We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #49 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are in the area often visiting family the this has become our First Choice accomodations. Here you get resort ammenities at a price that is competitive with the other standard hotel fares in the area, which is a tremendous value. The facilities are in great shape. The staff were tremendous. There is really no reason to stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    274
    114
    70
    46
See reviews for
275
378
40
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Several steps up from the local mediocre chains, this family oriented golf resort is a lovely haven for non-golfing couples too, with both a fancy and a casual restaurant, a full-service spa, and attentive, responsive staff. The rooms are a generous size, and even a week there doesn't make you homesick! Despite the 20-minute drive to the city proper, there's a nearby winery to tour (with a nice restaurant for lunch) and a few other close attractions, plus day trips the concierge will arrange for you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stay at RB monthly for business. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to bring my family, husband, or sneak away for a girls weekend.
Staff is very friendly, grounds are lovely, and there is a charm and other-worldliness that makes the property relaxing and inviting.
Breakfast buffet is very nice.
Never had a bad experience, and I've been here 10+ times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our 4-day visit to the Inn was an extremely pleasant experience. The grounds were beautiful. The room was very nice and had a small, semi-private patio for an evening glass of wine. The restaurants on the property were outstanding and the service was excellent throughout the property. We will return.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the property -- Choose the Hill Top -- away from the noise of the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the understated elegance and the beautiful grounds make this hotel a gem! the staff was friendly and helpful and the serene atmosphere is completely relaxing. finally, the restaurant provided the best scallops I've ever had!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. We are a family of 5 and stayed in interconnecting rooms. The rooms are nice although they could use some upgrades as they seem a little outdated. I would suggest a better door locking system, as we have children and we like it when the door has a deadbolt or chain as a preventative measure. The bathrooms are roomy and the balcony is nice for enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning and taking in the views. My husband didn't care for the bed and the pillows, he said they were lumpy and uncomfortable. We love the restaurants and the setting at Rancho Bernardo Inn. We especially enjoyed listening to the band on Friday night and seeing the twinkling lights in the trees. We went to the Safari Park on Saturday and the hotel staff was so kind as to print out directions for us to get there. The staff is wonderful and very pleasant at Rancho Benardo Inn! They all have smiles on their faces and are sincere when they are helping you. Overall I highly recommend the Rancho Bernardo Inn and the kids want to come back next year which we will most likely do.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

To stay at the Rancho Bernardo Inn in northern San Diego is a true experience. Our very large room was absolutely comfortable and impeccably decorated as the Inn underwent a complete remodel over one year ago. The grounds at the resort are pristine and diligently manicured. Every nook and corner of the inn is a visual delight, be it views of gentle rolling hills, the Inn's beautiful Spanish architecture and interior design, or the many gardens, pools and fountains. One will be delighted and estestically rejuvenated by their stay at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. The Inn is about 25 minutes from San Diego off of I-15 inland corridor.

Room Tip: An assortment of rooms are available from family to golf course view and if privacy is desired ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#55 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.