We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Save
You added Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station to your Saves list
Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Family Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay on the beach, but no restaurant. There are some limited food and drink items in the 24-hour lobby store. Golf course next to lodge. Room types very. We reserved three two-queen-bed rooms with microwave and mini-fridge $85. Some rooms have a kitchenette with full fridge, stove, microwave. Some have showers only and some with bathtubs. They also have family bungalows at $125. There is a laundry on each floor (need quarters). We invited guests, so I provided Pass/ID with guest list, but policy did not say it was required. Had to escort non-military through the gate to the Lodge and back. Upon entering the base, I told the officer at gate we were escorting the vehicle behind us and they waved them in. However, we had one evening where the gate officer asked if the vehicle being escorted had a pass. I said we were not provided with a pass and the policy letter did not mention a pass, but the officer checked the guest list and my guest was on it. So does your guest need a pass or not to drive on the base? Nobody knows. It's a typical situation where the right hand does not know what the left had is doing. So much for having a policy letter. Waiting to check-in and check-out can be slow at times. The front-desk staff answer telephones while they attempt to service you. It's very annoying after you've waited 30 minutes in line and the front-desk staff ask if they can help you and as as you approach the counter, they answer the telephone to help someone else, so you stand there again waiting to be helped. Non-military guests can purchase items in the 24-hour mini-store in the lobby, but you need a military ID to purchase alcohol and tobacco and prices are reasonable. The pool needs to be heated. The ocean was warmer. However, don't let these little annoyances bother you. This is a very nice family place to stay on the beach and at a great price. Go Navy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    26
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
27
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Location is secluded, but not boring. There is a small gift shop open 24 hrs in the lobby with nearly everything you could need. THIS IS A MILITARY HOTEL so while non-military can stay, as guests, they can't buy anything and they may have difficulty getting on and off base. The check in procedure is...poor. We stayed a week and every single day there was a (long) line of people trying to get into their rooms. I saw people sleeping in the lobby and others having picnics because it was taking so long. Still, once you get into your room, it's very nice. Of course, it's an AVIATION base, so be prepared for some noise. Our rooms were very comfortable, but any time you need anything you have to go through that same line at the front desk--that's for a towel, a broom, a map--anything. They loan out boogie boards, which is cool, but there often weren't any left--and you only found that out AFTER you'd waited in that horrible line. We just bought some. Better than waiting and waiting and waiting. The breakfast is sufficient and even includes boiled eggs, but they are serious to a fault about the start time. Though they had all j0Pthe food set out early, I saw them deny a guy an egg because it was 6:12 and they didn't open till 6:30. The guy was deploying. I thought "What difference does it make to you if someone takes something early?" But it made a difference to the staff, I guess. I guess the customer (and service-member) aren't always right here! The beach is windy most of the time, but it's very safe and wonderful for kids. The pool is NOT heated and closes at 6 pm. People should know that in case they are looking forward to the pool at the end of a long drive (as we were). Wi-fi is available and terrific. I really recommend this place--you just need to know about the quirks.

Room Tip: If you choose odd numbered rooms you get a better view. If you book a room on the 1st floor you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford,Ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Pros: Great location, good price, good breakfast. Rooms are large and very comfortable beds.
Pool is very nice and children have nice area as well.

Cons: Housekeeping is very spotty. We stayed for three weeks and had to ask every few days to have sheets changed and tub was seldom cleaned. Our balcony was never cleaned or swept. I stepped on a glass shard on the balcony within the first hour we were there and had to have it removed. Parking lot is used by non guests for beach going and there is no compliance with parking rules so guests have to park elsewhere at times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritch, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed there the end of March with my husband, 3 kiddos and my parents. Rooms were of an adequate size. Beds were comfy. We had a great view of the side parking area. :( But walk out to beach was great and front desk had beach towels, so we didn't have to dirty any of our brought beach blanket. Pool wasn't ready yet, but there was a great play area and an open field for picnics or whatnot too. Room was fairly quiet--didn't hear neighbors on the side that wasn't shared with my parents room. Hall noise was loud--there seemed to be an excessive number of young children running around without an adult and as a parent to young children, that concerned me. We had mini-fridge and microwave in our room, but we didn't use either items. Guest laundry is available on each floor and inexpensive. Front desk was hit and miss in the helpful department. Prior to check in, I called to see if we could arrange side by side rooms and was told that the computer would tell them what rooms we had at check in and they couldn't do anything about it. At check-in, they had no problem putting us in rooms next to each other. Interesting. I went to ask about quarters for laundry, made eye contact with a front desk staffer and then she walked away. When we asked for beach towels, Front Desk staff were super helpful and upon turning them in, she told me she extended our check-out by an hour so we could have extra time if we wanted it. :)

THE WORST PART: Breakfast is a freaking nightmare. The area in which they serve breakfast has 6 small tables, for a hotel with over 300 rooms that are all regularly booked. There aren't any other breakfast areas within walking distance of hotel, so EVERYONE goes to breakfast in the lobby. The line was consistently 15-20 people in length. The staff were obviously irritated with the amount of people in the small area and were consequently rude. There were again lots of children without parents. The breakfast was cold--bagels, yogurt, etc. A gentleman brought his personal coffee mug down to fill and the staff yelled at him about how he couldn't possibly fill that or everyone else would want to also and then they'd be stuck making coffee constantly.

So, it's worth the money to stay here and enjoy the beach, but go into Coronado at eat at Clayton's Coffee Shop (SOOOOO YUMMY!!!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here just after the big opening! It is big, beautiful, right on the ocean, and spacious. Even though it is a MILITARY hotel, it is very pricey. I know it is on the ocean and it is California, but it was well over $100 a night. It is right up there with some local places I checked into.
We have been in the military for over 20 years and stayed ALL over the world and this is #1 in expense. The expanded continental breakfast was nice, but it is all cold foods, nothing hot is served.
They did have a sign right next to the TV saying, "movies to borrow at the front desk", so we asked and they didn't know what we were talking about, and directed us to the Blockbuster box across base at the Exchange.
The island is quaint, quiet, and enjoyable. Nice time away with family. They also have a small gift shop in the foyer area. I recommended they have more child items, such as coloring books, small toys, etc.....that children can play with in the hotel rooms.
The kitchen is semi-stocked, but very minimally! If you have a family of 5, one person doesn't get a plate to eat on, even though the room we had slept 6! No linens were stocked for the pull out sofa, even though they knew we had a 3rd child.
Views are great and close to all attractions. Navy did a nice job with this one.........perhaps, put it in a price range that the general population of military folk can afford.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room, as some will face the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a brand new facility that just opened up. This property is for the sole use of those brave members of the military, their dependents (family), and military retirees. It is a beautiful facility located on Coronado Isalnd, and a stones throw from the Hotel "Del". The lodging is right on the beach and the views are spectacular and all rooms have a balcony. You will not find any lodging along the California Coast that even comes close to this low price. Our brave military members deserve a place like this to unwind with their family, after all the sacrafices they make.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great location, great staff, new, clean and large rooms. Only reason for not giving this hotel a 5-star rating is housekeeping -the service was always late in the day (6pm!) and the clean sheets weren't so clean. Breakfast was adequate - best to take away back to room as breakfast room was always crowded and loud. Beach access was superb! would recommend to other travelers

Room Tip: family suites are large will well equipped kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.