We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SPA EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Save Saved
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #42 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING SPA EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went on a girls trip and spent the day at the spa. The grounds are tranquil and beautiful and very relaxing. The robes are possibly the softest, most comfortable single piece of clothing that I've EVER worn. No joke, amazing! The staff at the spa is incredible as well. Friendly, efficient and quite knowledgeable. The prices were very reasonable too! A definite must for anyone visiting the property!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    189
    75
    48
    26
See reviews for
177
266
25
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel. Bed was extremely clean and comfortable and amenities were great, from the 3 large pools, tennis courts, spa, and golf course. The staff were all extremely friendly and pleasant. Would come back again for another relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are local San Diego residents and we choose RB Inn for our anniversary celebration. We called to reserve a room the same day we arrived. They had champagne and strawberries waiting in our room. We love that the property has many gardens and paths where a couple can have privacy, even when the hotel is crowded. The couples spa outdoors is a relaxing experience. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen C, Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your anniversary getaway and spa experience. The staff at Rancho Bernardo Inn truly appreaciates taking great care of our locals. We hope you'll join us for our Spring & Summer specials.

Sincerely,

Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our girls weekend escape was fabulous! The comfort of the room, the peacefulness of the hotel, the wonderful food and my great friends = just what i needed! To make the weekend complete..we spent a fabulous afternoon in the spa! What an amazing place! Thank you for the fabulous weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A little difficult to find, since it's surrounded by a residential area. . .but once you arrive at the Rancho Bernardo Inn, it is beautiful. Very well maintained grounds, surrounded by a golf course.
Check in was extremely effficient. Staff helpful. . .no issues. The hotel is expansive, but
found our room with no issues. The rooms was beautifully appointed, large, with a balcony overlooking a courtyard with waterfountains and lush greenery.
Dinner through the conference was at the Veranda restaurant. Call for reservations if you want
to eat outside. Have the quesidilla, it was excellent and also, their scallops were yummy.
Beautiful sunsets. As stated by other contributors, the only downside of staying at the RBI attending a conference, is that you don't have more downtime to enjoy the facilities.

There are 2 pools that I found, with hottubs. Once is for Adults only and one for Families
There is also a full service spa on the grounds which I did not have time to enjoy.
Altogether, a wonderful stay at the RBI. . .try it some time.

About a 1/2 hour from San Diego airport. . .1 hour from Julien, and 1/2 hour about to beaches.
Enjoy it all!!

Room Tip: We were in an older building - The Fountains - and it did not have an elevator. . .Helpful staff br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The golf course is really only an expensive public course that is poorly maintained. Actually, most public courses are more interesting and maintained better than this one. The food in the only restaurant on site is like the golf course - tired and poorly maintained. No fewer than 5 people at the conference got food poisoning from a variety of foods, indicating the kitchen has a serious problem. The room is nice but the hotel sprawls all over the place so you have to build in 10 minutes to get anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen C, Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Good Afternoon michael p - I would appreciate speaking with you regarding the recent review of your February stay. Since your comments and experience are not the norm for our guests, I'd like to hear and respond to your concerns. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss.

Sincerely,
Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Rancho Bernardo Inn
858-605-2663
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I just have to say that this hotel is wonderful. The decor, grounds, restaurants, rooms, and staff were all amazing. I was there for three nights for a conference and everything was fantastic. We ate dinner on the patio at the Veranda Restaurant and the atmosphere, food, and staff were great. The only downside it is 35 minutes from downtown. Regardless, I will be back. Great place for couples or girlfriend getaways.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.