We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #127 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited San Diego over valentine's day weekend and stayed here in the new building at the hotel. Rooms were very clean, bright and new. We had pretty views of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom really nice. Only complaints had to do with sound. The windows don't keep out the sounds of traffic and you can hear neighbors on both sides and above you. Staff was very helpful and gave great tips for exploring the local area on foot and recommendations for restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. Keep up the great work.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    216
    106
    40
    30
See reviews for
177
108
24
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just stayed here the last night of a trip, since it was close to the airport. My room was very nice - spacious and well-furnished. I was put off by the multiple buildings, since the front desk was in a different building, as was the restaurant. My early departure meant I could not take advantage of the breakfast. I did run into the lobby for a newspaper - again the separate building was an irritant. My short internet use worked well, as did the large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear AndyZ18: Thank you so much for posting your comment regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the unique layout of the hotel. I know that many people are surprised to find that property is not your typical Holiday Inn as our 291 rooms are spread out all throughout. Maybe duirng a future visit to San Diego, you can reserve a room in our Bayside Building where the lobby is located. We would sincerely like another opportunity to win back your good faith to the hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you so much! Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
224 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just arrived home from staying here the last 3 nights. I stayed here for a work trip because all of the closer hotels to the Convention Center were full or a lot more expensive. When I first arrived and checked in I gave my rewards number and received no "extra perks". Almost ALL of the other Holiday Inns I've stayed at have either given a "goody" bag or coupons for being a rewards member. I was a little disappointed to receive nothing for a hotel in such a hot touristy spot. My room was nice if you looked out the back patio which was on the first floor by the putting green. It wasn't a bad room except that the noise from the street (which was about 10 yards away) was pretty loud at night. I had to leave the TV on so it didn't bother me. Another thing I found weird was that my room didn't get attended to the first night. It wasn't a big deal because I didn't "need" it to be but I've never had that happen. It was a decent sized room with everything you needed so it did the job. We used the spa our last night and ate at the Cafe there every night. The food was expensive for what you got but there wasn't many options around so that also did the job. It's about 4 miles from the convention center and airport. Is the location great? Not particularly. If you want to be downtown or in a specific area without having to drive, pay the difference to stay there. There's really not a whole lot around the hotel to eat or walk to but it wasn't terrible. The pool is nice but small and there are some outdoor activities which were nice. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you plan on using it as a resort obviously. It's a typical hotel with basic stuff that does the job.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear amanda42: Thank you so much for writing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature. First and foremost please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Clearly it is not unreasonable to expect a rooom accomodation to have been inspected by the housekeeping supervisor and I apologize that your room was not serviced. I am so sorry that you were not able to explore the area that well especially the Liberty Station which is a mixed-use development near the hotel that includes retail and commercial district, a promenade, residential and hotel district and a park/open space area along the boat channel. There are several dozens restaurants that offers a wide array of different cuisines. The Shelter Island area is another place that you can explore with a bunch of waterfront restaurants. We look forward to your travels bringing you back to San Diego in the near future and having you as our guest again at the Holiday Inn. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talking Rock, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 5 weeks at this hotel and plan to come back next year and do it again! This place is truly a home away from home. The hotel must have super management, since every area of service from check-in, maid service, special request, restaurant, transportation were all outstanding! When we did experience a minor problem, the manager was prompt in addressing and correcting the situation. As of our stay, all rooms were being updated. We stayed in both the new and old building and found both to be very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: The new addition is more up-to-date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was really nice although a little dated. Perfect location to walk across to the marina where there were a few restaurants to chose from for dinner. There is a swimming pool / bar and snack shop on site. Pleasant stay and was perfect for the 2 nights we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Lauren B: Thank you so much for posting your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am happy that you enjoyed the amenities we offer and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. I also want to inform you that we are currently renovating that includes changing of all the case goods in the room. We look forward to seeing you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here once before and wasn't impressed, but given the location it was worth coming back. All I have to say is "wow". This place has been updated and it shows. I'm in the "new building", which is spotless. This is the first hotel I've traveled to that has had enough power outlets and they are all right where you need them. Super friendly staff and great location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mike B : Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and were impressed with our service. We take pride in our customer service training programs and empower our staff to make decisions to make the guest happy. Thank you again for your words of praise and sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My flight today from San Diego to Atlanta was delayed by 6 hours causing me to miss my connection so I booked this hotel on the IHG website as it was close to the airport and offered airport pickup. I was surprised when we pulled up, they have added a new 5 story building to the property and the new building is superb. I was upgraded to an executive room which is marvelous. The staff are great and was greeted by Patty at the front desk with a great big friendly smile. The shuttle runs from 0430 to 2400 which is great as I have a 0700 flight out in the morning. It has a nice pool and etc. My room is 10 times nicer than the 30 year old resort I stayed at for the last 4 nights here in San Diego. If I need to come back here this will be the Hotel for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
DearLouis320: Thank you so much for posting your review and tak about your experience regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am pleased to learn of the outstanding service you received from our staff. Thank you for recognizing Patsy for her great big friendly smile. We pride ourselves with the staff that we have and we feel really fortunate to have them in our team. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
#141 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.5 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.