We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class Resort and Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Inn to your Saves list
Rancho Bernardo Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High class Resort and Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Rancho Bernardo Inn is located outside the high density San Diego city environment; actually located at the end of a residential street. Immediate impression driving onto the site was positive. Valet service was friendly and quite prompt when we called for our car.
The theme is that of a grand resort with subdued decor consistent with a high class resort. Reception desk was quite efficient. Room was more than adequate in size; could have used a bit more overall inside lighting. Bathroom was clean but somewhat outdated (it still worked fine, but would be better if it were modernized). This place must be built well as I never heard one sound from adjacent rooms.
The downstairs bar was old style "resort type" and generally had a friendly crowd.
Dining on the open veranda was very good. Service was consistently prompt and we never had to scan for a waiter to take care of us. Food ranged from decent burgers to good appetizers all the way up to well executed main courses. They had a reasonable selection of wines.
All the outside facilities were in top notch condition ( pools, spa, golf course) with very well manicured grounds. I walked the grounds for hours and never tired of the great views. You can enjoy this Resort whether or not you are a golfer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    220
    92
    55
    32
See reviews for
218
315
26
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently took a business trip to San Diego and logged at Rancho Bernardo Inn. I have stayed there a few times in the past. Every stay is better than the first. Guest services are very friendly, rooms are excellent, grounds are well maintained, and the food is good. I have found that it is probably the most peaceful and relaxing place to stay in the area. On my next trip to San Diego, I am most certain I will return.

Room Tip: 600 Building is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Valentine's Day! Today is a day of love and we felt the love from the RB Inn Spa for sure!! My best friend and I had a few hours this afternoon to kill. We thought a massage would be great. After calling the local "chain" massage location in Rancho Bernardo and being told "same day appointments are not possible.. Especially on Valentine’s day", we decided to stop in at the RB Inn Spa.

Walking in we both thought there is no way are we going to get a walk in appointment at a world renowned Spa but the grounds are beautiful so really no big deal.

We walked in to the reception area of the RB Spa greeted by Arlene. She asked if we were checking in and we replied "we hope to". She promptly looked at all options and before we knew it we were both scheduled for a one hour message AND CHAMPAIGN!!!

Arlene made us feel right at home from the very beginning. We went in thinking there was a very small chance of getting an appointment and left feeling relaxed and so fortunate to have the Arlene and the RB Inn Spa!!!

Thank you Arlene!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A confusing beginning... It seems there are a lot of assumptions made by the management and front desk. One, that you've stayed here before and know where everything is suppose to be done i.e. parking, check-in, special room request etc.. It is spread out over a fairly large area and your room can be assigned on the opposite end of where your scheduled activities are to take place. If you have mobility issues you may want to make a special request prior to arrival. There can be a lot of steps, stairs and the like between you and where you must go.
The grounds are beautiful. Well taken care of and maintained. It's easy to find a quiet garden nook or place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. The food was very good and plentiful.

Room Tip: The key individuals to know are the valets at the entrance! When checking-in drive up to the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for a meeting in January 2013. The grounds were beautifully kept, staff very friendly, and even offered to move my room to a more sunny location. Rooms were clean and offered nice views over the golf course. Throughout the lobby, there are gorgeous fireplaces, and the pools are lovely. I also used the gym and it had 2 treadmills, extensive weights, and ellipticals. Did not use spa during my stay. Conference rooms and outside meeting areas were well kept. Overall, amazing stay. Will return one day....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We just wrapped up our stay at the rancho bernado inn after selecting it for a management retreat and meeting venue. The sales staff was excellent in providing superior service. Conference room was good but not great. All in all I would recommend this place to those who like to golf and enjoy a private retreat. The spa was also very nice. Only downside was some construction happening on the course and some on the facilities, it could get pretty loud. The rooms were clean and well kept, had a robe laid out one night on my bed and the next a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. Nice touch!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to spend a nice and relaxing day at a spa, go to the Rancho Bernardo Inn Spa! I would have to say it's one of the best spas in the whole southern California. I highly recommend massagist, Patricia! I ordered the Swedish massage, and she was excellent! Great service! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 288 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.