We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights after finding a deal for 129 a night. No surprises.

Room was clean. Ac was good. Room ambience was perfect upon arrival. Got free cookies @ check in and check out. Staff at the desks were very friendly.

The grounds are very well maintained. Tennis courts were great and have lights for night play.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    152
    88
    39
    24
See reviews for
140
98
37
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. Descent hotel, staff is friendly, room spacious and clean.
Swimming pool is really good: it’s quiet and relaxing; water doesn’t smell of chlorine like in many other places, there are plenty of towels provided. We only had couple of buffet breakfasts there – standard breakfast items; on Sunday however they claimed that it should be special Sunday buffet, but there was nothing different from other days. Location isn’t ideal if you want to be close to main San Diego attractions – about half an hour from La Jolla and from the downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. On behalf of our entire family of staff, thank you for your encouraging comments and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I visited the DT Golf Resort San Diego with our granddaughters, ages 10 and 8, for a three day get-away for them while I did some business in Vista the first day. The first night we stayed in a 2-Queen standard room (but there was nothing just standard about the room .. first class all the way) in the villa (real resort feel) as no suites were available that night. But Melissa, who assisted us in checking in, found us a great 2 room suite, upgrading us for the following 2 nights. The girls, who love traveling with grandma and papa, were more than pleased and now know all about the benefits of being a Hilton Diamond member. They ate it all up, literally, with pool side service, room service and the breakfast buffet, all with a golf course view from our villa suite. The DT will certainly compete with our usual stay at the Hilton Harbor Island, and except for the water view the DT wins by a mile.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The service and food was great but the golf course had the look of a municipal golf course. I have to say the service is worth the stay, but if you are looking for golf, it's not the place to go right now.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate your feedback in regards to golf, as to which, we have forwarded your recommendations to the corresponding division. On behalf of our entire family of staff, thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for our Anniversary. Warmly greeted and always presented with smiles from every staff member. Wonderful time. Played golf while here and entertained friends for lunch at Mulligans. We plan on coming back with our family and booking more tee times. The course was challenging but very fun! Service at a doubletree has never let us down. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Christina,

Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. It is always a thrill to get fan mail, especially one as positive as yours. On behalf of our entire family of staff, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel and staff are great. Only one problem...the wonderful chocolate chip cookies have walnuts in them and this is not let known. My grandson who is deathly allergic to nuts took a bite of the cookie and went into anapheletic shock. Due to the quick action by Matt at the front desk, ambulance and rescue were there within minutes. Spent the rest of my first day there in the ER with my granson.
Everyone at the resort was wonderful and very concerned. We were able to enjoy the rest of our trip at the beach and Sea World. Room and staff were great. Just be careful when you eat the cookie.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to for bringing this to my attention. While I cannot change the past, please accept our apology for your unfortunate incident and be assured that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that incidence such as this do not happen again.

Our staff ta pride ourselves in the highest level of customer service in making sure that our guests are well cared for with warm and responsive service. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay and on behalf of our entire family of staff, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed in Doubletree golf resort San Diego for 20 nights as part of my business trip. Resort is very spacious and spread out. Rooms were spacious too with nice views. Staff was very courteous and service was very good. They attended to all my requests efficiently and promptly whenever I called them. Breakfast was good but food choices for dinner and lunch could have been better as I found menu very limiting. It has two swimming pool which was clean and has a gym too.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.