We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good -- but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Save Saved
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #35 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Syosset, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good -- but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Attended a conference there -- conference facilities were very nice, as was the spa (ask for Christy).

Had a few nits on the room:
1. Was a 3rd floor walk-up. Had no idea there was no elevator until I got there.
2. Housekeeping was just "okay". Didn't replace laundry bag after first night; Towel was missing one night too, and my request for a morning cleaning was not honored.
3. TV reception was fine -- except on the channel I wanted to watch (NBCSN). Maintenance came up, looked at it, and that was the last I ever heard from then.
4. I asked for a bill to be e-mailed to me at checkout. Never received it , and had to contact the hotel a second time.

Drinks at the bar seemed quite expensive, and the new restaurant had not opened.

Overall it was still a nice experience -- enjoyed getting some work done on the balcony one afternoon--but short of 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    204
    86
    52
    28
See reviews for
201
290
25
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millstone, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Me, My wife, and our two kids spent 8 days at the resort and loved it!
The staff is very warm and friendly, and well trained. The hotel grounds are well kept, and they continously light fires in the many fireplaces throughout the resort. The room we had was nice and convenient to the pool. The kids had a great time in the pool!

I booked the resort on Perfectescapes.com and the package included a daily buffet breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding and you have the option of dining inside or outside by the golf course.

We rented a car, and parking was easy and convenient.

The place is a homerun! Nice property with attention to details at a good daily rate!
We can't wait until we come back to such a lovely resort!!!

Room Tip: Perfectescapes.com had the best rates and it included a buffet breakfast daily..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times this year. Location is close to business that needed to be done. I do not consider this a 4 or 5 star hotel and that is where some of the bad reviews come from I believe.

The good - HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE SPA! Rooms are updated and have a lot of charm. Very well kept up property considering how large and sprawling it is. Good job.

The Bad - the staff that I have met have not been the most helpful. All 3 x have had small issues and I was very disappointed with the "who cares" attitude. In January, had to stay an extra night, hotel was empty and they would only give me full rate which was not even close to what they had advertised on their web site. I even told them we would do the Sunday buffet with 6 people if I stayed an extra night - the lady could not of cared less. I could go find a computer (the ones in the lobby were down) and could rebook from there but I had to leave.

Oh - the $19 parking fee is ridiculous - even if you don't have a car and do not need internet. lol.

Yes - I recommend this place - it is full of charm, and older hotels like this I am afraid will not survive much longer - too much upkeep, staff etc... So go while you still can!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived late, no bellman at all, no valet service, housekeepers sitting with their carts at the entrance of the hotel, no what you expect on a 5 star property.

Stayed in the Rancho section, grounds look old, need to work on their gardening, rooms small, nicely decorated, but still look old.

Breakfast was basic. Not a good selection in buffet, slow service, host not really friendly. After this experience, having a romantic dinner was not an option in our minds.

Are around the SPA very nice, have a nice wedding garden and a wonderful ballroom.

Compared to other properties in the area, this one is below to the expected standards.

Would not go back, there are many other better options around. We have stayed a La Costa and at Del Mar, huge difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I were there recently for our anniversary. The grounds are amazing, the staff is exceptional. I did a day in the spa with massage and then hanging out at the kid free pool. The husband did a round of golf. He was in heaven. Everything about this place is perfect. Quiet and beautiful. We will definitely be returning. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our trip was to visit family in the local area and we wanted to treat ourselves to a nice hotel stay.
We had asked for a quiet room. Ours was in the Veranda and overlooked the gardens. I opted for a balcony rather than the patio, which was a good choice. More privacy. The room was spacious and comfortable. Despite two weddings and another function, there was no noise to be heard.
We are not golfers but found some wonderful hiking areas (Blue Sky Preserve and Lake Poway)
It was a relaxing place to be and the grounds are pretty and spacious.
We had breakfast at the little cafe rather than the main restaurant, which suited us completely. In warm weather you can sit outside and eat and gaze at the gardens and fountains.
My only regret is that they do not have an airport shuttle.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Veranda side with balcony that faces the garden (middle rooms) were quiet. Only two floors but no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This resort was built in the 1960's and still has that feel of enough land to build low buildings and beautiful landscaping. The decor everywhere was charming and varied, the lobbies almost seemed under used because they were so welcoming but fairly empty. The rooms were very nice, large and we really liked our little patio that looked over many large trees.

If we had any grumble it was the food in the bar, not quite up to the standard one would expect and since the main restaurant was under construction there were no other choices. The breakfast buffet was very good. We thought the evening entertainment was very good and we liked the outdoor patio setting and fireplace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.