We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with three little grandchildren who loved your pool and Friday & Saturday evening pool parties !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #104 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with three little grandchildren who loved your pool and Friday & Saturday evening pool parties !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I picked this hotel as it is five minutes away from Son & Family. The trip involved taking three grandchildren (ages 9, 9 & 7) to San Diego as a surprise for their little cousin's 4th Birthday. Couldn't have picked a nicer, more convenient hotel. Had a Parlour Suite so that gave us a little more room to spread. Great location - quiet with patios backing onto a hill up to the golf course - very private. Nice walk along path to pool and then further on to the restaurant at the other end of the resort. Lovely grounds and so well kept. Kids love the Buffet Breakfast where they could help themselves and choose whatever they wanted.

This may be a Golf Resort but they certainly don't forget the children - kids loved the pool which catered to children with "floaties" and other items with which to play. And the Friday & Saturday evening pool parties (with game, crafts etc. and a movie afterwards) is a brilliant idea (especially inviting the locals - what great PR). The restaurant will deliver lunch to the pool from their take-out menu (phone on the side of Pappi's building for your convenience) and Pappi's itself opens mid-afternoon for snacks, small plates and beverages. So convenient when there are small children involved !!

All in all I was very impressed with this resort - the perfect place for us and so convenient to Interstate 15 for getting around to other areas - downtown San Diego, Sea World etc.

Will definitely be back !!

Room Tip: We loved the "Parlour Suite" in a fourplex building - good space if travelling with family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    135
    78
    34
    22
See reviews for
126
85
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been staying at this resort for the last 3 nights and each day I have been here, I have been wowed by someone/something. I have 2 more nights to go :) I had a garden view king room. Very spacious, lovely, lovely, lovely!!! What makes this DoubleTree extraordinary is the staff. I've only met one who unfortunately is a supervisor that I did not care for his guest handling/customer service. Other than that: Melissa, Earl, Myra, Andrew (Front Office) are bound to give you exceptional service as will Jeff (Engineering) and Margarita (Restaurant). For people like me who travel so much for work and are in a hotel literally every night, these people are a breath of fresher air. Thank you so very much for the clean, comfortable room and more importantly for your great customer service. A million thanks and keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Leila,

It is always a thrill to get fan mail, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.
We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful and a marvelous time at our Resort and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and to everyone on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We read reviews on this property, and were delighted our 3 day experience here was much better than the sum of other reviews. We stayed at another hotel, Hyatt La Jolla, and boarded our dog at a kennel. We wanted to enjoy a pet-friendly celebratory getaway, and found this fabulous place. Pet-friendly, and nice, spacious fairway room that looks like a condo, lots of room to spread out, two sinks, very comfortable bed, and high quality linens. We loved the friendly, "can-do" staff. Quiet, relaxing, and only left to cross the street to pick up essentials at a very high-end Albertsons market with flat-screen TV's in the checkout line. This resort had everything we needed. In-room coffee maker, lovely bahama blinds, pretty decor, and beautiful patio with a gorgeous view. Outdoor furniture, hurricane lamp candle, steps from the golf course, pool, and ice machine.

The grounds are enchanting! You will enjoy the old-growth, beautiful, in full bloom, extremely well maintained landscaping. You walk to the hotel lobby though a beautiful tunnel of gorgeous trees. We loved that our dog could enjoy the property as opposed to no-pet hotels, and I took him on daily long walks. Parking is great, you do not have to pay $35 a night to have your car parked underground. Parking lots with lots of huge trees, flowers, and shade for easy access, self-park, and in & out is easy, free.

Check-in was fast, friendly agent who offered us early check-in (we had to pick up our dog at the boarding kennel by 1pm, so arrived at Double Tree early, not expecting such a warm welcome at 1:30pm), and Hilton Hhonors upgrades. The hotel was busy, and was beyond impressed when the General Manager, Mr. Anthony Shaffer, walked out, introduced himself, and said the other bellmen were assisting other valued guests, and he helped us with all of our bags, and personally delivered them on valet cart, himself. Thank you Mr. Shaffer~ your attentiveness, and going out of your way to expedite our check-in by wearing the bellman hat shows that you truly are a consummate professional, and no job is beneath you. We appreciate you, and your dedicated team.

Depending on your preferences, there are many rooms, and choices. I suggest doing your research, and exploring your options when it comes to selecting a room to your liking. We were delighted with our fairway room, which really looks like a home, the privacy, views from our patio, and dog-friendly home away from home for a few days.

The in-room dining was exceptional, and visited the restaurant, Mulligan's the 2nd night, for happy hour. Outstanding, fresh food, and service. Indoor sports bar type seating, or comfortable outdoor seating overlooking the golf course. Good breakfast buffet at Terraces Cafe, daily.

The pool is popular, naturally, clean, and nice. If you want quiet, request a room away from the pool as they inherently attract people= noise.

We are definitely looking forward to returning to this property, soon. I am an animal lover and it is difficult to find a pet-friendly hotel that has clean, modern, pretty rooms that do not smell.

On a final note, we were celebrating, and were surprised by a complementary, nice bottle of wine, and treat basket. Very nice touch.

Room Tip: Fairway rooms are the best! Reminds me of WorldMart, or Trend West properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights to visit a client nearby, not to play golf. Hotel is huge, room is big, but need some renovation, carpet is old, air-conditioner is noisy. I checked in around 10:15 pm as plane is delayed. No bell boy assist at the front door. Reception staff is cold, just do a standard job. I am hungry but room service is closed already! So I walked to the nearby 7-11 and bought a sandwich and ice cream to bring back room but there is no refrigerator inside room. Breakfast is fine, restaurant overlooking the greens. I don't think I will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here one night for $99. Our room was huge and really clean. This was a big relief since we brought our dog and most hotels seem to give families with pets the grossest rooms. The staff at the front desk were really nice, giving water and cookies upon check in and check out. Beautiful grounds. We are not Hilton Honors members, so no free wi-fi for us. Parking was kind of horrific, we had to park far away from our room and cart in our bags, the dog's stuff and our infant's gear, including a travel crib. The hotel is not really near San Diego. We were on our way out of town so it didn't matter. But we did stay at a hotel in Hotel Circle another night and the place was a dump. So if a really nice room at a decent rate means driving 30 mins to reach San Diego attractions that's okay with me. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights after finding a deal for 129 a night. No surprises.

Room was clean. Ac was good. Room ambience was perfect upon arrival. Got free cookies @ check in and check out. Staff at the desks were very friendly.

The grounds are very well maintained. Tennis courts were great and have lights for night play.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. Descent hotel, staff is friendly, room spacious and clean.
Swimming pool is really good: it’s quiet and relaxing; water doesn’t smell of chlorine like in many other places, there are plenty of towels provided. We only had couple of buffet breakfasts there – standard breakfast items; on Sunday however they claimed that it should be special Sunday buffet, but there was nothing different from other days. Location isn’t ideal if you want to be close to main San Diego attractions – about half an hour from La Jolla and from the downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. On behalf of our entire family of staff, thank you for your encouraging comments and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;