We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE ISLAND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Save
You added Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station to your Saves list
Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom cottage with a huge living room and nice kitchen and literally you step out of the door and the beach is right there where you will also find bar-b-Q area, fire pit. It was a gorgeous day so it made it more special. It was really reasonable and perfect for a family gathering or even a romantic place for a couple.

Room Tip: even if you are in the military need an advanced reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
29
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The reviews I read before going were glowing but it still was a pleasant surprise with it's friendly, helpful staff and our comfortable room with a balcony looking out at the Del Coronado hotel. My friend said it was the most beautiful beach she had ever seen. The sand glistens gold & I found lots of sand dollars to bring home. The pool is one kids would really enjoy. There's a comfortable roof deck with great views and an exceptional continental breakfast. Would love to be able to return someday!

Room Tip: My understanding is it's 1st there, best view. If the rooms looking out at the Del Coronado are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent everything was good we arrived at 1 am and they helped us get to our rooms and were very kind. The pool was great, even though nobody was there the life guard was still ready
The room were open space and even had bunk beds for kids too the kids loved it. The room had beautiful balcony with a beautiful view of the beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed in many Navy Lodges and at this location several times before. We never would have rated any of the lodges above average. This one was definitely better managed and all employees were friendly, efficient ,and helpful. They had a small welcome party the first day with several employees there talking to guests and we met several guests and talked to the manager.
We had a comfortable clean room with a firm bed with a small refrigerator and microwave. There was a courtyard and San Diego Bay view. It was in the new tower and really an upgrade from the other rooms we stayed in. There was a breakfast included each morning with coffee, bagels,juices,fruit,cereal, and one hot item-oat meal or make your own waffles. It was often jammed with families and but you could take food and coffee outside or to your room. The breakfast was well monitored and replenished before items ran out.To us a place can only be rated as average at the highest no matter how great the facility unless the people there make it better. This Navy Lodge had the spirit and pride of Westins we have stayed at which cost many times over. Considering the price we give them an A+

Room Tip: Request what you want when you get to the check in desk. Be friendly and you will get the best they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
1,924 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was at the Navy Lodge on North Island last week as part of a business (Navy) trip to Coronada. What a wonderful place! To me, it felt like a real vacation resort, complete with all the ammenties. The rooms were nice a spacious, and the hotel itself was made for relaxing. They have a HUGE lobby which can be used as a meeting place, if necessary. The interior grounds are beautifully planted and maintained, and they have a great pool with other "plusses" for those traveling with a family (and young kids).

The hotel is located on the North Island Naval Air Base, and is in really scenic part of the island. You can stroll along the waterfront, or take a walk to the gorgeous golf course that cuts throught the area. It is all very green and lush.

Because this is a Navy Lodge, the prices are relatively low, and an exellent bargain for the accommodations. I will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just spent 5 nights here and it was awesome! We had a family suite that overlooked the ocean. Our room was spacious and included a full kitchen (no stove but a two burner cooktop), huge bathroom, separate bedroom with queen bed and bunk beds. We also had a balcony with the most gorgeous view of the ocean.
We arrived in the evening and had no wait for check in. If you want to take advantage of the free breakfast, get there early. Lines get long. We prepared breakfast in our room since we had the full kitchen and it worked out great.
The beach was incredible and was never crowded.
We were also walking distance to the Sea N Air golf course, which we played 3 times while we were there.
The pool wasn't open (not sure why) but we still had lots of fun on the beach.
Excellent facility and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Family suites are great for families. More room and full kitchen, dining area and living area. If an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We LOVED this facility! Our room overlooked the ocean on the 3rd floor and it was really beautiful. Would absolutely stay again. The negatives were check in - took an hour, there was absolutely no order/organization to the process. The pool was closed (it was March Spring Break). While I doubt I would have gone in, my daughter certainly would have (she was in the ocean the whole time we were there). We booked on the website and it would appear all the rooms had kitchenettes (full sized refrigerator, utensils, microwave). Ours had a small frig and micro but that was it so, just an FYI, clarify what type of room you are getting. We made it work but I was glad I didn't bring a lot of food! We didn't have their breakfast, however when passing through saw that the rest of the hotel did participate - quite a long line. We brought our own beach chairs etc, though it would be great if that were a service they had for those that fly in. We BBQed one night, and other than the seagull stealing 2 of our hot dogs, it was just gorgeous! A great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,283 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.