekeeping supervisor and I apologize that your room was not serviced. I am so sorry that you were not able to explore the area that well especially the Liberty Station which is a mixed-use development near the hotel that includes retail and commercial district, a promenade, residential and hotel district and a park/open space area along the boat channel. There are several dozens restaurants that offers a wide array of different cuisines. The Shelter Island area is another place that you can explore with a bunch of waterfront restaurants. We look forward to your travels bringing you back to San Diego in the near future and having you as our guest again at the Holiday Inn. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talking Rock, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 5 weeks at this hotel and plan to come back next year and do it again! This place is truly a home away from home. The hotel must have super management, since every area of service from check-in, maid service, special request, restaurant, transportation were all outstanding! When we did experience a minor problem, the manager was prompt in addressing and correcting the situation. As of our stay, all rooms were being updated. We stayed in both the new and old building and found both to be very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: The new addition is more up-to-date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was really nice although a little dated. Perfect location to walk across to the marina where there were a few restaurants to chose from for dinner. There is a swimming pool / bar and snack shop on site. Pleasant stay and was perfect for the 2 nights we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Lauren B: Thank you so much for posting your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am happy that you enjoyed the amenities we offer and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. I also want to inform you that we are currently renovating that includes changing of all the case goods in the room. We look forward to seeing you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.