We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Promised, We Returned for a Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #117 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“As Promised, We Returned for a Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

In April (about a year after our original visit) we once again returned to the Doubletree Golf Resort (see my previous review "Best kept secret in San Diego). We were warmly greeted at the desk by the Manager, and given a great room. The room was well furnished, new carpeting, new furniture, and all the amenities you would expect. The pool was great, and we did not realize that when staying at the resort, we also had access to the Spa facilities which includes another jacuzzi and pool.

We once again golfed their course (very nice course), and had a wonderful time. For a great getaway, you can't beat the Doubletree Golf Resort for facilities, staff, and price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks for visiting us again and for sharing another review with other travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms. You are correct that we have a 5,500 square foot Fitness Center including a new PreCor Room and a 5 lane lap pool complimentary to our guests. We also offer aerobics classes, steam room, sauna & massage facilities. We are pleased you had a chance to golf our course again. We’d like to let you know that our hotel will be undergoing major upgrades in all areas in the near future. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to many more visits from you in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    160
    94
    41
    26
See reviews for
148
103
40
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last couple of years wheh business brought me to Rancho Bernado. I am not a golfer, but the course makes for a great setting and view from the rooms. The hotel is 21 miles from the SAN airport and if there is no traffic (not always the case) it can be an easy commute to the city down i-15.

The staff here was uniformly friendly and gracious. My room (a king) was very spacious and had a small balcony. The bathroom showed a little wear, but nothing that would get an "eww." The king bed was very comfortable. The rooms are very spread out and if your room number is greater than x15, you are going to have a long trek to the restaurant/bar, which is at one end of the property in a separate building. The wired high-speed internet is more like "medium-speed" - OK for e-mail but could not stream video without stopping. At least the speed was consistent. There is wireless available but in my room the signal was very weak. In the times I've stayed here, they have swapped the tube TVs out for a nice 37" flat panel. Well, it could be nice. Unfortunately, the channel selection is limited and unlabled and none of the programming is in hi-def. What irked me the most is that the TV is set to display the standard-def picture in an unpleasant to watch stretched mode and there was no way to adjust the aspect ratio (g-r-r-r).

This Doubletree takes care of its HHonors Gold and Diamond elite guests. Parking and internet are complimentary and if you choose breakfast as your "My Way" benefit, you will get the full breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us multiple times over the last several years. We are very sorry to hear about the issues with the television. We’ll definitely have our Engineering Manager look into that. Our hotel will undergo major upgrades in all areas including high definition televisions in the near future. We greatly value your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and as a frequent guest of our resort. We hope that we’ll continue to see you in the future. Please feel free to contact our Assistant Front Office Manager at kirk.betts@hilton.com and he will be happy to assist you with your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at this Double Tree for a family get-a-way. It has easy access to the freeway and is about 20 minutes from the city and beach. We were very impressed with the staff and the service. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with warm cookies on check-in that were "the best" my wife had ever had. HINT: The front desk will give you more every day if you just ask. The rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable and spacious. Ours had 2 queen beds and it had 2 separate sinks (one outside the bathroom) that made getting ready in the morning much easier. The pool was a little too chilly, but the hot tub was great. The breakfast buffet is pretty good, but probably a little over-priced. There is no fridge or microwave in the room but they are available to rent. Parking was free for Hilton Gold members and it was always easy to find a great spot. We were very impressed with this hotel and plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your glowing review and for sharing the details of our resort with other online travelers. We are so pleased to hear the compliments about our staff, that you were impressed and plan to return. After seeing your comment regarding the temperature of the pool, we had our Engineering team check to make sure it was set at the correct temperature of 82 degrees. We do have two pools available for guest use including our Triangle pool and our 5 lane lap pool located at our Health & Fitness Center. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit in the near future. Please always let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your stays here more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed 5 days and had a great time. The facility was excellent. We were able to get and excellent rate through Priceline. The hotel is comprised of several separate buildings and the grounds are well maintained with lots of flowers and palm trees. There is also a very nice health club with swim pools for hotel guests. We golfed 3 days, the course was in excellent condition and the green fees were reasonable. The staff at the golf course and the hotel were terrific. We would have liked a refrigerator and microwave in the room, but when we requested a fridge from the front desk, they brought one right up. We are already planning to return soon. The suburban location is just off 1-15 and only 20 minutes from all of the attractions of San Diego. Or its less than 20 minutes from the beach. A large mall is only 5 minutes away and there are many restaurants and other shops nearby. We did spend a day at Sea World (not worth the money).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your excellent, detailed review of our resort. We are so pleased to hear the compliments regarding our facilities, landscaping, health club and golf course. Thank you for the great feedback about our staff, we will be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Please always let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Mr. Kruvi
The best Hilton Hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff is amazing. Actually you guys set the standard for others to follow. Every single person that I have come in contact with has been outstanding. As a matter of fact I have highly recommended your hotel to every one of my coworkers. Please express my appreciation of the fantastic service I receive from your hotel every time I stay with you. The Double tree is my hotel every time I come to San Diego because of your the people. From the front desk to the pro shop, house keeping and the restaurant.
Every single person genuinely cares about making this hotel the best. The Doubbletree is the only hotel I consider when coming to San Diego

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort. We are so pleased to hear the compliments regarding our team members. We greatly appreciate you recommending our hotel to others. We truly value your loyalty look forward to your return visits. Please always let us know if there’s anything else we can assist you with during your stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed in mid-January for three nights on the "Stay and Play" package, which included unlimited golf and breakfast buffet. Stayed in one of the Villa rooms. Had an adjoining room with the friend I was traveling with. We had both gotten similar room packages, but my room was much nicer, which didn't make her feel too to good. I had a wet bar, with fridge instead of a desk, and my room had a separate vanity with sink, that hers didn't have. I was very pleased. Bedding very comfortable, room clean, loved flat screen TV. Carpet was worn and fraying where it met the floor and could use replacement.

Biggest problme was noise from room above me. Forturnately , I only someone above me for one of the three nights. Every single footsetp could be heard in the creaking floor above me! They arrived back to their room at 1 am and stayed up till 3 am. And they didn't sit still. Before they went to sleep, I even go to hear the headboard banging and moaning. Was really a grim night. I can't believe what I heard.

I was also not a fan of the $9 self parking charge. Breakfast buffet was ok, not spectacular and it was the exact same items every morning. No change at all. Got sick of it by day 3. Staff in both the bar and restaurant were very friendly, as was the front desk staff.

Golf course package was a good value, and the course is nice, but not a gorgeous top resort course; however, I wasn't paying for gorgeous top resort course. Play on the course is VERY SLOW, which frustrates me. The first day we arrived, we had a 1:04 tee time. On Hole #2, there were four groups waiting!! That's absurd. Very rarely did we see a ranger to keep play moving alone. Day 2 and 3, we had 10 am tee times and both days, our rounds lasted just under 5 hours. That's way too long.

The course is pretty, has some challenges, but is playable. It is, however, immediately adjacent to the highway and it's very loud. Was hard to hear my golfing partner during some holes.

All in all, good trip for the money spent. A "value" vacation, with all the upsides and downsides of "value".

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and golf course. We are glad to hear that you had a good trip for the value, but your comments are taken seriously and we will make every effort to address the issues and improve the value of your experience in every way possible in the future. We have started making changes to our breakfast buffet so there is more variety for our guests who stay several days. We will address the golf course issues you mentioned with our Director of Golf. If you have a Hilton Honors profile, we will note that you would like to be located in a top floor guestroom so you will not encounter the same problem again. Please contact kirk.betts@hilton.com if you choose to stay with us in the future and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed at the Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego for 16 nigths due to a training close by. It's a great Resort Hotel close to the Highway and local shopping sources.
Very quite place, big room with a brand new HD flat screen TV. Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

Good service provided by the staff - thank you guys!

Sorry, I don't play Golf and therefore I can't rate the place. However there is a small gym, a wellness center as well as 2 swimming pools.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Thank you very much for your excellent review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you stayed with us for an extended period of time and enjoyed our refurnished guestrooms with flat screen TV’s. Thank you for the compliments about our service. We will be sure to pass those along to our staff. We definitely look forward to your return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego

Address: 14455 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA 92129-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of downtown San Diego and the International Airport, our resort sits on 130 acres lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Enjoy a day of golf on our lush green course managed by Troon Golf Management. We are within walking distance to over 100 restaurants and shops and are close to The San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park and popular North County Fair Shopping Center. Experience our welcoming staff and signature Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Golf Resort San Diego Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Golf Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.