We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #117 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Great Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just needed a place to stay for one night while some work was being done on our home. This hotel was close by and I have a great relationship with the entire Hilton Hotel family. The quality of our stay confirmed our satisfaction with Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of our San Diego hotel and for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    155
    91
    40
    24
See reviews for
143
102
38
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good hotel...not prime for business..would use for business meeting with entertainment...starff very good for guests with special needs...don't like outside entrance to every room for security purposes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that our F&B team were able to go above and beyone to make your stay that much more enjoyable. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel on business travel almost weekly for more than 6 years. I am very pleased with their accomodations and service. It continues to be my first choice in the area. Their wait staff at breakfast in their Terraces Cafe are incredibly friendly and service-minded. They make breakfast a pleasure, and a great place to meet up with colleagues to start the day. The same friendliness and service-mindedness holds true for their evening bar staff in their Mulligans Sports Lounge; a greaty place to wind down the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so thrilled that you had a great experience during your visit. Also, we are so happy that all of our staff were helpful during your stay. Thank you for your 5 star review.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is truely a delightful hotel, either for a night stay, round of golf, just to relax by the pool / spa or like myself, use the variety of conference rooms, . From check in to departure, all the sfaff greet you with a welcome (genuine) smile. From the breakfast restaurant guys & gals, Frank in Conference rooms, and all the reception staff are simply superb. In this review I would like to mention Matt Carse in reception.and Jesus for going for what is know as "going that extra mile" I have stayed so many times and normally call after booking to ensure I stay in my favorite room. On my last stay I did not call. Jesus, in reviewing incoming guests, read my name and selected my favorite room for me. Matt like Jesus, went above and beyond to make yet another stay exceptional. Oh yes, nearly forgot. Arriving at the parking lot , walking by, the General Manager roconized me and stopped to assist with my luggage......hows that for a welcome? In closing, once you stay once...............you will return, enjoy. From John Deed

Room Tip: Ground floor, you are able to walk out onto the grass
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that our team was able to go above and beyone to make your stay that much more enjoyable. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The course was in terrible shape due to lack of water and grounds keeping. Probably was a beautiful course in its time but horrible now. The rest of the resort was clean and the staff polite. The beds were very comfortable and the area is quiet and conveniently located to the freeway, market, gas station and fast food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel and for taking advantage of one our Golf packages. We are sorry that you weren't pleased with every aspect of the property and we will take your comments into consideration as we work to make improvements. We are pleased, however, that you enjoyed your comfortable bed, the close by convenient stores and the welcoming team members that made your stay a little more enjoyable. Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From when we first checked in until the time we left, the staff was great. The cookies were great. The room was nice and the view from the balcony overlooking the pool and golf course was very pretty. We had the pool to ourselves since we went midweek offseason. When we called customer care for more sugar packets and to ask for late checkout, they were accommodating. Whitney took care of us at Mulligans and Charity at the front desk even waved to us as we took off for dinner and again when we returned. The outside seating at Mulligans was very nice. The fresh orange juice at the morning breakfast buffet was a nice treat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We agree that the view from our hotel is quite serene and represents sunny san diego very well! It is our pleasure to provide a memorable stay to our guests and we are glad that Whitney and Charity were able to make your experience that much more enjoyable. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have traveled quite a bit and stayed in hotels in many parts of the world. The service and friendliness of the staff at the San Diego Double Tree and Golf Resort stand out! It is a real pleasure staying there. I have been twice already and I will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that a well traveled individual such as yourself appreciates our team and the quality customer care they provide. It means so much to everyone of us here, and It is our pleasure to provide guests such as yourself with a pleasant stay. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.