We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Doubletree Golf Resort. This is a nice place with a wide range of room choice and price. We chose one of the more modest rooms and were quite pleased. The grounds are lovely with an inviting pool area. We liked the restaurant for breakfast but did not try dinner. This is a good choice if your wish is to be a bit up in the hills - about a twenty five minute drive from the downtown scene. This is a great choice if you wish to play tennis or golf. We had our raquets with us and found the courts high quality. We did not bring our golf clubs but would if we stayed again. The golf course was well maintained and the holes we could see looked interesting. The staff was without exception friendly and helpful. Plan to spend $10 a day to park your car, which is not irritating if one is aware that this is the program.

I note that other reviewers are drawn to the fact that dogs are welcome. We normally see this as a negative as our dog stays home when we travel and we do not relish the opportunity to meet some stranger's pet. But this resort seems to make everyone happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind remarks about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    151
    88
    39
    24
See reviews for
140
98
37
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I usually stay at the Doubletree in Mission Valley in San Diego when down that way and just love the location but this time we stayed in Northern San Diego county and I thought I would try this hotel. It is a decent price for the room-stayed in the King Villa. The room was very large, and the bed comfy. Also had two sinks which was great! Other reviews remark about the lack of a mini refrig which I agree they should have. No complaints. Love my Hilton Honors reward points.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My daughter recommended this to family and friends attending her wedding. It was a wonderful venue. We would expect to pay twice as much for this quality in the San Diego area. The staff was very cooperative in placing our family members in the same area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The rooms are large and beds are very comfortable. Highly recommend! We are returning in October.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Social Media Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for such kind feedback from your recent stay with us. We strive to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and are glad you got such a great value from your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Spacious, nicely landscaped hotel. There are many separate buildings, each with six rooms. Rooms can connect for families who need two rooms.
Only negative, walls are a little thin....
We found this hotel because it is DOG FRIENDLY. I believe they take dogs up to 50 lbs. They will even provide a dog dish, treats etc. It is very difficult to find a hotel in San Diego that allows dogs larger than 20 lbs.
Another great tip for San Diego travel: While you attend a Padre's Baseball Game, Furry Tales Doggy Daycare will keep your dog for you. They stay open until 10 PM on game nights, and are only about 1-2 blocks from the stadium. My dog was very happy with her experience. Very nice staff. $20 for care during the game, 5:00 PM - 9:30PM. ( I called all the kennels and daycare places in San Diego before I found this gem.)

Room Tip: Ask for room near parking to avoid long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Social Media Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit with us. We love our four legged friends and are thrilled they can also enjoy their stay with you. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel property is in need of rehab -- it is definitely showing it's age. The rooms were large, and the beds were quite comfortable. The fitness center pool and tennis courts were great. Tennis is $15 unless you are a Hilton Honors premium member, in which case it is free. We did not use the golf course, but it appeared to be adequate, given the property size and location. We did not have any meals at the property, so I have no comment on the restaurants. I have a few minor complaints. #1 the parking is $9.95 a day for open air, non secure parking. #2 The TV reception in the rooms is awful. The room have an HDTV, but [poor] analog reception. #3 This is actually a BIG complaint, the hotel housekeeping crew is not paying attention to cleanliness of the Hotel areas outside of the rooms. There were used room service trays outside of our room [and others] for 3 days, before they were picked up -- This is totally unacceptable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I checked into this "nice establishment" seeking a great location and just a bit of quiet and will likely not be back.
For 6 hours or so I listened to screaming and yelling in the pool area, running/stomping and an ice fight in the hallway and adults/parents who thought it was cool to hang out in front of our patio door and party once the pool was shut down.
The hotel said patio view- it should say overlooking POOL, stay at your own risk.
Calls and request to the front desk did not seem to matter or provided poor follow up by security.
The rooms were decent but nothing special, the staff was nice, friendly and helpful but they apparently do not seem to have enough security or lack the ability to enforce their own policies regarding the pool area, noise or behavior of guest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Social Media Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your recent visit with us and I would like to extend my personal apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. Our goal is to provide every guest, every stay with an enjoyable experience. It is unfortunate that your stay with us did not meet that requirement. I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our Security staff as it is through constructive criticism such as yours that we hope to improve our operation.

Again, please expect my sincere apology and I hope the Doubletree Golf Resort will be given another opportunity to make amends. Please contact me directly if your travel plans take you back to San Diego.

Cordially,

Anthony Shaffer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed at the Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego for 10 nigths. It's a great Resort Hotel close to the Highway and local shopping.
It's a quite place. The room was big, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.
Good service. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently for an extended visit from Switzerland. We are so glad that you enjoyed our oversized guest rooms. Thanks for your compliments about our service and breakfast. I’ll be sure to pass those along to our team. We definitely hope you return to visit us again the next time you’re in the states. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.