We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
carlsbad, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“April 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I brought a group of 30 people to Rancho Bernardo Inn for a corporate relaxation/golf weekend. It was a HUGE success! From the event planning to the check-out, and everything in between, the weekend went off without a hitch.
I HIGHLY recommend Rancho Bernardo Inn for a small or large gathering. The dinner event we held on Saturday featured the Italian Buffet, and quite simply, it knocked every guests' socks off. It was outstanding! And the luncheon buffet on Sunday was just as good.
Our event planner, Heather Reitt, tournament coordinator, Matt Lofgren, and reservations manager, Diana Turner, were a pleasure to deal with. Each of them were personable, knoweldgeable, helpful and professional. I have nothing but good things to say about them, and the entire experience.
Additionaly, the golf course was in top shape, the guest rooms clean, nicely appointed and on the very roomy, the grounds impeccable, the food amazing, and the service outstanding We could not have asked for more.
Another item noted, there were many events being held that night besides our own group. What was most impressive is that while there were numerous private functions going on at the same time, as a guest of an event, you would never know it. There was never a problem in manuevering around the resort, bumping into other groups, or sharing space. The Inn handles simulataneous events flawlessy, and you were made to feel like you were the only event taking place.
The weekend was such a success, and each of the employees so happy, that we are bringing the group back next year for a repeat performance!
A HUGE thumbs up for Rancho Bernardo Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    220
    92
    55
    32
See reviews for
218
315
26
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went as a part of a company golf/team building weekend. The Inn is terrific for groups: great golf, food, meeting facilities, staff, and amenities. Even though there were are least 4 other rather groups/events at the Inn at the same time, the layout allowed us to do everything without feeling like we were tripping over anyone. Staff used well placed signs to keep everyone moving in the right directions. Our event coordinator reported that dealing with the Inn staff was a breeze. Prices were no bargain, but fair in this market. Rooms were well appointed, comfy, and quiet. I think the Inn is dog-friendly (as I saw a number of pooches). Overall, an excellent experience for our group. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My employer, Kaiser Permanente, provides us with top-notch venues for our educational conferences. The "Thrive" concept certainly applies to this resort, with numerous areas to relax and sit, a family and adult pool, a spa, and a very nice conference center. I would be inspired to learn golf, to be able to enjoy it here. One added benefit for me, was that the conference area was a 15 minute walk from my room, so I was able to exercise easily during the course of the day. The room was spacious and comfortable, the restaurant food was quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Rancho Bernardo Inn is in tip top shape thanks to new renovations. The rooms are lovely with private balconies or patios and each building is only two-stories high, which give an intimate feeling. The buildings are dispersed around the property and getting lost is unavoidable and half the fun! The outdoor spaces are just gorgeous with firepits, cozy sitting areas, and lovely gardens. We were at the resort with a group and all of our meals were provided by the resort. Every meal was delicious ... perfectly prepared and served. The banquet rooms were well appointed and each of the ones that we used had private gardens for cocktail hour. Our room was very clean and private. The bathrooms have everything required but aren't luxurious but we don't find this to be very important. We played the golf course which was a lot of fun! We also went to the spa for massages and really enjoyed it. The women's locker area was a little cramped but the massage area was lovely. A great all-round trip and experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came here for a weekend with my girlfriend. It was very relaxing and the restaurant was awesome. We had a king room and the bed was very comfortable. Although I did not golf, I wish I would have because the course looked epic. I guess Ill have to come back and try it again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 4/12-14 on a golf trip with a big group. Everything went smoothly, from checkin to check out. Nice rustic feel. Quiet. Played golf, hung out in the bar, ate at the restaurant. Had a nice group reception in one of the quads. Food was nice... split a rib eye and scallops with a friend. The grilled cheese was excellent in the bar, as well as the quesadilla. The golf course was really fun and challenging, and the service was top notch. Hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I were able to stay here for 2 nights as part of a business retreat she was attending (I got to tag along!). We found this to be an awesome and truly enjoyable place. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The trees, plants, flowers and fountains which decorate the courtyards, grounds and terraces were incredibly well kept and beautiful. We also enjoyed a spa day and massage which we loved. We would recommend this place to anyone and cannot wait until we can go there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.