We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Save Saved
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The service was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the food was delicious. A particular shout out to Megan in the restaurant, Kevin the pool bartender who provided very attentive amazing service and the car valets who literally run to get your car each and every time. We will be back, thanks for providing us with a dream vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    200
    84
    52
    28
See reviews for
197
284
25
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Worked a conference at this inn, and it was beautiful. Really feels like first class service. I can only imagine how beautiful it would be to have a wedding here. Definitely a lot of walking up and down stairs and hills to get to some of the spots, but its a good exercise! the pools are beautiful and food was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Practically every aspect of our stay was perfect and I thought it was a good value as well. The balconies are a nice size and the food was very good. The only negatives I can this of is that the pool could use a little more clean-up during the day and the pillow were not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Note that there aren't any elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Let me begin by stating that the reason my wife and I stayed at the Rancho Bernardo Inn was because we were invited to a wedding and all guests and family members stayed here by default. The Rancho Bernardo Inn caters to wealthy, older golfers (not so good for children). In other words, if you are not wealthy, older and/or a golfer, you may not be a perfect fit.

Rancho Bernardo Inn is a very lovely complex. There are numerous buildings that serve a variety of purposes. It does take a bit of getting used to to navigate the grounds. There is literally an army of workers who seem to be Spanish speaking (I presume Mexicans due to the Inn's proximity to Mexico) who do all the heavy lifting. They clean, scrub, repair and manicure the grounds. They are bright and cheerful and seem to appreciate being acknowledged with a friendly hello.

Our room (704 in the Greens) was on the ground floor. It was quite large and well-appointed. In fact, I might apply the phrase "luxurious". It was done in good taste with muted elegance. We faced the golf course but the golfers formed part of the ambiental noise, not at all unpleasant. The patio was the perfect place to sip a morning cup of coffee (Keurig one cups are provided) and contemplate nature. There are numerous eucalyptus trees that host swarms of flitting nightingales.

Getting back to wealthy golfers, if you do not play golf and are not wealthy, there are a couple of hints coming your way. The coffee shop or cafe is much less expensive than the buffet. They serve up scale Egg McMuffin and Starbucks coffee at reasonable prices. For lunch, they have various salads such as Cobb and Chicken salad. The food is fresh and good. The ubiquitous tip cup is everywhere, even at the rehearsal dinner bar paid for by the family which I consider to be in bad taste. They say that they charge for wireless Internet access but in fact never do.

Coming from the east coast we "shuttled" (SuperShuttle was very good at $27 pp one way from the SD airport) to RBI but did not have a car. The place is not in easy walking distance to anything but if you don't mind a but of a hike, you can walk down a mile to the main drag, hang a left and walk to a small shopping center with a Starbucks, Albertson's and restaurant. The neighborhood is quite nice and if you're from the east, you will find how the locals accommodate the scarcity of rain with lawn and garden techniques.

I could go on and on but to what end. This review is more for people who know nothing about the Inn and don't golf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We came for a wedding; we're coming back for more. Not for the golf, although we heard it was quite good. Not for the tennis, as they've turned the courts into a spa. Not for the 4:00 pm check in and 11:00 am check out. Not for the $200 incidentals fee that they automatically tack on to your room, although they refund it on check out. We will come back for the ambience, the food, the adults-only pool, the handicap accessible room where our son was so comfortable, the relaxed time-has-stopped feeling in the cozy nooks where one can curl up and read a book, or sit quietly alone or with friends to...just be. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The property itself was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Here is the lowdown:
+ Great location and amenities. Restaurant has great food! If you're a runner, there are nearby trails! Room is nicely decorated and clean. There was a refrigerator, and there was complimentary water on our arrival - very convenient. Staff is wonderful!

- The rooms where we stayed are beginning to show their age. Slight "old hotel" smell from carpets perhaps? Bathroom had old fixtures and tub, and the faucet was a little leaky.

Overall the +s outweight the -s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel room was gorgeous - the bed even had special, soft accent lighting under it... The food was great. The drinks were tasty. The staff is unbeatable and all seem to be ecstatic to work there. The coffee shop has yummy breakfast and sweet items. There are small seating areas all around the resort to escape and enjoy. I attended a conference here and would go back on vacation... just missed being away from the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.