We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Peaceful place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Felt like we were the only ones there even though the grounds are extensive. Everything is well done and the views are great. The Veranda restaurant was great as well. The pools are nice and the idea of having an adult only pool is nice. It looks like they have some good activities for kids as well at the family pool. They have several secluded hot tubs throughout the property and lots of areas to walk around or sit and take a break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    221
    93
    55
    32
See reviews for
220
316
26
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pros:
Excellent kitchen,
Great comfortable rooms,
Play golf with class,
great place for to relax,
great meeting facilities,
Great location,
I loved the temperature in this part of San Diego
Con:
Long walks from the rooms to the conference centre.
Some rooms near the bar are to noisy (live music and parties) at night
SOme rooms are on 2nd floor without an elevator

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the bar or looking to the parking ground. Some rooms are on 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la habra ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a beautiful setting! A sprawling hacienda style resort for those who want to enjoy golf and/or a spa....and a getaway where your needs are anticipated, staff is so courteous and respectful and the ambiance is amazingly peaceful,serene and lush. We enjoyed the spa facilities as well as the Veranda for eating. Everything was to our liking and we kept thinking "when can we come back"?

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with children, ask for rooms away from the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 3 days here during the week, for our anniversary/babymoon. We had such a nice relaxing time! Our days were filled with laying by the pool, golf, and the spa.

There appeared to be a small conference going on, but that didn't bother us at all. Other than that, no one was really around. The rooms are spacious, and the balcony is nice to have, to leave your door open at night.

The spa & the spa pool was wonderful. While the hubby played golf, I enjoyed a massage & laid by the pool for hours. All the staff at the spa were very helpful and accommodating.

You are in the middle of a residential area, so there is not much around. Which is ok by us. We were able to get to everything in 20-30 minutes. So a car is a must. We went north to visit friends at Camp Pendleton, West to the ocean, & south to San Diego.

They also left us some champagne & mini-desserts for our anniversary. Very nice touch, too bad this mom-to-be couldn't enjoy the champagne!

Only 2 complaints that were not that big of deal. I was surprised that no one offered to help us with our luggage (especially since there was no elevator to the 2nd floor of our building). That would have been helpful. Also, there was lots of construction due to the new restaurant they are opening up. This blocked off entry ways, and then it was somewhat confusing to get yourself re-routed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Attended for a business conference and the service was remarkable. The staff were all courteous and made my family feel welcome. We had a king sized bed and thought that our 1 year old could sleep with us because we were there for a short stay - she had a couple of accidents so we requested a crib. The crib came very quickly but it was a very ...hmmm....old - my husband jokingly said it reminded him of the old mental institution beds - but it was a crib..:/ Other than that the stay was great and I will definitely try to stay again - this time more for a vacation...:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

stayed one night through a travel zoo special. all staff very friendly. great food, fun golf course. recommend if you're looking for a relaxing place. regular rates are pricey. we like staying here because the bernardo winery is only a few miles down the road.

Room Tip: golf course view rooms are quiet. pool side rooms are good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in Rancho Bernardo for a wedding and very much enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautifully manicured, and the rooms are comfortably appointed. We enjoyed our little patio and the pool during our stay.

The resort feels a bit like a "wedding factory", though. There were at least six happening during our stay, and at times it made things a little awkward because weddings were occurring right outside our room as we were checking in and leaving for dinner. Service also definitely declines during these times. We bought a bottle of wine to enjoy in our room, but there weren't bottle openers in the room. We called the front desk to deliver one, but after waiting a half an hour, we wound up taking the bottle to the hotel bar to open it there.

Room Tip: The Woodside and Hedges rooms appeared to have the best view into the valley. Hilltop and the Founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.