We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Private Coronado Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Save
You added Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station to your Saves list
Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Your Private Coronado Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The new section is now open (multi-story), and with it some new features. There is now a pool in the center of the courtyard. In addition, breakfast is more than a brown bag with a muffin and yogurt. There is actually a breakfast room, off of the grand lobby, that has toasters with bread & bagels, cereals, fruit, and hard boiled eggs. In short, you can actually cobble together a pretty decent and healthy breakfast. We were assigned to the old section (two-story) of the lodge. Unfortunately, our service was poor. Perhaps there is so much attention on the new section, that the older section gets forgotten. For instance, after being out all day, we returned to our room at 6:15 PM, to discover that room service had not been completed. Our shower had an air lock, causing a loud whining and varying water pressure in use. In the five days we were there, it never got fixed. All-in-all it's still a great place to stay, right on Coronado Beach, and that section of beach is very private and beautiful. Although not perfect, the Navy Lodge is head & shoulders above the other housing option on NASNI, Gateway Inns & Suites. The other place is to be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room in the new section, facing the Hotel Del Coronado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
26
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was previously a Navy contractor and when travelling, would book at local Marriott hotels or Doubletrees that offered the government rate. Now that I am a civilian, they make me stay on base. After hitting a number of rather unpleasant Navy Lodges around the country, imagine my surprise when I walked into this gorgeous facility, right on one of the most pristine and wide open beaches I've ever seen (I grew up in Florida, this says a lot) and with amenities to include a free breakfast and an awesome pool overlooking the beach! There is even a fitness center, which is rare on base since most of the time there is a gym on base they send you off to. Can't say enough about this great lodge, the little gift shop with beer, wine, and food and all the amenities it has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,tx
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Fantastic bargain!This is one of the best deals you can make staying at Coronado. Rooms are clean, have microwave and fridge. The new building is just opening, it looks beautiful. The place looks like a VERY expensive resort. You will need a car, however, the price of the room + car will much less than a beachside room in Coronado. Although you share the same beach with Coronado, you can not walk down the beach to town; there is a fence. As a result, you will have relatively uncrowded beach compared to the other side of the fence. Coffee maker is handy, but if you like good coffee, bring your own coffe and small Mr Coffee type basket filters. Bag breakfast is okay, but after a while you might tire of banana muffins, McDonalds on road to Lodge has the usual stuff, as an inexpensive alternative. Also, has cabanas, palapa tables and barbecue pits( bring your own charcoal) on the beach. Very cool! All in all a very great place for a very good price. Nice benefit for military and retirees.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee if you like strong coffee. BBQ on beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield hills, mi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Wow! what a jewel. The new hotel is not open yet. But it looks very nice. There will be a pool and a kids play area. We stayed in the older part (2 story) over Thanksgiving and it was perfect. Check-in was a breeze. Little bag breakfasts were a treat. This lodge is simply right on the beach. Location close to everything in San Diego and Coronado. The rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.