We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #112 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Goodyear AZ, United States
1 review
“Hotel Reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was a great experiance the Hotel was nice. The Staff was great and I will recommend that Hotel to other Friends and Relatives. It was also very easy to drive to other places we wanted to go because of the location of the Hotel. Also the Staff help us with printing out information for directions to helped us get to other places

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you were so pleased with the level of customer service our team provided during your stay! Thank you for pointing out some of the wonderful features our property has to offer such as conveniant freeway access which is perfect for a family who is vacationing in sunny San Diego! Please stay with us again if you are in the area.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    140
    82
    37
    23
See reviews for
135
90
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you use a debit card at this hotel when you check in they will take the amount of the room and $50 a day for incidentals out of your bank account. This was done with no warning. It took 8 days after I checked out to have the money released. More than an inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniance that occured with your debit card due to the automatic authorization for incidentals taken at check-in. We have taken steps to inform our guests of this policy so that it doesn't come as a surpise after their stay has concluded. Again, please know that we are greatful to have you as our guest and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the resort for a week when I was on a intense business trip. Coming back each evening to a comfy CLEAN room and relaxing in the spa meeting nice guest with only good comments about their stay there also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your clean guestroom and the relaxing atmosphere of the resort. We hope that your business meeting was a success and that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were returning to San Diego (used to live there) and for once didn't stay with friends. This showed up on TripAdvisor with a pretty good room rate for the area, and it was very conveniently located for what we wanted to do along the 15 corridor, inScripps Ranch & Carmel Mountain Ranch. Just a quick stay, but we found it well-kept, comfortable and reasonable. The pool was fine, with nice towels laid out; didn't try the hot tub. Two king beds, so we slept well. Went over to Champagne Bakery for our coffee & breakfast - which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms are laid out along these walkways, very open-feeling although secure, & a little like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed the property and the amenities we offer. The location of our hotel is, indeed, very convenient for those that wish to visit some of San Diego’s attractions. Thank you for your stay and have a great rest of your summer!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overall stay was good, but if you are traveling with family and have trouble with stairs be aware that this is a resort with distances to walk between facilities and no elevators. The service staff at the cafe was below average in speed and quality you would expect from a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is important that we hear how your stay went so that we can continue to try to fulfill our guest’s needs. We do hope you will stay with us again soon. Again, we appreciate your time and effort in letting other traveler’s know about your stay with us.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were guests for a wedding held at the Doubletree. The site selected for the wedding was very nice and the weather perfect for an outside wedding. As for the hotel, the property is spread out over a large area. There are few if any signs that would allow a guest to easily find the various facilities available on the property making navigation something of an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the scenery of our resort and we will work on the items you mentioned while we strive to improve our overall guest experience. Thank you again and have a pleasant day!

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was built while I was growing up in Penasquitos, but I never had a reason to stay until last weekend. What a great place! The unique layout gives everyone a great yet private view of the golf course and surrounding landscape. If you are going to be in North County, I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad we were able to have you stay with us! Our hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy a nice “Staycation.” Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the golf grounds and your overall glowing recommendation of the property. We hope we will have the pleasure of another visit from you soon.

Sincerely,

DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.