We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for Me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #137 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good enough for Me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Missed plane in San Diego due to a 5 1/2 border crossing. Called the hotel and they had a room, shuttle service to the airport and a restaurant that was open until 10:00 PM. Worked for me. Room was clean and comfortable and faced the pool. Balcony had two chairs and the coffee pot worked. Sort of your standard HI, but that was all we needed. People were friendly and the food just what we needed after being in Mexico for 4 days. A bit on the expensive side ($173.00) but so it goes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    183
    95
    36
    26
See reviews for
149
89
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had a chance to stay here for a week in early August and was very impressed with the facility and the staff. The restaurant was outstanding and food was top notch and the service was as good as it gets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The front desk was very helpful. The rooms are cramped and outdated. Depending in what price you get it at you ,ought enjoy your stay. The pool is heated is nice and heated. The location is great depending on what you're planning on doing. No elevators....depending on which wing your are in.

Room Tip: No elevatos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear sav4you: I appreciate your comments regarding your recnt stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am happy to tell you that we would be undergoing renovation this fall to include replacement of all case goods and will feature modern and contemporary artwork. Unfortunately all poolside buildings on our property does not have any elevator and I do apologize for any inconvenience. Our location is centrally located, we are so close to the San Diego airport and only about 5 miles from downtown and only a couple of miles from Liberty Station which boasts a wide array of restaurants and bars for young and old alike. We look forward to serving you again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When I stayed here in December I felt right at home. The room was typical of the type of hotel Holiday Inn is but the feel felt like the holiday inn was like a fancier hotel. This holiday inn IS in the perfect location, close to the hotel (less then a 5 minute taxi ride) and across the street to the cruise ship terminal (if you are going on a cruise out of San Diego STAY HERE!) The public transit is very close. Either the 923 bus stops at the north end of the hotel or the train service ( Sorry I forgot what its called.) Lots of value for your $$$.

Room Tip: Either way cant lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I were stranded at San Diego airport after a canceled flight and found the Holiday Inn Bayside online. It is very easy to get to this hotel from the airport, or anywhere in San Diego really - it is really central and easily accessible. They offer an airport shuttle and the hotel is brand new, with spacious, clean rooms, and all the necessary amenities. We were very pleased with this hotel. I believe there are other, older buildings that are part of the hotel also, and have read bad reviews on those rooms. The new side is fantastic, though!

Room Tip: book a room in the new tower only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a complicated property. Holiday Inn Bayside is comprised of three separate buildings: the tower on the west side of the property, the two-level building in the center, and the brand new tower on the east side of the property. The two-level is the oldest building and surrounds the pool and mini golf green. To be clear, your booking method will determine the building and type of room you're assigned to. We booked through Hotwire which automatically books you into a smoking room. We called ahead of time to request a non-smoking room and were assured the request would be granted but were assigned to a first-floor room in the two-level building which smelled musty/smoky. We requested another room and were reminded that our Hotwire reservation was for a smoking room and that the only other room that was available was a king bed room. We took it and they agreed to deliver a roll-up bed at no cost. Fair enough.

Service is good and the staff does its best to work with an aging property. The large inventory of smoking rooms is problematic as is the attempt to disguise smoking rooms as non-smoking. Those sensitive to cigarette smoke should look for a non-smoking property.The pool area is well kept and all rooms in the two-story building (the oldest, ugliest, and smelliest) have almost direct access to the pool or a private balcony (a trade-off, I suppose). The on-site cafe served up a good breakfast and the staff was enormously attentive. The location doesn't work well without a car but is a great alternative for families visiting Mission Bay and Sea World on a budget and with a car. Parking is free but limited. Don't bother logging on to the free wi-fi. It's slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear juststartedtravelling: Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. Although I was pleased that you were satisfied with our services, I do want to apologize that we were not able to honor your request for a 2-bedded room non smoking. We do the very best to accomodate all requests however sometimes we get into unfortunate situation of not being able to do so. I am also happy to announce that we would be undergoing renovation of the other buildings to include new case goods that would happen starting this fall. We hope everything would be done by early next year. We sincerely like another oppotunity to win back your good faith to the hotel during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at one of the "kids suites" where they have bunk bed for the kids. It's a great idea yet it looks more like an after thought.
In our room it has a king size bed and the petitioned "kid's room" where the bunk bed is. The petition makes the room cramp because the petition wall is about 2 feet to the King bed. If we knew the layout was like this, we'd prefer 2 king beds.
We expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinna M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear OctaneGal:
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt that the kid's room was not what you expected as it is the just the size of a regular room with a wall partition to separate thequeen size bed and the bunk bed. I apologize if you were told it is a kid's suite and not a kid's room. With regards to the price, as indicative of the hospitality industry, rates vary depending on season and availability;therefore, rates can be very competitive or deemed high in comparison to other properties. We always do our very best to achieve the best possible rates for our guests. I truly appreciate your feedback and I hope you give us another opportunity as I would love to welcome you back. Sincerely, Rhinna Meyer - Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.