We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 21

Cafe 21
2736 Adams Ave, San Diego, CA 92116
(619) 640-2121 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 21 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Idaho
Description: Cafe21 is a full service eatery - try our always savory, homemade dishes created with fresh, organic produce from local farms. Or cool down after a long day with our farm-to-bar, refreshing infused drinks made with organic vodka. We provide our home made bread sandwiches, fresh organic salads, hearty breakfasts, and wide selection of organic coffees, teas, and much more. Our heart and soul is invested into creating the most satisfying dishes from the finest ingredients straight from the earth. Stop by and taste what Mother Nature is stirring in our kitchen.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went for brunch. Lucky we got there early as not long after there was a very long waiting line after us.

Our food took a very long time to come out, they apologised to us and rectify it by giving us our drinks for free. We appreciated the service as they acknowledged what went wrong and made sure their customers were kept happy.
We ordered the salmon diamond and the filet mignon. The Salmon diamond was delicious which made the 40min wait absolutely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    100
    41
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast with superb service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stopped by for breakfast as we drove through San Diego on a recommendation. Located in the fab Gas Lamp district, this place was awesome. They got us seated our group very fast.

The fresh juices were amazing. The strawberry salad , the Tiramisu pancakes , the. Lamb sausage omelette, Shrimp omelette were excellent.

Probably among the best breakfast I have ever had. We were so stuffed and couldn't taste the cakes. Will have to come to SD if only to have brunch here !

The service was excellent and the ambience perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“breakfast was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cafe 21 was recommended by the hotel staff @ Hotel Solamar and was a easy walk over to Fifth Avenue. Some things we enjoyed at breakfast: banana pancakes, turkey sausage omelette, prosciutto omelette, & filet mignon omelette, all cooked & served in a cast iron pan which kept the food hot. The restaurant is popular, so make a reservation so you're not disappointed. Outdoor seating is available and with warm weather in December in San Diego, it is perfect for enjoying brunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Tasting and Healthy Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had the best brunch of our trip. On New Year's Day we stopped in mid-morning and had no wait. I had the banana/strawberry stuffed french toast. It was really excellent in flavor and display. I wish that I had ordered the rhubarb stuffed version to balance out the really rich mascarpone cream but those who love rich food would have been in heaven. I loved the big portions of fresh, high quality fruit. The staff was pleasant and helpful, even replacing the cardamom espresso which I didn't find to be for my taste for another regular espresso willingly. The atmosphere is relaxed as is the neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best meal on our trip..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a meal at Cafe 21... I expected it to be healthy and boring but I was very pleasantly surprised... The food was absolutely DEVINE! Try the mixed chips to start and the scallops or steak for main.. Service was fab too! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 21 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.