We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Holiday Inn, un friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #138 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn, un friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Got stuck here after my flight out was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy. Got a shuttle from the airport, eventually, check in was easy, it's a huge complex, almost more like a holiday resort than a normal holiday inn, got a late check out, but staff generally, always reader me like they were doing me a huge favour, just by talking with me, left my key in my room, getting a new one, was met with lots of huffs from the reception staff. Good Internet connection, no breakfast, just very average. Wouldn't have chosen this, but any port in a storm etc.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your experience with us. I'm glad you were happy with our WiFi connections as we did recently upgrade our service. Although we do not offer complimentary continental breakfast like our limited service brands, we do offer our own on-site restaurant which opens daily at 6am for breakfast. Your remarks regarding the service you received from our staff were shared with our Guest Services Manager and our front desk supervisors. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Charleene Poissot, Director of Sales & Marekting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    183
    95
    36
    26
See reviews for
149
89
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tri Cities, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of the amenities my husband and I love about Holiday Inns are the amenities. We love the the spacious rooms, we love the fitness centers, we love the pools, but most of all we love the free breakfast in the mornings. Wait, this location doesn't have free breakfast in the morning. Fail. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you do stay here you ask for a room with a view. Otherwise, you're stuck look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was happy to read that you and your husband use Holiday Inns for your travels! I'm glad that you enjoyed our guest rooms and amenities, but sorry that you were disappointed about us not including free breakfast. Typically, full service Holiday Inns do not include free breakfast with their standard room rates, but our Holiday Inn Express brands do always include free continental breakfast for all guests. I do hope you'll continue to use Holiday Inn properties and come back and stay with us again some time.

Charleene Poissot
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately this hotel has bed bugs. I have had bed bug bites twice before so I know them when I see them and for the first time my husband got bitten.
Management changed our room and deducted one nights stay from the bill.
Come to find out at breakfast from one of our group, his girlfriend, who didn't come, checked some website before the trip and found out the hotel has a history of bed bugs.
If it were not for the bed bugs I would have given it a 3 rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We apologize for the incident you had with us during your recent stay. We take bed bug prevention very seriously at our hotel. The room was put out of order immediately and we had a licensed pest control professional come out to inspect and treat the room. We do have a very proactive system in place where our housekeeping supervisors check a block of rooms daily for any potential problems, plus we also hire dogs professionally trained to discover any potential bed bug problems on a regularly scheduled basis. I'm glad that you called right away and were moved to a new room so that you could enjoy the rest of your stay. I assure you this was a very rare incident for our hotel and we continue to do everything we can to prevent these types of problems from occuring.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LottyToronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pleasant location across the road from a boardwalk along the bay, running past a sport-fishing marina. Original low-rise building with two slightly higher additions behind it; treed grounds, nice pool area, good views of the bay from upper-level rooms; restaurant with great breakfast values (and be sure to ask for the complimentary continental breakfast offer, when you book; it can easily get you a good non-continental breakfast, as the breakfast coupons have a high turn-in value). Comfortable rooms and friendly (but not highly knowledgeable) staff. Five minutes from the airport, free shuttle (though you must ask the hotel ahead of time how to access it; the airport hotel information board does not list it). The area--not downtown, not the beaches, etc.--would be great for vacationers with cars and a variety of interests, as every attraction is an easy drive away in a different direction, without heavy traffic; but for those without cars all sites are at a distance and the transit system, except to downtown, inevitably involves waiting times and transfers, and on weekends the nearby bus line doesn't run. (You can take a shuttle to the airport and then a bus from the airport to downtown.) A transit day pass is $5. The front desk has lots of printed information on transit, local walks, etc., but is oddly reluctant to hand it out; persist with questions in order to get it. There is no handout on local shops, restaurants, etc.; and staff do not tell you about them; but in fact there are several pleasant eating places along the boardwalk, and also a nearby shopping plaza with all of the usual (for such plazas) shops and restaurants. The poolside bar unhappily does not open until 4 or 5 pm, for food or drink, though perhaps this was because we were there in the off-season (October). You can buy a sandwich elsewhere (e.g. at the gift shop, which has a great array of items and is open most of the time--though no one tells you, even if you ask, that it has actual food, not just snacks) and eat it beside the pool. Popular for groups holding meetings, with good meeting/hospitality rooms, but the groups in no way overwhelm the place. Nicely away from over-touristed locales. Warning: a huge addition is now being built, next door to the original buildings, and this may greatly change the present low-key and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the grounds or of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpoissot, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your guest experience at our hotel. It's great to read that you enjoyed our hotel grounds and amenities and appreciate our low-key vibe allowing you to enjoy your vacation. I assure you the new building that is being built now will not take away from that relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. Thank you for your feedback on obtaining information on local transit systems, restaurants, etc. from our front desk. I apologize that you had to be so persistent to get all of the printed information we already have letting you know about the area. We have discussed this with our front desk staff and made sure they are all aware of the helpful information we have on hand to offer all of our guests. Our front office supervisor has even taken your suggestion and printed out new directions to include more areas of interest and attractions in San Diego, as well as instructions for all bus routes going to various areas.

Thank you for helping us to improve in these areas! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was our first nights in a hotel in USA for the start of our holiday. It was very comfortable and clean. We liked the fact it was quiet - a big plus on holiday. Very handy to restaurants just across the road, & interesting fishing wharves also, but further from SD downtown. We had a car, so it wasn't a problem. Staff were friendly & helpful also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here with my family during a reunion weekend. The hotel is in a good location for travellers, as its right next to the airport, and offers an airport shuttle. It's centrally located, between the monument on Cabrillo point and downtown San Diego, but not close to any particular site.

The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, and well equipped fitness centre. It also has a restaurant on-site. We ate there for breakfast each day - each meal was good. With the coupons the front desk gave us, the prices were very good.

The rooms are pretty standard, and the beds were very comfortable.

My only complaint was the service level from some staff members. It was not exceptional. The front desk staff and concierge were not eager to help. instead, they seemed mildly irritated to be approached with questions. In each case, it took 2 or 3 questions before they gave you the information you needed - reluctantly. On a couple of occasions I was sent walking in the wrong direction. On one occasion, they did not want to call a taxi company to request a larger 5 person vehicle. They said "the taxi companies dont do that". That was incorrect - as we found a larger taxi on our own. even the phone book (in the room) had numbers to several companies that offered vehicles for 5 people.

Overall, it was a good hotel, with all the amenities you needed. The rooms were comfortable and clean. If the management educated their staff a little better, I would have given it a much higher rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Susi M,

Thank you for leaving us such a detailed review of your stay. I'm pleased our convenient location suited you well and that you liked our comfortable rooms. I'm sorry the service you received from our staff did not live up to your expectations. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was great. The staff was great - responsive, polite, accommodating. Our hospitality room served as a nice oasis for us to gather between events. The poolside events were very relaxing.

Thanks for making our reunion one of our better ones.

Room Tip: Try one of the larger rooms with a king bed. It felt like being in a cocoon. Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.